We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's still a little bit of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ahopefult...
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's still a little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We last stayed here over 30 years ago and were delighted to find that this cottage is back on the holiday rental market. This little cottage has been thoughtfully restored and is comfortable and cosy. However, it is the surroundings that make the stay exceptional. If you want to experience absolute peace, starry night skies and days walking or just sitting around reading, then this is the place. The owners have gone to a lot of trouble making sure their guests' needs are met. What bliss it was to spend a week away from the madding crowd. thankyou and we will be back again - but a lot sooner! Lots to see in the surrounding area, Coastal walks, a world class restaurant in Kilberry, and peace, perfect peace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing the Milky Way
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about this property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weedom
Balloch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The ideal cottage to wind down”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent the last week in September in this fantastic cottage. If you want somewhere to wind down and want to relax. Somewhere to enjoy the quiet beauty of the West of Scotland and its wild life, this is the place to stay. Previous reviews sum up everything that makes a stay in Cnocachanach Cottage a wonderful holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet solitude with the murmuring of the Ferry heading to and fro Islay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect relaxing holiday get - a way!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We’ve just come back from a week’s holiday at Cnocachanach Cottage. It was a fantastic holiday to unwind and enjoy a beautiful part of the UK.

The cottage is quite remote but the views are to die for. It’s situated along a single track road, and It was very rare to see cars go down it. The cottage itself is quaint and was well equipped (even down to a brolley, this was very much needed during the start of the holiday). There is nothing I can fault!

If you want a quiet, scenic and tech free holiday, then look no further!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How quiet and peaceful it was
Liked least: The firm mattress (but that's just preference)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip b
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true haven. Cnocachanach Cottage is the cure to the city blues!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We sent two weeks in this fabulous cottage and savored every moment of it. The location of Cnocachanach Cottage already ticked most of the boxes for us as we were seeking a quiet moment away from the London hustle and bustle. I don't think I've ever enjoyed silence so much! Surrounded by nature we enjoyed long walks in the amazing and very varied countryside that this part of Scotland offers.

The cottage itself was adequately spacious, very comfortable and well equipped offering us everything we could think of. The only thing is there is very poor phone reception there, but that can be seen as a plus or a negative point depending on what you're after!

We were received very well by Bob the owner who took a lot of care to make sure we were welcomed and had everything we needed before leaving us to enjoy the peace of his great cottage. I thoroughly recommend Cnocachanach Cottage, especially if you're after peace, quiet and nature. Being woken up by sheep bleeting is as noisey as it will get!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesie40
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A real getaway-from-it-all stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Bit nervous about being "isolated" as a bit of a townie but enjoyed every minute of our weel long break. The cottage has been recently renovated and the owner has done a great job it is cosy, comfortable and has just about everything you need for a relaxing stay. We were very lucky that the weather was warm & sunny but it didn't stop us cosying down in the evening with a log fire, one of the must haves on our rental list. The film collection is extensive and I did manage to see a couple I missed first time around but we also took some home made DVD's. Wifi worked perfectly. We appreciated being able to sit outside to enjoy a glass of wine and a chat with the regular dog walkers who lived nearby. Slept like a log every night in the comfortable bed. Borrowed the picnic set everyday so we could eat al fresco where ever we went. Highlights - saw an eagle on the very first day, great local walks although I still can't get used to walking through peoples gardens under the right to roam arrangement, the seals having fun off the cost at Carradale, the stars in sky at night - so rare to not suffer from light pollution and dinner at the Kilberry Inn. I would highly recommend a stay at this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: The colour of the water, which is from a private supply & perfectly safe but the colour is very off putting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing