We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donalea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Cabin(Bruny Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 429(Hobart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
78
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterview roomhomemade breadb bhuon riverhome maderecharge your batterieslovely gardenperfect hostsbreakfast tablecompotetwo couplesabsolutely everythingafternoon tea on arrivalone nightcontinental breakfastbeautiful propertywood heater
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017

During our holiday in Tasmania, we stayed in a range of accommodation, from top hotels to B&Bs, but Donalea was by far our favourite place! Don and Leanne are so warm and hospitable and they have thought of absolutely everything to make their guests feel at home. Their eye for detail and consideration for their guests is second to none - from the home-made cake for afternoon tea on arrival to the generously sized bedrooms and living areas, spotless and beautifully equipped bathrooms and the delicious breakfast - their eye for detail and consideration for their guests' comfort is second to none! Its beautiful views and surrounding gardens just add to the experience... Thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G3922IKjuliag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thanks for such in depth positive review and so glad you enjoyed every aspect of our accommodation. Yes, we are lucky to have wonderful views at Donalea and the gardens will always be an ongoing project. Maybe we might see you back down in the Huon Valley one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This is a little gem of a B&B. We had the 2 bedroom apartment only for one night. Don is a wonderful host. The apartment is fabulous. Spotlessly clean, lovely rooms with everything you need. Look out the front bedroom window to the Huon River. The gardens are gorgeous. Don't miss out staying here

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Babyduck_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Many thanks for writing a review and choosing us to stay with on your travels. Glad you enjoyed the accommodation, gardens and water views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

we have stayed at donalea on multiple occasions. it is now our first choice of accom when visiting hobart, which is often. the hosts are first class, the breakie selection, range of choices, & types of food prepared are first class. the location is superb for exploring anywhere around the greater hobart area, the huon valley, the deep south (cockle creek & dover), & the channel area.

Room Tip: waterview room is great for couples. spa room is great for romance. apartment is fantastic value.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterb-melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks Peter for the review and we do enjoy our chats over breakfast, Yes, we are centrally located for most of the southern attractions and just 40 minutes from Hobart.
You guys are like one of the family and look forward to catching up again in November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed in the apartment for four days while we explored the Huon Valley. The apartment was immaculate and very well appointed. Everything was first class, most notable to us was the high standard of the bedroom and bathroom linen. The apartment is self contained but we were provided with afternoon tea on arrival and stores to make our own breakfast. The apartment has its own patio with table and chairs with views of the Huon river. The beautiul garden comes with a resident Tasmanian pademelon. Don and Leanne are the perfect hosts.
Can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: The apartment is first class
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thanks for the positive review Mitch and we are always happy when guests find all aspects of the accommodation to their liking. Yes, the Pademelon has made the rear yard home after raising his family here and is a pleasure to see on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We loved our stay at Donalea - did not want to leave - relaxing views of the bay, beautiful heritage home and lovely garden with beautifully appointed bedroom and guest lounge room. Continental breakfast scrumptious with homemade breads, muffins. Don and Leanne welcoming and friendly, nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Mid range price but luxury accommodation
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffcolby, Owner at Donalea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Taking time out to write us a review is very much appreciated as are your kind words. We are so fortunate to live at Donalea with Huon River views and old fashioned cottage gardens. Glad you enjoyed Leanne's home made bread and muffins, which are very popular with guests. We would love to see you down this way again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews