We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
111
50
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
50
11
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the Tui room. Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable and there was a huge range to choose from at breakfast. We also enjoyed our early morning dip in the spa pool - a great way to start the day. Thank you for a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RJLanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my breakfast. So nice to hear :) Thankyou for a lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Julie was extremely nice and makes a mean breakfast in the morning. This was our first time staying in a home-stay setting and she made us feel very comfortable. The location is a bit of a drive from the highway but nice to be away from the noise. It was only about a 15-minute drive to the Glowworm caves. They had the fastest Wifi I've had in a long time! (Huge plus) It was also nice that our room had its own door to go in and out of so we didn't have to bother anyone.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LESERLEE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Glad you enjoyed breakfast. Nice to hear our WIFI is actually quite good as you never really know :) Thanks for your wonderful review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed a night here after black water rafting at Waitomo - it was about a 15 min drive. The lodge was excellent - room was large, warm & comfortable and facilities were fantastic. we used the outdoor hot tub in the middle of winter and it was amazing. Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING. would defo recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 496EmmaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thanks so much for your lovely review!! so glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

we arrived cold and wet from caving nearby to be greeted with an upgrade to 2 beautiful well appointed warm rooms. Our host Julie has put so much thought into catering to all your possible needs that we could not have been happier. coupled with a delicious breakfast and some interesting conversations we only wish we could have stayed longer than one night

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydaze-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodLodge, Owner at Redwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

so glad you enjoyed your time with us although short :) Thanks for the wonderful review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Enjoyed our stay at the Redwood lodge. Love the exterior entrance to each of their 4 rooms. We stayed in the "Kiwi" and I believe they are all very similar to one another. Julie is a great host and a great (in addition to fast) cook. Her breakfasts were really good and her menu of choices was probably the most diverse we saw on our three week trip to the North island.

The lodge is located off the beaten path SE from Otorohanga but very well situated for a trip to the caves and the Huhuh cafe which should be on your list of places to eat. It's right across the way from the cave info center. The Lodge property is very quiet and it will likely help to have a GPS to help guide you there.

The Lodge has a good information booklet for the surrounding area and the room had everything we needed. Fit and finish of the room is a bit dated for those looking for "upscale" appointments or decor, but it had everything we needed. As noted previously, the exterior entrance to the room is really nice for coming and going without feeling like you're intruding into the hosts space. Most importantly, the bed was comfortable.

External to the room they have a common area, spa area (was out of service during our visit) and a very well stocked central refrigerator with those things that you may desire in the way of sodas, snacks, wine, etc. The costs associated with these items are very reasonable and it's a very nice touch. We also appreciated the ease of checkout as she has the ability to accept Visa.

Julie was great to chat with and is willing to help in any way needed. It made for a great two nights.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhaverlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews