We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets and Solitude”
Review of Mango Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Bay Cottages
Reviewed 10 June 2017

The accomodation is on the west coast in a very green area, with naturally also many mango trees close by. To reach there one has to branch off into a gravel road and then walk down a few steps.

There are four room. We got the 'Crab' room, which together with the 'Turtle' room is on top of the other two. When entering, we got carried away by the view from the big balcony over a forested coastline all the way to the sea. Later this view got even more spectacular with the sunset.

The room was big enough with a king-size bed, protected by a mosquito net, although there were hardly any mosquitoes in mid-March. The room gets serviced every 3rd day, on request more often.

During our 3-nights we were always alone, enjoying the solitude. The place is run, almost as a one-man-show by friendly, but rather shy Kiddousi, who helped us also with the luggage. Memorable is his cooking. It follows the rules of the Rasta's vegan Ital cooking, but is so varied and imaginative, that most non-Vegetarians will also enjoy it. These rules also imply that there is no coffee for breakfast and that alcohol is not encouraged. All meals have to be booked in advance, also for residents. They always come in three courses with very tasty selfmade herbal teas and fruit juices.

Some quite steep wooden steps lead down to a nice little, almost private beach. Thewre were no big waves, when there, but some strong currents, so one is better careful, when swimming. Going up again, there is a shower at the end of the steps.

The accomodation is very isolated, but from the main road (a 5 minutes walk up), one will always encounter a local bus either to St.George or Gouyave. A nearby restaurant called 'Eve's Cove' was closed when there. To the next tiny shop it is a 20 minutes walk towards Gouyave. In this direction are also the Concord Waterfalls, which are a lovely half-day walk (with return) from here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the cottages and fortunately we had of the 2 that are in the first floor....look at that view! A balcony with an hammock to this view, priceless!What about the private beach? Very well priced and we were the only people on the beach, priceless!

The rooms are simple with some details needing to be refurbished, but who cares when you fell asleep with the noises of the tropical forest, priceless!

Adding to the cottages there is the restaurant which only serves a single 3 course menu, always vegetarian. The food includes several fruits and vegetables grown in the property and the food is really delicious, $20, per person. The breakfast is also very tasty and you should try it at least once.

In short, if you prefer nature and exclusivity in detriment of modernist and fancy resorts, this is the place to be...

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank José L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Cottages are fairly well provisioned, clean and have air conditioning. Wifi is available. We enjoyed the "off the beaten track" location and the great little black sand beach with good snorkelling. Despite the 160 steps down to the beach, it was worth the effort. The restaurant was excellent (vegetarian) and Kuddisi the chef and on site manager was an excellent host. Very quiet and relaxing destination. The Cottages could use a little "sprucing" up, mostly paint - a little elbow grease would go a long way. The location, although lovely, it is isolated from grocery and restaurants near by. As such, guests should ensure they bring an ample amount of grocery items for preparing meals in, or, as some guests did - rent a car.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Mango Bay Cottages in Feb 2017. We stayed in both St. George's and by Grand Anse Beach and this was our favourite location. We stayed in a lower cottage and enjoyed this as there is a lot of local wildlife (birds, plants) that we enjoyed looking at. You can get a higher view from the restaurant cottage so we liked having the contrast.
The room is large and clean, king sized bed and air-conditioning. It also has a full kitchen. We ate the food from the restaurant it was amazing! Highly recommend! Mango Bay Cottages is in Concord Falls which is about a 30-40 minute bus ride from St. George's (this is where we went to get groceries, and different things we needed). The local bus will pick you up from the main road and will drop you back off. They're a bit crowded but cheap and definitely worth using. I would recommend using the bus system to get around. You can get anywhere on the island by bus.
There is a private beach that we used. It was amazing!! We did not have any issue getting down or up from the beach. Bring your snorkel gear, while we were there we seen loads of fish and an octopus! Usually the beach is empty however apparently people will boat over on the weekends to party on it, however, we did not stay during the weekend.
**Important to note is that the plugs are 220Volt. We had 110Volt, you can buy a "transformer" in St. George's at a store called Pennywise for about 10USD, or bring your own. We were not prepared for this. Some accommodations had voltage for both, however I think 220Volt is more common on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Britt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Peggy the owner (who is not onsite at the property) was very responsive and helpful in advance of our stay, which I always think is a good sign, but sadly things started on the wrong foot when we arrived, since the cottage I requested and was promised had been given to other guests and the dinner reservation I had made for our first night had not been communicated to the chef. Luckily he was able to accommodate us, but for a little while anyway it looked as if we might be stranded on New Year's Eve with nowhere to have dinner.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but it's a difficult place to review, since it has a lot going for it but also some real issues.

On the plus side, the location is remote, very secluded and quite beautiful with great views -- although the views are definitely not as good from the lower cottages which are also not in quite as good condition (I know because we started in a lower one but got moved up to the one we had originally been promised once the other guests left the property) despite the prices being the same. But the location is also a negative, since there is very little nearby (even the nearest tiny grocery store is a car, taxi or bus ride away) so be prepared to either rent a car (but be warned that the driving is not especially tourist friendly) or spend a considerable amount of time (and money if you take taxis) on the bus (which is quite an experience in itself, but you can message me privately if you want to know more about that).

The cottages are very charming and the beds very comfortable, although the kitchens and bathrooms are a bit dodgy and could use some sprucing up.

The somewhat private beach is a little gem, but as other reviewers have said, the stairs are quite steep and by another reviewer's count (which seemed about right to me) there are 160+ of them.

The dirt road from the main road which you will have to walk to/from the bus is also no picnic (and gets muddy if it rains) and is pitch black at night (luckily we each had flashlights on our phones).

Again, the plus side of all this is that the location is very secluded and has that lovely little beach and nice views.

We had several breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant and really enjoyed the delicious vegan food (although I wish the chairs were more comfortable and ditto for the other chairs on the property all of which are wood).

Finally, and this is no small thing, we stayed for 7 nights and rarely had hot water -- most of the time it was luke warm at best (our friends were staying in another cottage and had the same problem).

The room rates and meal prices at Mango Bay are quite reasonable to begin with plus we got a night free for not getting the cottage we were promised for the first four nights and a free breakfast on the last day for not having hot water. The bargain rates are definitely an incentive to stay here, and we appreciated the concessions in light of what went wrong, but personally I think Peggy should give the property a bit of a face lift (and do a better job remembering who requests what in terms of cottages and dinner reservations) and charge a little more, since a free breakfast hardly makes up for the better part of a week without hot water.

All that said, I am still giving Mango Bay 4 out of 5, since overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Scottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint John Parish
3.7 km away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
54 reviews
13 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
16.6 km away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
305 reviews
14.1 km away
Cabier Ocean Lodge
Cabier Ocean Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crochu
146 reviews
10 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Cottages

Address: Woodford, 0000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint John Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Saint John Parish
Price Range: $135 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay is an intimate, private cottage resort located on the western coast of Grenada with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and 300 feet of secluded beach. With bar and restaurant service on the beach, kayak and snorkel rentals available, and complimentary beach towels, umbrella, and lounge chairs, we make your relaxation our number one priority. Located just 20 minutes from St. George's, 15 minutes from Gouyave, and minutes from the Concord Waterfalls, Mango Bay is an ideal location for exploring the island. For the adventurous, we also offer mountain bike and scooter rentals and a variety of island tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing