We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark rooms to see kiwis on the move”

Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 269.67*
and up
Waitomo Caves and Kiwi House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1971 the Otorohanga Kiwi House and Native Bird Park has been helping to save New Zealand`s national icon, the Kiwi bird. The Kiwi House is a not-for-profit organisation; all proceeds help support conservation projects. We guarantee that visitors will always see Kiwi, plus the largest private collection of native birds and reptiles in NZ.We are just 15 minutes from the world famous Waitomo Caves and 2.5 hours south of Auckland.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Two separate buildings which have only a little lighting, to fool the kiwis into thinking it is night time! Great to see them active in reasonably large enclosures - though they had forgotten to unlock one of them and we had to ask! Wide range of birdlife, too, much of it in small cages. Good range of souvenirs with helpful staff.

Thank ChrisJS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi H, General Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your visit and review! We're glad you enjoyed your time here - the kiwi are surprisingly active, and real characters to watch.
The best time to see most of our critters (but especially the kiwi) is at our keeper talks and feedings - 1030am, 130pm, and 330pm for the kiwi, 11am for the kea and kaka (bush and mountain parrots), 12pm for the kakariki (native parakeets) and 230pm for the longfin eels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kiwi house"
in 155 reviews
"new zealand"
in 65 reviews
"bird park"
in 32 reviews
"feeding times"
in 24 reviews
"waitomo caves"
in 25 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 20 reviews
"different species"
in 11 reviews
"wood pigeon"
in 10 reviews
"nocturnal house"
in 11 reviews
"keeper talks"
in 6 reviews
"great visit"
in 7 reviews
"eel feeding"
in 9 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 7 reviews
"kea"
in 38 reviews
"aviary"
in 52 reviews
"kaka"
in 33 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were so excited to visit the Kiwi House and see two very active kiwis in two different enclosures. It was very cool to see them and also hear the keeper presentation about them. Our 9 year old daughter is now writing her own research report about kiwis using a book we purchased there as well. Highly recommend a stop here! We really enjoyed all the other birds too!!

Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi H, General Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks for your visit and review - that's fantastic that your daughter was inspired by your visit, it makes our day to get feedback like that! If she'd like to keep up to date on the goings on here in the park, like us on Facebook for regular updates on all of our denizens, Kiwi and otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Such a special experience being able to show our young children kiwi and other native bird species. Staff very friendly.

Thank Sanchiavdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi H, General Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for your comment, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time here! One of our goals here is education and conservation, so any opportunity to expose young children early to our many unique native birds is welcome. As part of that goal, we have daily feedings and keeper talks to educate and inform.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is definitely not just a great place to see Kiwi birds. Of course, in a way the Kiwis are the highlight, but the rest of the park is definitely also worth it. There is a lot to learn from the great signage at all the enclosures. The talks are not all super exciting; in a way, they could improve some of them a bit. But we enjoyed the Kiwi and Kea talks very much. Overall, this park is definitely worth a visit. With a pretty much guaranteed Kiwi sighting!

Thank Peter_dR_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi H, General Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for your visit and review, we're glad you enjoyed it! The talks are always evolving, but we'd love to hear your thoughts on how they could be improved. The Kiwi talks (1030am, 130pm, and 330pm) are very popular, and you're pretty much guaranteed to see one of these reclusive beasties then. The Kea and Kaka talks (11am) are also very popular. We also feed the Kakariki (native parakeets) at 12 noon, and the Longfin Eels at 230pm. There is also a chance to hand feed the Kakariki and Eels at their respective feedings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We were staying in Waitomo and happened across the Otorohanga Kiwi House - we're so glad we found it! The park is a conservation space for native birds of New Zealand - including the Kiwi, which is not easy to see on your own. We saw two kiwis during the visit and heard a talk about them during the morning feeding time. It was a great way to learn more about these awesome birds and see more the birds who call New Zealand home. Would definitely recommend a stop here!

Thank shakersulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otorohanga Kiwi H, General Manager at Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for your visit and review! It's great you were able to see the Kiwi as well as the plethora of native birds we have here, including the Morepork, Kereru, and Tui. The feeding times (1030am, 130pm, 230pm for Kiwi, 11am for Kea and Kaka, 12pm for Kakariki, and 230pm for Longfin Eels) are very popular and afford a great opportunity to see and learn about some of our unique New Zealand critters that may be hard to see in the wild.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park also viewed

Otorohanga, Waikato Region
Waitomo Caves, Waitomo District
 

Been to Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing