We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
131
60
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
60
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located chinese food tucked away shower room hidden gem rooms are spacious kids club free upgrade front desk manager summer lobby pools interior china lake support taste
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2015

We were staying in another hotel and heard about the InterContinental.

Looking for a different dining option than where we were staying, we ended up here at the bar over looking the pool for a drink and The Lake restaurant for dinner. The whole experience was excellent, good service (albeit a little slow), friendly staff and such a beautiful location.

Given the choice to visit this area again we would choose the InterContinental because of the stunning secluded location and service as you would expect from this brand.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We drove four hours from Ningbo to reach the hotel.
It s a great hotel with great views and very nice rooms. This is to be expected of a five star hotel so I am just gonna mention the things that I was NOT so happy about.
1)After checking in we wanted to hit the pool outdoors as it was a lovely day.
I changed into swimming gear and my kids after we reached the pool we were disappointed that the pool was very dirty. After checking the management informed us we could use the indoor pool. But my friend especially made a call a week ahead to check if the outdoor pool was open that they and they confirmed it was, but it was not.......
After complaining they arranged that the pool would be cleaned and ready for use the next day. This was indeed done.
2) Carpet breakfast area was pretty dirty and full of stains of food that was dropped on the floor. Maybe time for a new carpet ? Or even better a tile floor or wooden floor that is easy to clean??
3) No orange juice at the breakfast buffet? Come on ! There were other juices but I expect orange juice to be one of the basics.
4) Couches in rattan on the outside deck of breakfast area had no cushions inside of them.
5) Fridge in room was not switched on.
6) A detail: My wife mentioned that her salad was "too wet", in most places we go they shake all excess water off the salad after they washed it. I do not think they wash with mineral water and a wet plate is not that great.

For the rest we had a great stay at this beautiful hotel.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your reviews with us and your advise improve us better. All the details you found we have taken to our management and they pay more attention to it. More details from you will help us improvement and we want to communicate with you to get more advise. Sincere thank you for your advise and we will continuous to improve and give you a perfect holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

The long drive to the hotel (& lake location) was well worth the effort. Stayed there for 3 nights during winter time. We had the Special View Room on the sixth floor and it was absolutely comfortable, spacious, (fitted our expectations of InterCon) and most importantly had a great view / balcony overlooking the beautiful lake. Plenty of activities to keep the children occupied, and quiet spaces for adults to chill out. Highly recommended esp if you are traveling with family/kids.

Room tip: Some of the best rooms are on the opposite ends furthest away from the lift. We had a great stay on the sixth floor. Request for Special View Room overlooking the lake if you can.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chandlerlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Thank you for choosing InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort. Looking forward to you and your family to stay with us again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Thousand island itself is a beautiful place but the intercontinental just enhanced it even more. It's an ecological resort with its own orchard, farms, and vegetables plantation. It's perched on a breathtaking peninsula with hills and waters surrounding it - the hotel provides complimentary walking tours so be sure to take advantage. Rooms are very sizeable and cozy with a balcony - facing either the lake or garden, or you can try the only 4 family rooms with 2 king beds which offers great value for families with kids. The garden is extremely carefully designed and is a joy to take a stroll in.
Breakfast was plentiful - don't miss the homemade yoghurt. Otherwise the Chinese restaurant was ok but not as good as the Sheraton - service was slow there.

Room tip: If you are travelling with kids, try the family room which has no balcony but has 2 king beds in a large room separated by screen doors.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to sharing your experience with us. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

A beautiful gem that is definitely worth a visit. Tucked away in its own private section of the island, this resort provides the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. From the minute i arrived, the spectacular view just took my breath away! The rooms are huge and my lake view room was amazing!!. Extremely peaceful resort with happy, chirpy, helpful staff, lots of places to explore, and a huge orange orchard to pick and enjoy free vitamin C all day, everyday. A very memorable experience and definitely worth another visit.

Date of stay: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicoleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to sharing the experience with us. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews