We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest & Relaxation at Its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

This was visit No 27 to this beautiful B&B with fantastic hosts Leanne & Don.
Nothing is too much trouble for them and we enjoyed our quiet time in front of the wood heater.
Highly recommend a stay here if you're looking to recharge your batteries.
Plenty of short trips to places of interest to break up the stay if that's what you like.
Love the view across the Huon River from the Waterview room.
Beds are comfy and rooms super clean.
We will be back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks Barbara for another wonderful review. We love having return guests, but I think after so many visits, you really have become part of the family. You have seen many changes over the 14 years we have been operating and it's people like you that make it all the worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

We were the only guests so had free rein of the lounge whilst looking after the log fire. Large room with storage heaters meant a comfortable night, very large bathroom. Just off the main road on a rise meant great views of the river & wonderful gardens to explore.
Breakfast was an array of homemade breads, preserves & compotes. Blackberry & rhubarb a speciality. We were even given a couple of muffins to take for smoko on the road.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raffles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you both for choosing to stay with us. As head gardener I find such joy and peace working in the garden and am happy you noticed my efforts. Hopefully one day, we will see you back down this way for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

During our holiday in Tasmania, we stayed in a range of accommodation, from top hotels to B&Bs, but Donalea was by far our favourite place! Don and Leanne are so warm and hospitable and they have thought of absolutely everything to make their guests feel at home. Their eye for detail and consideration for their guests is second to none - from the home-made cake for afternoon tea on arrival to the generously sized bedrooms and living areas, spotless and beautifully equipped bathrooms and the delicious breakfast - their eye for detail and consideration for their guests' comfort is second to none! Its beautiful views and surrounding gardens just add to the experience... Thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G3922IKjuliag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thanks for such in depth positive review and so glad you enjoyed every aspect of our accommodation. Yes, we are lucky to have wonderful views at Donalea and the gardens will always be an ongoing project. Maybe we might see you back down in the Huon Valley one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This is a little gem of a B&B. We had the 2 bedroom apartment only for one night. Don is a wonderful host. The apartment is fabulous. Spotlessly clean, lovely rooms with everything you need. Look out the front bedroom window to the Huon River. The gardens are gorgeous. Don't miss out staying here

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Babyduck_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Many thanks for writing a review and choosing us to stay with on your travels. Glad you enjoyed the accommodation, gardens and water views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

we have stayed at donalea on multiple occasions. it is now our first choice of accom when visiting hobart, which is often. the hosts are first class, the breakie selection, range of choices, & types of food prepared are first class. the location is superb for exploring anywhere around the greater hobart area, the huon valley, the deep south (cockle creek & dover), & the channel area.

Room Tip: waterview room is great for couples. spa room is great for romance. apartment is fantastic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterb-melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks Peter for the review and we do enjoy our chats over breakfast, Yes, we are centrally located for most of the southern attractions and just 40 minutes from Hobart.
You guys are like one of the family and look forward to catching up again in November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Donalea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donalea Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Crowthers Rd, Castle Forbes Bay, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Castle Forbes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Forbes Bay
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donalea Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donalea is a beautiful two bedroom Bed and Breakfast and Riverview Apartment, with over an acre of cottage gardens. The property has stunning views of the Huon River and is located in the heart of the Huon Valley. A very private country retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Donalea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donalea Bed & Breakfast Tasmania/Castle Forbes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing