We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“In the heart of Hopkins culture”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hopkins, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LoveNewPl...
Boise
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In the heart of Hopkins culture”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Hopkins is a small village that does its best to maintain its Garifuna culture and way of life. If you want to be 'away from it all', this may not be the best option. As pointed out by previous reviews, it is located close to the center of the community where you can watch the life walk, ride, and drive by while you are relaxed in a hammock perched overhead on the balcony. We enjoyed the short walk to the grocery store and restaurants, and feeling a part of the activity, but very much safe and comfortable in our cottage. The owner lives right behind this property and was super friendly as is the manager. The beaches in Hopkins vary in quality. Plastics, and their buildup along the shoreline, are an unfortunate eyesore and consequence of lack of sanitation and recycling. That being said, we enjoyed the small walk to the beach and swimming just off the shoreline. We found the cottage to be quite comfortable, with a nice little kitchen, comfortable beds, and a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
"Thank you for your extensive and exciting review about Latitude 17 Cabana and the Village of Hopkins. Hopefully you found time to enjoy the hammocks. Should your travel plans bring you back to Belize we would love to have you as a returning guest. Thanks, your Latitude 17 Team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene W
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a full week and it is now a fond memory... but a place we hope to return to! We are budget conscious, but like our comfort and independence, and this was perfect. A great central location to watch the sights and sounds from our deck, or relax in air conditioned comfort inside if we chose. Very well kept, clean and spacious. My only tip is don't plan to eat too much at "home" as the food is not expensive ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious clean hardwood rooms
Liked least: No complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cammiedog
Cleves, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice home base for activities!”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Latitude 17 and the unit was as expected. It is centrally located in Hopkins Village and convenient as a base for activities around the area. The unit was furnished with anything you might need. Fully stocked kitchen even though we didn't cook, we used the toaster, microwave and coffee maker. Also has a full size fridge which is nice.
It is located one block back from the beach and within walking distance of the grocery and some of the restaurants. There are bikes available for each unit.
Emma, who oversees the day to day operation is a wealth of information about anything in the are that you would like to know. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the cabana
Liked least: construction issue.... shower is very small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice apartment; Noisy street”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is very nice and clean inside and the on-site manager is great. My husband and I's intention was a weekend getaway to just unplug from life and reconnect with one another. We were able to do this somewhat, but the noisy location left us desiring much. Whether it was the young people on the street all day, the extremely loud music at night or the numerous birds prior to 5am, it was never quiet and very difficult to get a good night's rest. If you're out of the place during the day and are up late at night and can sleep through all kinds of racket, then it might not be an issue for you. For us, it was an issue. There also wasn't really a good beach spot close by, so that was kind of a bummer too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and nice to hear that you liked the unit, its cleanliness and the onsite manager. It is true that anywhere in the village of Hopkins it is likely to expect to hear the sounds of the village and of the wild-life around. This is NOT a location to get away from it all, but rather a location to indulge in it all. Also, the weekend you were in Hopkins was the Hopkins "Tripplefest" and when there is a party, it is true that Belizeans do enjoy it all the way and sometimes all night long! In our description of our unit here on Flipkey we do profile ourselves like a place to actually experience the village and to one of the things that our guest usually think are the highlights of our location is to sit on the front porch and watch the village life go by. This was clearly not what you where looking for.

I am however very sorry that we couldn't fulfill your expectations. I think you would have been better off at one of the locations outside the village in Sittee Point, maybe with a private beach with an onsite gardener that would on daily basis rake the beach from the seaweed we are currently experiencing. Therefore (since we on other booking sites are used to 5 star reviews only) I do indeed feel that the review has more to do with your expectations of your weekend versus what we actually in fact do provide.

Hopkins is a friendly and lovely place for anybody who would like to understand and take part of Belizean life style and if you ever find yourself in this mood, then I do hope you find yourself welcome to give Hopkins a chance again.

All the best
Latitude 17
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M
Ophoven, Limburg, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thanks Patrick and Hugo, see you guys soon back in Hopkins and at Latitude 17!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing