We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
291
90
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
90
20
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomgreat kitchendaily activitiessalsa lessonscool barlarge kitchentrivia nighthammock chairskayak tourgood vibesplace to staycomfortable bedsstayed here for nightsfell in loveamazing placebeautiful beachkaribu
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We tried to book here but it was fully booked, for good reason. We had a problem with our accommodation next door and they went out of there way to help us. I couldn't recommend this hostel more, customer service 10/10, right next the beach and town!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank MichaelH11987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Tribu is without a doubt one of the best hostels I've been to. The staff is amazing and so helpful, the kitchen is great! Dorms are cleaned every day. There is a lot of events every Night, so great if Traveling alone as well. Just next to Beach and close to the center. Isla Holbox in general is beautiful! Will return soon! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This is our third time in four years. We love Tribu and we love Holbox. This tranquille island in the Carribbean side of Mexico is the best of small town /slash fishing villaage and dream holiday destination. Join the village watching the sun set and then go to the bar at Tribu and enjoy a great small scale concert. Thanks to Mia and David and all the people at Tribu for such a warm welcome. Again. We will be back. Again. See you and Mango (the dog) then!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are quieter. Twin rooms with ensuite is a great bargain! Book ahead. They´are often full.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calle251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely place with good facilities and very friendly staff. My dorm room was spacious and comfy with hot shower outside and inside toilet.
There is free WiFi which can be patchy but hey its a small island. It comes with a kitchen with good facilities (1 minor complaint is only 3 bowls, need more bowls!) and common areas, hammocks and a bar that opens in the evening.

1 thing to say is a lot of the island is waterlogged with whole streets underwater including the street Tribu is located. This is obviously not an complaint about Tribu but it's something to note as it does effect you. It feels like the island is struggling to cope with the number of tourists.

If you do come to Holbox than Tribu is a great location.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

This is a special place. I came for three days and stayed 12. It's a great combination of sleepy beach town with awesome hostel life. Somehow the people who are attracted to Tribu are just the nicest and most fun. I made some special friends and really enjoyed cooking and sharing food with everyone. The staff here are kind and accommodating and there are many activities for people to do, both on the premises and off. Mostly I went to the amazing beach, cooked, and socialized. It was soooooooo relaxing. Thank you Tribu!!!!

Room Tip: Women's dorm is cheap and cheerful, it can be rather hot but friendly.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebeccafriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews