We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropical Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Havannah Blue

Kayaking for the whole family
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kayaking for the whole family
Master bedroom with a view Glorious sunsets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kayaking for the whole family
Master bedroom with a view
Glorious sunsets
Breakfast on the deck
Happy locals
Front yard friends
Tropical gardens
Calm and crystal clear waters
Our island sunset
Dining view across the bay to three islands
Diving out front
Perfect family setting
Pristine snorkeling with beach access
Curious fish everywhere!
All your friends are here.
Free kayaks for adults and children
Your own beach
Never too young to enjoy the reef!
Lelepa Island beach
Keep those cameras handy
Children enjoying the end of another beautiful day
Local parking lot
Nearby wreck dive
Local commute
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Havannah, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mladen B
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Tropical Bliss”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We spent a fantastic 10 days with family couple of months ago at Havannah Blue.
It was most enjoyable and relaxing holiday we have had lately. Away from the rush of the city, with the private beach, and hey! private coral reef to explore. We are divers and snorkelers and really enjoyed the colourful marine life. Dudley took us on an excursion where we dived places not visited by other divers.
Kayaking to pristine beaches, visits to nearby islands, tropical waterfalls and exploring underwater ship wrecks made our holidays so interesting.

The house is well maintained with a lot of space for everyone and it was a real touch of luxury to have our private dinners on the deck overlooking fantastic tropical sunsets.
Nearby resort Havannah and restaurant Francesca surprised us with delicious food experiences.
Close to Vila at The Beach Bar we had great pizzas and watched a dance with fire performed by local islanders’group.
Hans’ response was prompt and with all information we needed to prepare for the holiday.

We look forward to another tropical island experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious kitchen and deck, private coral reef.
Liked least: I had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you for your positive words Mladen, and we are glad to see fellow divers taking advantage of what Havannah Blue offers. You will be pleased to know that the drought has broken and the gardens have returned to their best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithGood...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great place to reconnect with family, slow down and yet do lots of active things”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We've just returned from a most nurturing and and enjoyable holiday at Havannah Blue on North Efate. The location is superb, away from the bustle of Port Vila and metres from great snorkeling at the bottom of the garden. The descriptions of the accommodation and further information from Hans, who was really helpful, are accurate and made our preparations easy. We were a party of six, with us parents, our two adult children, and their two friends. The house was very comfortable and well-designed, the superbly equipped kitchen/ outdoor area perfect for lovely meals and evenings filled with reading, games of cards, etc. Access to town was easy by hailing a bus from outside the house which enabled us to go to the markets, do shopping and get a feel for life in Vanuatu. Visits to markets in town, the Mele Falls, Blue Lagoon and various features around the island were great. Dudley was a source of much help; he provided wonderful information about the area and its history, and safely motored us around the islands in his boat for snorkeling and visits to his village (Lelepa) and nearby features (the cave on Lelepa Island with 3000 year old paintings being extraordinary). Although Efate has excellent mobile & internet connections, we chose to stay off the web (except for a few forays into town for coffee and WiFi). This worked for us as our lives at home are too connected. At the end of 10 days we had a chance to connect as a family that is hard to do in 2016. Thank you Hans and thank you also for showing that you've built an off-grid house that provides all the comforts and ease of our home in Sydney.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and time for all kinds of activities, magnificent sunsets
Liked least: prospect of a cyclone (which didn't happen)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
It was our pleasure having you and your family as guests and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to go back.”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of six including two couples and a father and son who stayed at Havannah Blue for 12 days in September 2015. Everything went perfectly for us and the house is a dream. The house is very well appointed with everything we needed right down to the ever changing view to be had from the dining table on the balcony with every meal and nap on the daybed, and hanging out with a beer, and playing games, and reading and.....you get the idea! We particularly enjoyed that it was not a resort set up which allowed us to become friendly with the neighbours right next door who also allowed us to adopt their cat for the duration of our stay. The snorkelling on the reef which is just at the bottom of the garden on the absolute waterfront was an amazing experience. Everyone was so helpful and Hans' instructions on getting to the house were absolutely spot on. There we were in the middle of the night, driving on the opposite side of the road in a new country to us, and we arrived with out a hitch! Dudley took the boys out very early one morning fishing and they all caught fish which was perfect for a father/son adventure. Dudley also took us all over to Lelepa Island where we were able to drop off the box of books, footys etc to the school which went down a treat with the kids. The smiles on their faces and their laughter was wonderful to see. He also took us on a walk up an extremely steep slope to visit a special cave where he explained the history of it and the rock carvings. We made friends with the staff at the Wahoo Bar where they have terrific food and plenty of Tusker. A big tankyu tu maas to Hans & Bronwyn, Dudley & Nelson, Daisy, George, Christian, Olive, all the kids at Lelepa school & Starlin for making our trip the most enjoyable ever. We are already starting to plan when we can all come back again.
September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience!
Liked least: I didn't like leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thank you Mike for your kind words. You and your group enthusiastically took on the whole Havannah Blue experience. Your communications during and after your holiday were greatly appreciated and you will be pleased to know that we now have weekly garbage collections.
The children and staff at the Lelepa school remember you fondly, and we were all glad to hear that you are recovering well after your health scare. You are welcome to add any photos to your review.
Hans and Bronwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie F
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Bliss”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This three bedroom house suited us perfectly. We have 3 children (2 teenagers) - there was plenty of space for us all. We spent much time on the sun-lounges and day bed in the open kitchen/dining area, but also had evening beers in the beach hut closer to the water where we could watch the local life carry on around us. The snorkelling straight off the back garden was wonderful, kyaking was fun and there are a few good restuarants nearby (although you have to plan when shopping for supplies). We did kyak one day to the local store - but you wouldn't want to do this daily. We all had a wonderful relaxing holiday.
This is not really the pace for those who like to shop - it is a very quiet area - but easy enough to get into Port Vila if you feel the need. We didn't have a car, so had to be a bit more organised with food

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open kitchen/dining area and direct access to the sea/snorkelling
Liked least: Lack of coffee plunger (this has now been addressed!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
We are so glad that you all enjoyed yourself, although kayaking to the shop must have been challenging. Most guests kayak as far as the Wahoo Bar and then stop for a well deserved cold beer and some fresh seafood, so we recommend reaching the shop by the local bus that stops out front.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maree w
North Bourke, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing unique peaceful family holiday in paradise.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Havannah Blue was truly amazing,perfect for our family, fishing daily with Dudley the tour guide. Snorkelling on the carol reef daily, breathtaking. We saw whales, dugongs and dolphins. Lelepa island on a tour, local markets outside your front gate. Friday nights the beach bar fireworks amazing. I would certainly recommend to stay at Havannah Blue for your perfect family getaway. We cannot wait to go again next year. thank you

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review and score. We are happy to hear that you will be returning.
Hans and Bronwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing