We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very exclusive and great ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Chun'an County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Stayed 3 nights at the Executive Suite in May 2015 during a business trip. The hotel is located at the end of the peninsula, so, very exclusive.
The hotel ground is sprawling and our room is huge, facing the lake - wonderful view! Great experience walking around the hotel, with wonderful view of the lake and landscaping.
The buffet breakfast at the restaurant has great spread. Pleasantly surprised that the pastry is of very good European standard, unlike most other hotels in China. As this hotel caters to mainly families from nearby cities like Hangzhou and Shanghai, breakfast crowd can be rowdy and packed. Effectively, the service level can be affected due to the crowd.
The service level at the club floor is more pleasant, though the breakfast spread is less and its open during weekends only. Our waitress Ms Even was very helpful and forthcoming with our requests.
We had a wonderful dinner at the Chinese restaurant too. The famous fish-head dish and the free ranging chicken soup were fantastic. The restaurant manager Jim was really helpful and knowledgeable of the cuisine in the restaurant.
To be picky, the room cleanliness is not up to par with other IC hotels I stayed. Also, there's room for improvement for the service staff to bring the hotel to international standard, not just catering to the local communities.
Overall, its a great stay, worth the 5 hours travel from Shanghai Pudong airport.

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boon8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015

We were staying in another hotel and heard about the InterContinental.

Looking for a different dining option than where we were staying, we ended up here at the bar over looking the pool for a drink and The Lake restaurant for dinner. The whole experience was excellent, good service (albeit a little slow), friendly staff and such a beautiful location.

Given the choice to visit this area again we would choose the InterContinental because of the stunning secluded location and service as you would expect from this brand.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We drove four hours from Ningbo to reach the hotel.
It s a great hotel with great views and very nice rooms. This is to be expected of a five star hotel so I am just gonna mention the things that I was NOT so happy about.
1)After checking in we wanted to hit the pool outdoors as it was a lovely day.
I changed into swimming gear and my kids after we reached the pool we were disappointed that the pool was very dirty. After checking the management informed us we could use the indoor pool. But my friend especially made a call a week ahead to check if the outdoor pool was open that they and they confirmed it was, but it was not.......
After complaining they arranged that the pool would be cleaned and ready for use the next day. This was indeed done.
2) Carpet breakfast area was pretty dirty and full of stains of food that was dropped on the floor. Maybe time for a new carpet ? Or even better a tile floor or wooden floor that is easy to clean??
3) No orange juice at the breakfast buffet? Come on ! There were other juices but I expect orange juice to be one of the basics.
4) Couches in rattan on the outside deck of breakfast area had no cushions inside of them.
5) Fridge in room was not switched on.
6) A detail: My wife mentioned that her salad was "too wet", in most places we go they shake all excess water off the salad after they washed it. I do not think they wash with mineral water and a wet plate is not that great.

For the rest we had a great stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your reviews with us and your advise improve us better. All the details you found we have taken to our management and they pay more attention to it. More details from you will help us improvement and we want to communicate with you to get more advise. Sincere thank you for your advise and we will continuous to improve and give you a perfect holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

The long drive to the hotel (& lake location) was well worth the effort. Stayed there for 3 nights during winter time. We had the Special View Room on the sixth floor and it was absolutely comfortable, spacious, (fitted our expectations of InterCon) and most importantly had a great view / balcony overlooking the beautiful lake. Plenty of activities to keep the children occupied, and quiet spaces for adults to chill out. Highly recommended esp if you are traveling with family/kids.

Room Tip: Some of the best rooms are on the opposite ends furthest away from the lift. We had a great stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chandlerlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Thank you for choosing InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort. Looking forward to you and your family to stay with us again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Thousand island itself is a beautiful place but the intercontinental just enhanced it even more. It's an ecological resort with its own orchard, farms, and vegetables plantation. It's perched on a breathtaking peninsula with hills and waters surrounding it - the hotel provides complimentary walking tours so be sure to take advantage. Rooms are very sizeable and cozy with a balcony - facing either the lake or garden, or you can try the only 4 family rooms with 2 king beds which offers great value for families with kids. The garden is extremely carefully designed and is a joy to take a stroll in.
Breakfast was plentiful - don't miss the homemade yoghurt. Otherwise the Chinese restaurant was ok but not as good as the Sheraton - service was slow there.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, try the family room which has no balcony but has 2 king beds in a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to sharing your experience with us. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chun'an County hotels
7.5 km away
Hilton Hangzhou Qiandao Lake China
Hilton Hangzhou Qiandao Lake Chi...
#3 of 165 in Chun'an County
181 reviews
10.5 km away
Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort
Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort
#1 of 165 in Chun'an County
218 reviews
11.6 km away
Qiandaohu Runhe Jianguo Hotel
Qiandaohu Runhe Jianguo Hotel
#12 of 165 in Chun'an County
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Qiandao Lake Greentown Resort Hotel
Qiandao Lake Greentown Resort Ho...
#10 of 165 in Chun'an County
75 reviews
12.6 km away
Qiandao Lake Wenxindao Dielai Resort
Qiandao Lake Wenxindao Dielai Re...
#23 of 165 in Chun'an County
50 reviews
8.4 km away
Longting New Century Hotel Qiandao Lake Hangzhou
Longting New Century Hotel Qiand...
#19 of 165 in Chun'an County
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort

Address: Qiandaohu Country Club Pingsha, Chun'an County 311700, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Chun'an County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chun'an County
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chun'an County
Price Range: AU$151 - AU$438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental 1000 Island Lake Resort
Intercontinental One Thousand Island Lake Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing