We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big expectations”
Review of Andrew's Kampung

Andrew's Kampung
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Andrew's Kampung close on every Tuesday. Many thanks.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

After reading all the rave reviews about Andrews, we tried it out on our recent trip to Penang. Overall the experience and food was average. They brought the wrong dish to us and I didn't see or we were not offered an all you can eat menu. Would I return, no, we had better meals at other restaurants.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wooharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 966 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Don't be put off by the plastic chairs and basic decor, the staff are friendly and the food is amazing. Highlights were the lemon chicken and sizzling beef. Best fried ice cream I've had!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Andrew and the team are fantastic. Fast, quick service, and icy cold beer on a hot day. We went once to try it out and have returned each day to work through the menu. We haven't been disappointed at all. Good for the whole family (we have two boys aged 8 and 10) who have loved the honey plum chicken, prawns, and duck pancakes. The curries are tasty and not overly hot, unless you want it fired up more.

Cannot recommend it more highly. Great food, good service, fantastic host in Andrew. Have recommended the restaurant already to many people we have met at the hotel.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank stevecA8481TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Visited 3 times in a week. Atmosphere is fantastic. Andrew is a lovely character who can't do enough for you. Food is lovely and a decent price. If it wasn't for the fact there are other places to visit I would quite happily eat there all the time.
Don't expect high class decor, but if you like good food, good atmosphere and good value then it's a must visit!

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank simongJ4800AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Enjoyed the crispy lemon chicken and it is great you can get half serves. Spring rolls were so so, wouldn't order them again. Deep fried ice cream was very tasty.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Panheady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Andrew's Kampung also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Andrew's Kampung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.