We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening hotel but some services could be more efficient!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 3 nights in Hard Rock Penang. Overall, is a hip and happening hotel with good facilities for families and young people especially. As it was my first Hard Rock hotel stay, can't really compared. The rooms are very spacious and still roomy after a extra bed which is unfortunately not of good quality. Interesting design and touches of Hard Rock every where. The highlight is in the multi-part pool that caters esp to children. Quite a bit of activities going on. However, food is mediocre and bordering poor in a place like Penang! Service is friendly but had a bad experience of a long-delayed towel delivery.. Recommend it for young people and young family but not those who want a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: The first (ground) floor room has balconies that extend directly into the pool! But those with young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jesscet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,986 - 3,990 of 4,614 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

I've been to HRH twice...1st time there I stayed in a sea view room and the second time in a studio suite(if I'm not mistaken) . Because stayed at suite room so me n hubby can enjoy the club privileges...I love evening cocktail (dim sum)..
Will definitely come back because I'm collecting the anniversary record.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizIrwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Far from airport... luckily i had rm100 in my purse coz the journey robbed me rm69!! i arrived hr hotel after 45 mins with friendly cab driver and it was worth it!!!!! Once i step into hotel i felt very relaxing cos the environment is cool and relax and make me feel kinda excited.. the check in counter and the bar... the 3piece band that played great music are welcome to my ears. Service is tiptop... the room was cozy enough and i just felt in love with the bed!!! Pool was big and there is water aerobic activity that you can join and enjoy (you will get cert from hotel for it).. don't eat at hotel except for breakfast (breakfast was awesome!!! love it), do go to Gurney Drive for heaven food on earth... variety of choice and super duper delicious... don't forget to bring your sport shoes, gym was excellent! definitely will come back for more.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeliKoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We've stayed here twice over the last 2 years & both times have had a great time. First time in a standard room overlooking the pool & second time in a Kings Club Room pool view also so we could take advantage of the extra's that booking this room type included. The food was really good and in particular the pizza and buffet breakfasts. During the day we'd hang out by the pool and have fun on the slides or go to the beach. There is also a good kids club on site and at night there was a movie on in the pool so we could sit and enjoy drinks while kids watch the movie and swim. Rooms are a really good size and food was delicious. We hope to return again for a 3rd time!

Room Tip: Kings Club if you want to have all the extra's otherwise definitely a sea view/pool view room of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Location: Pretty far from town centre. Will take about 20-30 mins to town centre.

Check in : Efficient. Cold juice on arrival appreciated.

Bell boy: Did not require services

Room Service: It's Penang! Malaysia's Food Haven! Why would you need room service? =)

Room: We had the Hill View room with King Bed. Room was clean and tastefully designed. Besides the view, all rooms are the same except the suites. The ability to jump directly into the pool from the Lagoon View rooms were enticing however my partner talked me out of it due to the extra price as well as the noise factor.

Facilities: Didn't use much of the facilities except the pool. The pool is great for family with young kids. There are a few slides and other water playground attractions. It is also a well sized pool for adults.

Security: It was good except we encountered a plain clothe security officer during our last night of stay that assumed we weren't paying guest of the hotel and rudely told us that visiting hours are over. Just because I am an asian and have a camera around my neck doesn't mean I am not a guest of the hotel.

Overall: I would not hesitate to recommend the Hard Rock Hotel, Penang to my friends and family who have little kids. For couples looking for a romantic getaway, this might not be the best place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tek_m_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
0.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
1.3 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,478 reviews
11.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $126 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 50-inch LCD TVs, BOSE Sound Systems, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system with free HD Blockbuster movies on demand. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing