We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 164 Hotels in Chun'an County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had a blast in our stay at this hotel. Because of my Ambassador status we were entitled for a free upgrade, where they gave us probably one of the best suites I've ever stayed in.

Room is humongous, you wouldn't wanna leave the room. It had a circle bathtub, tea corner, living room, dining room and all. Amazing Scandinavian decor... Even tho it was raining the whole weekend, it didn't bothered us at all. The daybeds in the balconies are awesome.

Check-in was flawless at the club desk, breakfast was great at the club lounge. They bring things in small portions, so you can be sure that it's fresh.

Service was good, and everyone is very helpful. Great views from the rooms. Especially waking up and opening the curtains from your bed is just magical. Intercontinental signature bed is as amazing as usual.

Both indoor and outdoor pools are great, gym is adequate.
All in all we had a great experience in this property, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Located in a secluded bay right by the famed Thousand Island Lake, the scenary was unbeatable. With full length glass windows and balcony, it was a dream to wake every morning to this beautiful scenary. Room was spacious (all come with private balcony, small living room), bed was comfy. My toddler loved the egg shaped tub. The rain forest shower was nice too. The lobby and lounge were beautifully designed with wood and stone finish. Airy with frontal lake view. Landscaping was perfect too.

What set back the experience was the poor management. We booked non-smoking rooms.At check in, my husband reminded the receptionist and she confidently assured him the rooms ae non smoking. When we got to the rooms, they smelled of cigarettes and there were ashtrays on the coffee table!Housekeeping could also do better. We came back on second night to find our toilet half cleaned. Rug was piled on the side. Used toiletries were not replaced.

There were only 2 restaurants on site, one Chinese and one Western. Service at the Western cafe was good but the food was a disappointment. Pizza crust tasted like toilet rolls. The food was slightly better at the Chinese restaurant. Service, however, was atrocious. We started dinner at 640pm. The drinks w ordered came at 8pm, right before we asked for the bill! This was very disappointing for an Intercon. It's high time IHG considers changing its management at this facility.

With the beautiful mountains and lake right at the doorsteps, the hotel could also think about organizing more activities and events for its guests. E.g. BBQ dinner at pier.

Overall, location 5 stars, hardware 5 stars, service 2 stars.

Room Tip: Don't need pay a few hundred kuais extra for lake facing room. Montain facing room has stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevenheaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were there for 2-day business meeting. Great lack view. Good decoration. Even provided tooth string, which is quite considerate.
Service is OK.
Thai restaurant inside the hotel was also good if you want some variety.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Location is fantastic, architecture good (but why did they build the concrete shed on the end), checkin completely incompetent. Rooms very nice. essentially no service in the restaurant worth speaking of, food overpriced and average quality. When will Intercontinental wake up, bring in professional management and training?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This resort/hotel is in a spectacular location and the architects have made the most of it. Rooms look out onto the lake across several swimming pools and the interior spaces are full of light and views. The furnishings in the lobby are normal leather seats and sofas or quirkish shapes made from metal straps that are actually comfortable, all set in an environment made from natural timber and fibres. You feel that the management really have taken a lot of trouble to try and get the ambience right - this is a nature paradise and the hotel, although big, manages to feel like a rural retreat in upstate NY or Vermont. There was some folksy/handcraft and harvest festival decor that kept the rural feeling (see photos). The room I had was large and comfortable and the bathroom was exceptional. The freestanding bathtub could be incorporated or separated from the bedroom with heavy sliding screens, the shower was perfect and the room has full amenities: everything from slippers, robes, toiletries, tea & coffee maker and bar fridge to umbrella and wall safe. The only thing about the Intercontinental that disappointed was the breakfast - the buffet food service area was not particularly clean, there were insects crawling on the fruit that was on the counter, many hot dish baine-maries were almost empty so the overall feeling was that the staff couldn't cope with the morning rush. Service level at the table was excellent, it's just that staff were concentrating on the wrong things or couldn't do everything ! I'd love to stay at this hotel again - it hasn't been open long so I want to go back when they've got the bugs (no pun intended) out of it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chun'an County hotels
7.5 km away
Hilton Hangzhou Qiandao Lake China
Hilton Hangzhou Qiandao Lake Chi...
#3 of 164 in Chun'an County
179 reviews
10.5 km away
Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort
Sheraton Qiandao Lake Resort
#1 of 164 in Chun'an County
216 reviews
12.2 km away
Narada Qiandao Lake Resort
Narada Qiandao Lake Resort
#19 of 164 in Chun'an County
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Lijing Hotel
Lijing Hotel
#47 of 164 in Chun'an County
19 reviews
10.5 km away
Qiandao Lake Greentown Resort Hotel
Qiandao Lake Greentown Resort Ho...
#10 of 164 in Chun'an County
75 reviews
11.6 km away
Qiandaohu Runhe Jianguo Hotel
Qiandaohu Runhe Jianguo Hotel
#12 of 164 in Chun'an County
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort

Address: Qiandaohu Country Club Pingsha, Chun'an County 311700, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Chun'an County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chun'an County
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chun'an County
Price Range: $145 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental One Thousand Island Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental 1000 Island Lake Resort
Intercontinental One Thousand Island Lake Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing