We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveller rating
328
282
105
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
282
105
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room traditional hotel no lift covered car park excellent food under cover comfortable hotel pie lounge area lamb both nights north wales family room high street cooked breakfast the welsh highland railway sunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 771 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018

A short weekend break en route to Dyffryn Ardudwy.
Whilst certain rooms are small (dog friendly ones) it matched our requirements.
The rooms albeit dated were cleaned to a high standard.


The staff were very pleasant and a special mention to Kiva who managed the dining room so well, when no doubt under staffed.


The food was particularly good and they ought to jar and sell their homemade marmalade.. delicious.


Would we return again... Of course..... a little gem in an ideal location.



Thank you for all.

Ty & Sue

Room Tip: Arrive early to secure parking
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sueandty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Our room sizes vary and our dog-friendly ones are either small doubles or large family rooms so we hope there is a room to suit everyone’s needs. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food – and yes, our homemade marmalade is certainly very special, as are our breakfasts. “A little gem in an ideal location” sums us up exactly! We look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

This review is for the food at this hotel and not the hotel itself as we didn’t stay here!
We were staying Porthmadog on holiday and were looking for a nice place to enjoy Sunday lunch. We looked at the menu for Gelert’s bar within this hotel and it was just what we were looking for. The staff on reception were very friendly and welcoming and we could choose to eat in the dog friendly bar or the hotel restaurant. We were very happy that we chose the restaurant as the staff who waited on us were fantastic. We had the Soy Sticky ribs for a starter which were so tasty and then we tried the roast lamb and roast beef dinners. Both meals came with huge crispy Yorkshire puddings and beautifully cooked vegetables. It was £10.95 for a main course only or £15.95 to include the starter. It was excellent value for the standard of food we had and were very impressed with the chef and also the staff that looked after us. The wine menu is also extensive and I can recommend the Merlot. The bar food also looked good. We will definitely be eating here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank NuttyNicola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your meals and found our staff to be fantastic. Our Sunday Roast Lunch is very popular, not only because it is such good value, but because we prepare each meal to order to ensure everything is hot and fresh – as we do with our daily menu. We look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next visiting Porthmadog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

All fine with hotel - second visit. Just wanted yo say a BIG THANKYOU to Huw the handiman who undid my walking pole when it got stuck and even sprayed it with silicone so that it wouldn't stick again. Thanks Huw. You were my hero

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonT327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

It’s always nice to accommodate returning guests and we will welcome you back anytime. We will pass on your “big thankyou” to Huw, who will be delighted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Stayed at The Royal Sportsman for a 2 day break and reading some of the negative comments people have made I really do wonder what people want. The Hotel does not pretend to be a five star pus establishment. It is a perfectly decent 3 star hotel in an old coaching in located in rural North Wales. Our room was clean and comfortable and all the staff were very friendly. We only ate breakfast in the dining room but this was superb. The Bar was frequented by both Hotel Guests and Locals and provided a good atmosphere with drinks priced at what we would expect. The Hotel can perhaps be described as being a little quirky in places but this is down to the age of the building and the limitations of what can be done with it. Overall a very enjoyable stay and We will be back if visiting the area again in the future

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. You obviously understand and appreciate all that we offer in our 3 star hotel, including the building’s quirkiness. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning a trip to Snowdonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Ok this is not 5 star accommodation but you get what you pay for. Clean. Good food and good location for exploring. What makes it special is the staff. They went out of their way to help my wife who had recently undergone foot surgery. Special mention for Lorna doon hughie dooey and dizzy Lizzy. I'm sure you don't mind my descriptions. We loved every minute of our stay Won't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed every minute of your stay. You have summed up exactly what we aim to achieve here. I will pass your thanks on to our housekeeping team who will love their new nicknames! We look forward to welcoming you back when you next plan a trip to Snowdonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews