We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but not the best of the caves ”
Review of Aranui Cave

Aranui Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 35.99*
and up
1-Hour Guided Aranui Cave Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We went to 2/3- not doing the main boat ride Waitomo glowworm cave bit did the other 2. This one was very pretty and lots of formations however if you want the most ‘bang for buck’ the first cave Ruakuri was a lot better and had formations (not as many but still amazing ones) as well as more limestone formations and glowworms - so Aranui had lots and lots of formations but was sort of the same old as you walked through, whereas it was always different in Ruakuri which meant you didn’t get bored with it or anything!

Thank xxallyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, contact center at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi, thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed some of our caves. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glow worms"
in 21 reviews
"limestone formations"
in 7 reviews
"enjoyable tour"
in 4 reviews
"bush walk"
in 4 reviews
"amazing guide"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
"few stairs"
in 3 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"tour takes"
in 2 reviews
"boat ride"
in 2 reviews
"short drive"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 4 reviews
"native bush"
in 2 reviews
"private tour"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 2 reviews
"weta"
in 11 reviews
"acoustics"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2018

We saw all 3 caves and I loved this one. A very enjoyable tour, which was at a much nicer pace than the other 2 caves, time to enjoy and take in and appreciate the true beauty. Our guide, George was awesome. He was very knowledgeable, but most of all passionate. He was a real story teller, held us captive to what he was telling us and reminders to "treat Mother Earth well". He made this a very enjoyable tour and I highly recommend this beautiful cave to everyone.

Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, contact center at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Kia ora, thanks for your awesome review. We will pass on your kind words to George. We are glad you enjoyed all our caves. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

3rd cave tour of the day and another good tour.

Tour guide paced the tour well and was well spoken for the environment.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, contact center reservationist at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

KiaOra Mark,

Thank you for taking your time reviewing us.

We are glad you enjoyed your tour with us, will pass your praise on to our tour guide.

Thank you for your visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This is a smaller Cave than Ruakuri Cave and dry so no glow worms. Our guide was an older lady who was very knowledgeable. We start by a short walk through native bush which even as a Kiwi I learnt something new about different trees. The Cave is very nice with lots of stalactites & stalagmites that have been named by what they look like. Facilitating and an enjoyable tour.

Thank CEWatat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, Contact Centre at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and will pass on your praises to your tour guide. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

This is an amazing caze with beutiful formations. Got some amazing photos. The guide was frendly and talkative we got in early and only had one other couple with us.

Thank SCOTT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover_Waitomo, contact center reservationist at Aranui Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Kia Ora Scott,

Thank you for writing us the wonderful feedback.

We are glad you had a great time with us.

Thank you for your visiting, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aranui Cave also viewed

Waitomo Caves, Waitomo District
Waitomo Caves, Waitomo District
 

Been to Aranui Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing