We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort
Nearby Hotels
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 205
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 166
USD 77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
126
60
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
60
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese foodweekend escapelobbypoolshangzhouchinalakecrowd
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Thousand island itself is a beautiful place but the intercontinental just enhanced it even more. It's an ecological resort with its own orchard, farms, and vegetables plantation. It's perched on a breathtaking peninsula with hills and waters surrounding it - the hotel provides complimentary walking tours so be sure to take advantage. Rooms are very sizeable and cozy with a balcony - facing either the lake or garden, or you can try the only 4 family rooms with 2 king beds which offers great value for families with kids. The garden is extremely carefully designed and is a joy to take a stroll in.
Breakfast was plentiful - don't miss the homemade yoghurt. Otherwise the Chinese restaurant was ok but not as good as the Sheraton - service was slow there.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, try the family room which has no balcony but has 2 king beds in a large room separated by screen doors.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CCR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to sharing your experience with us. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

A beautiful gem that is definitely worth a visit. Tucked away in its own private section of the island, this resort provides the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. From the minute i arrived, the spectacular view just took my breath away! The rooms are huge and my lake view room was amazing!!. Extremely peaceful resort with happy, chirpy, helpful staff, lots of places to explore, and a huge orange orchard to pick and enjoy free vitamin C all day, everyday. A very memorable experience and definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicoleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to sharing the experience with us. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We stayed four days in this hotel. The purpose of our stay was to escape the hustle and bustle of the ShangHai city life. Our expectations were largely fulfilled. We had a very pleasant stay! Here some of our observations and remarks:

+ Very friendly and well trained staff.
+ Beautiful hotel, perfect facilities and clean environment.
- As the hotel is very remote from the city center, you are fully dependent on the hotel restaurant. You have the choice between a Chinese and Western restaurant. We tried both. The food quality and quantity are good, but the menu card is rather limited and prices are (for chinese norms) relatively high.
+ rooms are spacious, well equiped and the interior is very nice. Bathing facilities are splendid!

TIP: A "lake view room" is an absolute must when you go to this type of hotels.
TIP: If the purpose of your stay is a calm and peaceful retreat, book in the weekdays. In the weekends the hotel is fully booked with families with children.

If we have the chance, we would certainly return!

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wolf3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time sharing with us. Provide the perfect vacation experience is our pleasure and the goal. Looking forward to welcome you next stay with us! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Photos speak for themselves. This place is so totally worth it. Great for a weekend getaway. So relaxing. So refreshing. The estate also has lots to do. Many things to explore. The room is spectacular. The views are gorgeous. Loved the cruise too. Perfect trip for relaxation. Will be back!! Loved it!! Best resort I stayed in on QIANDAOHU!

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

its one of the type that you are not often see in China - very relaxing, not lot of people around. very nice hotel with great services. also the price at off-peak season is much better. suggest to go at full-season as the leafs are very nice

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CGU916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther M, Manager at InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next stay with us! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews