We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botswana? No, Batemans Bay!”
Review of Mogo Zoo

Mogo Zoo
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Mogo
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Botswana? No, Batemans Bay!”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Friends had recommended this exotic animal zoo. It was an exceptionally hot day, so we arrived at 9 and expected an uncomfortable walk. But we were presently surprised. Compact, shady and very well organised this little zoo had an intimacy lacking in bigger zoos.
There are a number of one on one animal encounters that can be booked and paid for. They range in price. We chose the red pandas at a cost of $100 per person. This gave us 50 minutes with these adorable creatures and their keeper, we fed them breakfast and nursed and cuddled to our hearts delight. Truly memorable.
We also fed deers and giraffes, and observed, at close quarters, breakfast with the lions and gorillas. There are many animals who all appear to be in good condition and housed comfortably in suitable enclosures, enjoying an excellent breeding program related to Australian and overseas zoos. We loved Mogo, and would definitely go back.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    169
    13
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great to see Big Cats”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Great couple of hours spent here. Not good if you want to see native animals but great for a good range of big cats quite close. Tigers, lions including white lions, servals, cheetahs amongst others. It does say wheelchair friendly but to see the tigers you need to be very strong to push wheelchair up and down hill

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Hidden gem ”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We experienced a wonderful day here with two toddlers. The grounds are immaculate and all the staff members are welcoming. We fed the giraffe and had the pleasure of strolling around the entire zoo without the hustle and bustle. We brought our own picnic and sat in the beautiful gardens. Kids absolutely loved it and would definitely come back!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shelby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Admission”
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Had a bad experience with the reception we were charged full price when they had concession for old age pensioners. The decision was taken beacause we had British passports our hosts were very embarrassed because of the situation they were put in?If we have old pension rates in our country it applies to all.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank bagpipes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I really enjoyed the time we spent at Mogo Zoo. Although some of the cages are quite small, they're all very clean and well looked after, as is the whole zoo.
We were going to do the primate island tour but unfortunately one of the animals was not well and the moat didn't have much water in it so we were swapped over to do the Squirell Monkey and Emperor Tamarin experience for the same price.
The lady at the front desk was so nice, and also gave us free giraffe feeding vouchers because we couldn't do the encounter we wanted. She also rang us earlier in the day to explain what was going on, which was very goood of her.
The keeper that did the animal close-up animal encounters with us was also very nice, and knowledgable. There was no rush and got to spend quite a bit of time with the cheeky little monkeys feeding them and watching them play.
The zoo is quite a bit bigger than i thought it would be with lots of different animals, lots of primates. The keeper talks, although i only went to the gorilla one, was also interesting and informative. There are a few of these on throughout the day.
The close-up animal encounters are not cheap but well worth it if you're an animal lover. Although the giraffe feeding is only $10 i think. The entry fee is also reasonable. You could spend a few hours here easily.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank OzeeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mogo Zoo also viewed

 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 

Been to Mogo Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing