We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even hesitate!”
Review of Mango Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Bay Cottages
Reviewed 29 July 2016

GO for it! This place has it all. Tranquility, relaxation, dining, and location.
Beds are great, cottages are super cute. There are 4 cottages total, stacked 2 and 2 next to each other with stairs in between. Beautiful private balconies.

We booked all 4 cottages for a mission trip to Concord. They were such wonderful hosts.

My wife and I took advantage of the massage services for our anniversary. $70 p/p an hour and it was totally worth it.

There are 161 steps going down to the beach! Yes, I counted one day coming back up. I may have missed a couple. It's totally worth it also. The private beach is small but perfect! The water is really clear and calm, just a little break in the waves. They let us use the kayaks and snorkel gear in our free time, which was really nice for the young ones in our group.

The food at the little restaurant is vegetarian, but the adults in our group really loved it. The pizza was the best by far, and the pancakes and mango at breakfast are delicious.

If I had to pick a con, it would be the first night we arrived one of the cottages was occupied so a couple (me and my wife) stayed in the main house upper living quarters. It is very nice, but there was no air conditioning. The next day they relocated us to the other cottage with no problems.

The only other negative I could think of was the water pressure and hot water. We had 8 people in the cottages and probably all showering at the same time, so that probably didn't help, but it wouldn't stop us from going again.

The wi-fi only worked outside the cottages, but I only needed it a few times and it was fine just walking toward the restaurant for a few minutes to get it. I wasn't there for the wi-fi! :D They may even have this fixed by now, it was being worked on.

Some people have mentioned the entrance. Off the main road up the west coast, there is a left turn, go about 50 yards, and turn right when you see the Eve's Cove restaurant. It is a little tricky at night for sure. We were wondering if we were in the right spot at first, but our driver assured us we were. It's only 3-4 minutes off the main road.

ALL IN ALL, THIS PLACE WAS AWESOME! Great people, comfortable, and so peaceful.

Room Tip: The top cottages obviously have a slightly better view of the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Me an my girlfriend stayed here 2 weeks ago an had a great time. The view from our room was amazing an the resort was really quiet. We got set up with a great driver who gave up a really good local experience of the island. (ask for Ronnie).

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John_Barnes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

The pros is the views, quietness (except for nature), and the wonderful vegan Chef.
The cons were broken wifi the whole stay, little freezer door wouldn't open, even though there is an AC unit it never got cool b/c cottages are open air, and very hard and pricey to go anywhere from here. (We did not take the bus) The restaurant food was great but closed for the season while we were there....without any notification. The restaurant up the road, Eves, had already been closed for the season and there is no where else to eat nearby! We did enjoy walking up the road and picking fresh mangoes. Mango Bay did supply a beach bag and chairs which we used but it was very hard carrying them down and up the trail/hike to the beach. The black sand beach is not private. Locals were here everyday usually with spearguns for fishing and some with machetes. The people of Grenada were very nice, especially cab driver Ronnie we used 4 times and Mango Bays sweet and gentle Chef! I can't say enough wonderful things about him!!!
Also, we had no idea how to check out, so we left door unlocked and keys on table!

Room Tip: Top rooms, the crab and turtle cottages are best. But remember you need good knees for this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We stayed a week in April at Mango Bay and loved it. The property is beautiful, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We aren't vegetarians but we really enjoyed the food Kiddusi made - especially Island Pizza on Fridays, it was beyond delicious. Kimron was also a standout on the staff. Super helpful on the property as well as telling you how to find all the great hidden things to do in the area. We enjoyed spending time with Kiddusi and Kimron during our stay. Finding the property at night was a bit of a challenge - from the sign on the road you go down a long well maintained concrete road - when you get to the parking pad on the bottom there is a faint "street" light - at Eve's Cove, the entrance to Mango Bay is a really quick right as soon as you hit the pad - it's a dirt road through the landscape. Its not far and the property is well lit when you arrive. We stayed in one of lower level rooms - which was great, but we had hoped to be in an upper level with a better view. The room itself was very clean, and the bed comfortable. A/C was a welcome addition in the evening to cool off. We didn't use the kitchen much except for the mini fridge. We often used the deck to relax, it was wonderful as is the hammock. Just a note to light sleepers in the lower cottages - You can hear your neighbors easily, especially when people are going up and down the stairs between the cottages or sitting on the lovely decks - due to construction and air flow for the cottage. I had to put in earplugs to be able to sleep through the night. WiFi is available but really spotty - we couldn't get it on the lower part of the property and had to go near the main house to get a signal. Getting down to the private beach was an adventure. 166 steps down the side of the cliff on wooden stairs - some sections need a little maintenance. There is a outdoor shower when you return to the top to rinse off sand - which was great. The snorkeling was excellent (we had our own gear) to the right near the rocks. Be on the lookout for lionfish - we saw dozens of them especially in the evenings - they are not native and can sting - if you see them report the sightings to a dive shop. There was also a little school of curious tiny squid near the surface, they let you get just close enough and are fun to interact with. Good snorkeling sights just down the road in Dragon Bay and Happy Hill. Don't get lured into going on the boat with the locals and paying $$ - good snorkeling is just to the left in Dragon Bay and you can walk over the small hill to the dive park on the other side "Molinere Bay". All in all a great location if you want to live like a local out of the hustle and bustle of St. Georges. I would certainly stay here again on a trip to Grenada.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level cottage or if the owners unit is available, try to book that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SpottedNoseDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We stayed here for one night whilst cycling around the island and it really is a lovely secluded retreat with only four rooms (which also contain a kitchen - although if you are using this you are missing out on Kiddusi's delicious food).

We had little trouble finding the hotel from the main road, however you do need to look carefully for the secondary sign when reaching Eve's restaurant. Upon arrival the staff helped us settle in and found us some cold beers that we had pining for in the heat as we medalled down the coast of the island. After we had imbibed several cold beverages we settled into our lovely and well equipped room and enjoyed the views from the balcony.

My fiancée's legs were evidently feeling hardier than mine and she braved the 180 or so steps down to the beach, which I am assured is fabulous and effectively private due to the access difficulties... This was not a negative for us having battled the steep roads and sometimes 'hairy' driving on the island, but would probably not be suitable for people not quite so intrepid. If you want to blob from lounger to beach, this is not the hotel for you!

In the evening we enjoyed a substantial and delicious meal in the (vegetarian) restaurant prepared by Kiddusi using local produce and in the morning the best breakfast we had on the island: pancakes, friend plantain, carrot, water and herb tea. Not my everyday choice, but I may be changing this after I found myself powering up the hills after I had eaten it!

Whilst we settled the very reasonable bill we were also treated to feeding the huge number of iguanas that roam the garden before we peddled off to finish our tour.

Overall, this hotel is an absolute gem. We could have chatted to the guys working there for days; they were so kind, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the upper level obviously have slightly better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warwick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint John Parish
3.7 km away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
54 reviews
13 km away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
16.6 km away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
304 reviews
14.1 km away
Cabier Ocean Lodge
Cabier Ocean Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crochu
146 reviews
10 km away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Cottages

Address: Woodford, 0000, Grenada
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint John Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Saint John Parish
Price Range: $136 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay is an intimate, private cottage resort located on the western coast of Grenada with breathtaking views of the Caribbean and 300 feet of secluded beach. With bar and restaurant service on the beach, kayak and snorkel rentals available, and complimentary beach towels, umbrella, and lounge chairs, we make your relaxation our number one priority. Located just 20 minutes from St. George's, 15 minutes from Gouyave, and minutes from the Concord Waterfalls, Mango Bay is an ideal location for exploring the island. For the adventurous, we also offer mountain bike and scooter rentals and a variety of island tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing