We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in the right area”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Lone pine hotel is next to the Golden Sand Resort Hotel by the beach , its nice and the pool is very nice also by the beach . I have seen many wedding parties being held there . I have been to Penang several times and I always go to Lone Pine . The restaurant is very good and the buffet is very reasonable .. For less than $20 you you try the dinner seafood buffet , and for a few dollars extra then all the wine you can drink . You cant find this in other areas with such beautiful settings.

Room Tip: Must go id f you like to swim and have good food at budget price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sub C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight family visit. The rooms were huge, with balconies that had a bathtub on each of them. Very nice pool, poolside and with grounds surrounded by pine trees. It has rustic feeling. Bed was very comfortable. Access to beach is easy and very close by. Plenty of water sports activities for those who enjoy that kind of thing. Being on the Ferringhi Beach area, there are lots of tourist stalls just outside the hotel. The hotel has a bar, a Japanese restaurant and a main restaurant called The Bungalow. We had dinner at the Bungalow and we were rather disappointed with the service and food. Perhaps it doesn't get many customers that the service is slow and food was at best mediocre. I would suggest eating elsewhere. The breakfast spread was decent with many options, but service was mediocre. Nevertheless, we had a good stay and lobby staff were very attentive and friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Alvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Loved this place.

Very few kids.

Close to night markets and great night street food markets.

Lovely quiet nights with the sound of breaking waves.

Comfortable air conditioned rooms. Clean, great service and relaxed.

Lovely breakfast location. Friendly staff.

Will be back for sure.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MelbLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I took a short vacation with my wife from 28-30 Apr 2017. We had seen this hotel before in our previous trip to Penang and decided that we will try it out for our next visit.

Room: The room was really huge and spacious. As the hotel was built on old colonial buildings, the floor was parquet instead of carpeted, probably to match this vibe. They also have a balcony with a hot tub inside. We didn't get around using it but I suppose it could make for some romantic or well, naughty fun...

I had only one issue though. Somehow, it seems that throughout the room, it seems quite dusty. I'm not too sure if this was due to the dim lighting, dark coloured furniture, typical of old buildings or a mixture of all three.

Room Facilities: Basically all the amenities you would expect from any renowned hotel chain can be found here. But, there is one thing they provide that stands out among their contemporaries. They actually provide Havaianas type flip flops! And they are yours to keep!

They still provide soap and shampoo in plastic bottles rather than in a dispenser, which many hotels are adopting these days. Another thing to add was that they provide ample amounts of tea and coffee, and the tea were fairly high end stuff as well for something complimentary. Absolute win in this area. Wifi strength wasn't too shabby too.

Facilities: The buffet breakfast spread at the level 1 restaurant was huge. Great spread of malaysian street food from Nasi Lemak, Roti Canai to Western sausages, eggs and waffles, I wish I had 3 days there to savour all the various cuisines. The pool was decent as well and the beach is just behind the hotel.

I would like to also highlight that the hotel provides a free shuttle service to and from Eastern and Oriental hotel in Georgetown as well. Do take advantage of this if possible. We did. Also, their massage is really good as well. A tad more expensive than the ones across the road but their therapists really can give a good, strong back massage that made me feel lighter throughout the day.

Service: Really professional hospitality not less than big hotel chains. They even offered a welcome drink to help us combat the hot weather. Penang citizens who work in the hospitality industry generally speak good english and Lone Pine was no exception.

Transportation: Well there are bus services to town, and the buses are quite ok, with air-conditioning. Just be prepared to pay the exact amount in cash as no change will be dispensed. Alternatively, you could also take uber or grab.

Must do Items: Well the idea of staying at Batu Ferringhi is to relax and rest at the beach area. But of course, Penang has a deep culinary heritage and I recommend to enjoy your meals at the Long Beach eating place located just a stones throw away. You could find many varieties of local food there.

But Long Beach is only open for dinner. For lunch, I'd suggest you could try out the zi char, or stir fried dishes eatery, located just across the street. Its located next to a taxi office or something, and there aren't any big signboards, fancy tables or even sufficient lighting. Nonetheless, the food served there is piping hot and their black sauce stir fried maggi mee was really satisfying. Malaysians seem to have the best dark soy sauce ever. The ones in Singapore are just not up to the mark. The rest of the dishes were really comforting to consume as well.

Penang is a great place to relax over a long weekend, especially for Singaporean folk like me. The people there seem to be less mercenary than in Singapore. Case in point, when I went to order a dish at Long Beach from a stall and the stallholder was not around, the neighbouring stall helped to take my order. You would never see that happening today in Singapore. Even the zi char place recommended us to go to Long Beach for dinner, even though they are open at that time as well and us going there, means we will not be giving them business.

Great place to experience what Singaporeans were like decades ago, before we became the immoral monsters we are today.

Anyway, while Lone Pine is significantly more expensive than most Penang Hotels, it was money well spent. Considering the buffet breakfast and fantastic room facilities, I would seriously consider staying there again the next time I'm back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bizzkit0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We enjoyed the hospitality the friendly staffs provided throughout our stay. The front desk is friendly and helpful. The housekeeping are great too! A middle-aged Indian man who may be the concierge (or housekeeping?) in dark coloured uniform actually pointed out that we put up a DND sign when we reminded the front desk to deliver the complimentary drinks to our room. It amazes us how detailed and sharp the staffs are. We had an enjoyable breakfast at the cafe as well, the staffs are extremely attentive! (:

Apart from that, we enjoyed our room very much. We love that almost everything is well-planned and well-thought of. The room is airy and cooling despite Malaysia's humid weather. Not to forget the building's open-air design! It doesn't compromise on soundproofing yet give an excellent airflow to the room. Unlike many other hotels, guests get the best of Penang without compromising on its comfort. We love the bathtub and all other facilities in the room. A small letdown would be the ants we found at the wardrobe, TV cabinet and dressing table - but it's really trivial compared to all the other good features! (:

We also love the hammock and huge grass field area. It is shaded and perfect for a good relaxing day. All in all we truly enjoyed our stay at Lone Pine and we have the amazing staff team to thank. (:

We certainly hope that Lone Pine will keeps its standard and maintain its operation with its new management as we would love to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SiewMin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.2 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,907 reviews
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,300 reviews
1.5 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,772 reviews
11.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Address: 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $117 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing