We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food ”
Review of Ricks Garage

Ricks Garage
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Palmwoods
Price range: AU$6 - AU$30
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Anyone who loves Qld’s Sunshine Coast will love Ricks Garage, Palmwoods licensed Restaurant and Bar. It’s the one destination that you have to check off your “to do list” when you visit the amazing Sunshine Coast. Ricks Garage is a household name – rockabilly music, hot rods and pin-up dress. Add in quality local food, a vibrant atmosphere, and family entertainment. It’s clear to see why Ricks is a Sunshine Coast institution.
Reviewed 19 September 2020 via mobile

Great atmosphere, food, prices and service. I really wish my town had a place like Ricks. Will be back.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank NathanAtkinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

This is a funky styled 1950’s bar and restaurant. Went with a group of 10 on a Sunday lunch the place was packed in a socially distanced kind of way. Staff were excellent and we all had a range of the burgers and fries that was very filling. As they were busy we were allocated a certain amount of time before we were kindly asked to leave. Live music was good and could have settled in for the afternoon. Will be back at a less busy time. Definitely check it out plenty of memorabilia throughout the venue.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank lifebeeinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2020

Our first visit will definitely not be our last. Everything from arriving to leaving was first class. Greeted with a smile. Current conditions were explained clearly. Food was off the charts. Every staff member we had contact with were cheerful, friendly and courteous. The live music we had was excellent. Heaps of stuff to look at as well. We could not fault one thing. Absolute top notch.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulc24rbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

Have been regulars at Rick’s for several years, the food was always excellent. However in the last year I am sorry to say the standard has been going steadily downhill. The hoki fish used to be a great choice now it looks like and tastes like a something from the supermarket heated up. There used to be a choice of sweet potato fries or wedges, now there is just tasteless fries. Tonight I ordered a burger which arrived barely lukewarm, not pleasant. Staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Please Rick’s go back to your previous high standards!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank bjpxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2020

It pains me to do so, but I am compelled to provide a follow-up to my 5 star review of Rick's Garage from 2016. Unfortunately, the place has gone downhill further than Franz Klammer at Val d`isere. The once exceptional Frickin' Hot Chicken Burger no longer exists on the menu although the option to spice up a regular chicken burger is offered. Sadly, whereas I once waxed lyrical about Rick's superb made-on-the-premises relish, all that is offered now is a generic-tasting chilli that can be found just about anywhere. In stark contrast too to the wondrous pungency of the potent original, the current offering is about as hot as a naturist outing of G-string-wearing octogenarians. The barramundi in breadcrumbs was so charred, the young lady who ordered it was in two minds whether to eat it or write with it. Opting bravely for the former, the barra within was unappetising enough to dissuade the famished recipient from sampling any of its zombie-like flesh. Sadly, the other meals were average at best. While the service can be commended, the food really was a distinct letdown.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PiccoloFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ricks Garage also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Ricks Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.