We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
51
19
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
19
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachblack sand beacheach cottagetop floorair conditioningstrong currentsoff the beaten trackoverlooking the waterdifferent placesmosquito netveganchefcoastroadsislandlegsconcord
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Me an my girlfriend stayed here 2 weeks ago an had a great time. The view from our room was amazing an the resort was really quiet. We got set up with a great driver who gave up a really good local experience of the island. (ask for Ronnie).

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John_Barnes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

The pros is the views, quietness (except for nature), and the wonderful vegan Chef.
The cons were broken wifi the whole stay, little freezer door wouldn't open, even though there is an AC unit it never got cool b/c cottages are open air, and very hard and pricey to go anywhere from here. (We did not take the bus) The restaurant food was great but closed for the season while we were there....without any notification. The restaurant up the road, Eves, had already been closed for the season and there is no where else to eat nearby! We did enjoy walking up the road and picking fresh mangoes. Mango Bay did supply a beach bag and chairs which we used but it was very hard carrying them down and up the trail/hike to the beach. The black sand beach is not private. Locals were here everyday usually with spearguns for fishing and some with machetes. The people of Grenada were very nice, especially cab driver Ronnie we used 4 times and Mango Bays sweet and gentle Chef! I can't say enough wonderful things about him!!!
Also, we had no idea how to check out, so we left door unlocked and keys on table!

Room Tip: Top rooms, the crab and turtle cottages are best. But remember you need good knees for this place!!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We stayed a week in April at Mango Bay and loved it. The property is beautiful, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We aren't vegetarians but we really enjoyed the food Kiddusi made - especially Island Pizza on Fridays, it was beyond delicious. Kimron was also a standout on the staff. Super helpful on the property as well as telling you how to find all the great hidden things to do in the area. We enjoyed spending time with Kiddusi and Kimron during our stay. Finding the property at night was a bit of a challenge - from the sign on the road you go down a long well maintained concrete road - when you get to the parking pad on the bottom there is a faint "street" light - at Eve's Cove, the entrance to Mango Bay is a really quick right as soon as you hit the pad - it's a dirt road through the landscape. Its not far and the property is well lit when you arrive. We stayed in one of lower level rooms - which was great, but we had hoped to be in an upper level with a better view. The room itself was very clean, and the bed comfortable. A/C was a welcome addition in the evening to cool off. We didn't use the kitchen much except for the mini fridge. We often used the deck to relax, it was wonderful as is the hammock. Just a note to light sleepers in the lower cottages - You can hear your neighbors easily, especially when people are going up and down the stairs between the cottages or sitting on the lovely decks - due to construction and air flow for the cottage. I had to put in earplugs to be able to sleep through the night. WiFi is available but really spotty - we couldn't get it on the lower part of the property and had to go near the main house to get a signal. Getting down to the private beach was an adventure. 166 steps down the side of the cliff on wooden stairs - some sections need a little maintenance. There is a outdoor shower when you return to the top to rinse off sand - which was great. The snorkeling was excellent (we had our own gear) to the right near the rocks. Be on the lookout for lionfish - we saw dozens of them especially in the evenings - they are not native and can sting - if you see them report the sightings to a dive shop. There was also a little school of curious tiny squid near the surface, they let you get just close enough and are fun to interact with. Good snorkeling sights just down the road in Dragon Bay and Happy Hill. Don't get lured into going on the boat with the locals and paying $$ - good snorkeling is just to the left in Dragon Bay and you can walk over the small hill to the dive park on the other side "Molinere Bay". All in all a great location if you want to live like a local out of the hustle and bustle of St. Georges. I would certainly stay here again on a trip to Grenada.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level cottage or if the owners unit is available, try to book that
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SpottedNoseDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We stayed here for one night whilst cycling around the island and it really is a lovely secluded retreat with only four rooms (which also contain a kitchen - although if you are using this you are missing out on Kiddusi's delicious food).

We had little trouble finding the hotel from the main road, however you do need to look carefully for the secondary sign when reaching Eve's restaurant. Upon arrival the staff helped us settle in and found us some cold beers that we had pining for in the heat as we medalled down the coast of the island. After we had imbibed several cold beverages we settled into our lovely and well equipped room and enjoyed the views from the balcony.

My fiancée's legs were evidently feeling hardier than mine and she braved the 180 or so steps down to the beach, which I am assured is fabulous and effectively private due to the access difficulties... This was not a negative for us having battled the steep roads and sometimes 'hairy' driving on the island, but would probably not be suitable for people not quite so intrepid. If you want to blob from lounger to beach, this is not the hotel for you!

In the evening we enjoyed a substantial and delicious meal in the (vegetarian) restaurant prepared by Kiddusi using local produce and in the morning the best breakfast we had on the island: pancakes, friend plantain, carrot, water and herb tea. Not my everyday choice, but I may be changing this after I found myself powering up the hills after I had eaten it!

Whilst we settled the very reasonable bill we were also treated to feeding the huge number of iguanas that roam the garden before we peddled off to finish our tour.

Overall, this hotel is an absolute gem. We could have chatted to the guys working there for days; they were so kind, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the upper level obviously have slightly better views.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warwick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

My husband and I just returned from a one week visit to Grenada, where we spent 7 glorious nights at Mango Bay Cottages. It was exactly what we were hoping for! Away from the hussle of the city, and set in the lush hills overlooking the ocean. Our cottage was simple but cozy, and the view from the deck was breathtaking! The little vegetarian restaurant served great dishes, and we couldn't believe how much food you got for such a small price! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we felt right at home! The beach was so quiet we felt like it was our very own, and although the steps to get there could be dangerous at times, we found it added to the character of the place! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from it all and relax, and at an extremely reasonable price! We will be returning for sure!!

Room Tip: Crab and Turtle are the top rooms, so have a clear ocean room, however the bottom rooms also have a great view only slightly obstructed by beautiful trees and bushes, and may be a bit cooler on the balcony in the heat of the day. All would be fantastic though!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken9008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews