We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic family location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Rothbury, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catherine...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic family location”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thank you Andrew for our fantastic stay at your Woolshed Hill Estate last week for mum's surprise 70th Birthday. Mum was just thrilled and I know it really meant so much to her and dad to be with all the families for those few days. Your property was the perfect venue to make that happen. We loved the grand residence which was the perfect escape for mum and dad, and the apartment and the homestead slept the other 18 of us very well indeed. Mum and dad enjoyed the golf course and the children loved the pool and tennis court. We also appreciated your assistance with the surprise and also our grocery delivery. thanks once again Andrew - we will certainly be recommending your place to our friends.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Hi Catherine, thank you for your kind words and it was my pleasure to help out with the groceries and surprising your mum. I am thrilled that you all had a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleO...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had 14 of us catch up for a get together and since coming to this brilliant residence we have decided we are doing a yearly thing now - Everything you need is here.
The BBQ area is brilliant as is the pool. 14 people slept very confortable and heaps of bathrooms as well. We took up 2 of the 3 residence available and thought they we great. All 14 of us were happy and still giggling about the time we had - Saw a concert as well. Close to everything.
Thanks Andrew - We will be back - Hope we were not too loud for the other house hahah 14 women and a BBQ and Pool and music well that is a mixture for noise. The only thing is maybe we needed more toilet paper with all those ladies hahaha - Cheers

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Hi again and thank you so much for your feedback. I am so happy that you girls all had a great weekend and enjoyed the facilities. What a great idea to make this an annual event and we will certainly welcome you all back. We also appreciate that way you left the homestead and cottage, it made our cleaners job a lot easier.. See you next time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebDeb07
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in the apartment (there are several different accommodation types to be rented individually or as a large group). It had some character and each of the 2 bedrooms had an ensuite.
We loved the location - only 10 minutes to the centre of town but was quiet and near some great wineries like Marshes Estate.
It doesn't have air conditioning but it didn't need it - though it was very hot outside it was lovely and cool inside. All but one room had tiles and it had fans.
It was handy to have the kitchen and bbq.
It was great to have the facilities - pool and golf course.
The only negative was that though the host was friendly, it seemed there was a long list of rules that he ran through with us. It was a bit over the top.
We also had some trouble working the tv remote controller and the fan remote.

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Hi Deb and thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying in the apartment and we appreciate your feedback, without guests letting us know we would never be able to improve.. We look forward to seeing you next time your are in the Hunter Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1954Jen
Glenbrook, Australia
3 reviews
“Magic Weekend”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at Woolshed Hill Estate celebrating our joint 60th birthdays. There were 34 of us from 6 months to 86 years. Andrew made sure everything was perfect for our arrival. All agreed the beds were extremely comfortable; one couple slept so well they all but missed breakfast! Everyone enjoyed themselves playing golf,tennis, bocce or swimming in the pool. The Grand Dining Room was a beautiful setting for our party on the Saturday night. At Woolshed Hill there is so much to do or so many ways to do nothing.
Jen and Jeff
Glenbrook, NSW

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are thrilled that both you all enjoyed a memorable weekend in the Hunter. You are always welcome at Woolshed Hill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PavvyKr
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical place to celebrate my sister's hens weekend”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here on the weekend celebrating my sisters hen's night with 19 other women. We managed to have the apartment, the homestead and the cottage. What a fabulous place, it was close to everything and had everything we needed to make us comfortable. What I was impressed the most was when Andrew took the time to come and say hello and to make sure we had everything we needed to make our weekend perfect. Great service with a personal touch. Thank you Andrew. The pool was the best place to be in with the 40+ degrees we had on the weekend. The accommodation was clean and well presented. Would not hesitate to recommend that's for sure. I will return in the near future whether it be the winter or summer as both seasons are well accommodated for with the fire places in the main living room and master bedroom and air conditioning.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it was an absolute pleasure to have you all stay at Woolshed for the weekend and yes it was very hot and the pool was the place to be.. Next time you are coming to the Hunter please contact me directly for a special deal! Say Hi to all the girls for me and thanks again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing