We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been regulars at Rick’s”
Review of Ricks Garage

Ricks Garage
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Palmwoods
Price range: AU$6 - AU$30
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Anyone who loves Qld’s Sunshine Coast will love Ricks Garage, Palmwoods licensed Restaurant and Bar. It’s the one destination that you have to check off your “to do list” when you visit the amazing Sunshine Coast. Ricks Garage is a household name – rockabilly music, hot rods and pin-up dress. Add in quality local food, a vibrant atmosphere, and family entertainment. It’s clear to see why Ricks is a Sunshine Coast institution.
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

Have been regulars at Rick’s for several years, the food was always excellent. However in the last year I am sorry to say the standard has been going steadily downhill. The hoki fish used to be a great choice now it looks like and tastes like a something from the supermarket heated up. There used to be a choice of sweet potato fries or wedges, now there is just tasteless fries. Tonight I ordered a burger which arrived barely lukewarm, not pleasant. Staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Please Rick’s go back to your previous high standards!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank bjpxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2020

It pains me to do so, but I am compelled to provide a follow-up to my 5 star review of Rick's Garage from 2016. Unfortunately, the place has gone downhill further than Franz Klammer at Val d`isere. The once exceptional Frickin' Hot Chicken Burger no longer exists on the menu although the option to spice up a regular chicken burger is offered. Sadly, whereas I once waxed lyrical about Rick's superb made-on-the-premises relish, all that is offered now is a generic-tasting chilli that can be found just about anywhere. In stark contrast too to the wondrous pungency of the potent original, the current offering is about as hot as a naturist outing of G-string-wearing octogenarians. The barramundi in breadcrumbs was so charred, the young lady who ordered it was in two minds whether to eat it or write with it. Opting bravely for the former, the barra within was unappetising enough to dissuade the famished recipient from sampling any of its zombie-like flesh. Sadly, the other meals were average at best. While the service can be commended, the food really was a distinct letdown.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PiccoloFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

We visited Ricks Garage ( have been before on our Harley ) on Sunday 9th August After attending the Retro Rocks Nambour weekend with a group of 5 ( all in our 60’s) & purchased food & drinks throughout the afternoon 11.30 - 4pm & enjoyed listening to the music. Awesome decor & tasty food.
As it got cold outside & the live music finished we asked if we could move inside as there was plenty of spare tables & There was music inside, & we were intending to stay for dinner.
The lady on duty said it was too much trouble to wipe the table down & we could not move.
We were about to book a Birthday party for 75 people!!
Needless to say we left, advised 2 more friends who were invited to dinner & ended up having a fabulous dinner at The Palmwoods Hotel where the staff were welcoming & friendly & we ended up spending our money there.
Definitely won’t be back at Rick’s Garage.

Date of visit: August 2020
2  Thank AprilGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2020 via mobile

A must dine in. Meals very good. Impressive deco, love the music, atmosphere & friendly staff. Will visit again

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank TodaysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2020 via mobile

This place never disappoints. Great to have a meal with family and friends. Love the whisky bar upstairs. Definitely a must try on the sunny coast.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank emudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ricks Garage also viewed

Montville, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Ricks Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.