We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
113
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitswhite horsebeautiful villageenglish countrysidecome homethought of everythingfruit saladcooked breakfast was deliciousgreat hostsdowns viewlovely roomwithout being intrusiveeach morninghome away from homeperfect stayliving roomlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

It took almost 29 years, but we finally made it to England for our honeymoon. After five days in busy London, it was a wonderful transition to the beautiful, peaceful Surrey hills and Rookery Nook. Absolutely charming, it overlooks the center of Shere. From the window of our lovely, high-ceilinged room (built in 1485) we could see delightful shops, stores, The White Horse pub (featured in "The Holiday"), and St. James Church, all looking like a movie set of a traditional English village. Spotless and cozy, Rookery Nook did not disappoint in its lounging areas or in its high-quality bedding and linens in our room. Coffee, tea, and cookies were waiting for us. The modern bathroom was right across the hall. Chris and Jill were the perfect hosts, so friendly and accommodating--helping us with a map and directions to the gorgeous old Saxon Church of St. Peter and St. Paul (featured in "Three Weddings and a Funeral") on the Albury Estate and even lending us wellies in which to make the trek! The recommendation to stop at the William IV for a pint afterward was very worth it to see an authentic, old English pub. From Rookery Nook it was a short walk to the excellent Kinghams Restaurant as well as The William Bray. Breakfast was superb—a full English with fresh fruit salad, yogurt, granola, and more. One of the best things about Rookery Nook was meeting Chris and Jill, who made us feel so welcome and at home. Chris’ photos are wonderful, and one of Jill’s beautiful paintings (purchased at &hobbs, just down the street) came home with us, as well as a handmade coat from Mad Jak (recommended by Jill). We were sad to leave them and Rookery Nook, but we will be back and will bring more champagne!
XOXO,
John and Christy

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NickAnd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c, Owner at Rookery Nook B&B Shere, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear John and Christy
Thank you both so much for our fantastic review and for choosing Rookery Nook for your belated English honeymoon.We loved having you to stay and those wellies are waiting for your next trip over! Shere is COLD and WET this weekend - typical Easter holiday weather but I'm sure things will warm up in the next week or so. Time to get the spuds in the allotment! Next time you come, we'll have dinner together.
Woofs to Nick and Emma!
Love
Chris and Jillie xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time staying for two nights at Rookery Nook (it was perfect for our mini honeymoon as we were recently married). The house is beautiful and cosy - we had the Downs view room which had lovely views over the square too! We loved people watching from there and taking in all the pretty buildings and the church. Our room was perfectly decorated and the bed was so comfortable! Jill's little touch of handmade biscuits was lovely and they were delicious! There was also an unusual selection of tea and coffee!! I (Izzy) need to track down where to get your amazing Taylor's fruit teas! There were lovely little touches in the room - a big glass water bottle that was changed each day, a Vogue and house magazines to read, playing cards.. the bathroom too was cute and we were able to have nice hot baths. The breakfast was absolutely scrumptious both days - Jill will adapt the cooked breakfast to whatever you would like. There was also a delicious fresh fruit salad. All in all we had the most perfect stay. It was raining on our second day and we were able to warm ourselves by the fire in the living room - a lovely extra. We would highly recommend the village pubs and Jill & Chris's special Saxon church walk. The scenery surrounding the B&B is beautiful and you can visit scenes from the film The Holiday. Very romantic! Two lovely, warm hosts who were very interesting to chat to and more than hospitable. We highly recommend Rookery Nook and hope to be back soon!! Thank you so much again for a delightful and memorable stay. Best wishes, Izzy & Matt.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IzzyS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c, Owner at Rookery Nook B&B Shere, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Izzy and Matt
Thank you for your beautifully written review. We loved having you to stay and so pleased that you managed to make the most of it despite the not so brilliant weather! We can't wait for your return visit.
Best regards
Chris and Jillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I arranged this overnight stay for myself and my partner. We are keen fans of ‘The Holiday’ and wanted to see where it was filmed. We are so grateful to have found the Rookery Nook in the centre of Shere.
Chris and Jill were brilliant hosts. Friendly, chatty, more than happy to accommodate a vegetarian guest, and ready to share their recommendations with us from where to eat, to country walks, to anything else we could ask for really!
It was wonderful to stay in their 15th Century house. The décor is quaint, charming and very much in keeping with the feel of the village itself.
We would certainly recommend the Rookery Nook to anyone wanting to visit Shere whether you're movie buffs like us, enjoy exploring the English countryside, or just want a quiet getaway. Thanks again Chris and Jill!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jva721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c, Owner at Rookery Nook B&B Shere, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Brilliant review! Thanks so much and come and stay for two nights next time! Good luck with your music careers - we will be following you and the Dirty Perks very closely.

Chris and Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

What a great start to the New Year! Rookery Nook is a wonderful B & B situated in the heart of Shere, overlooking the main square. The perfect location for a country retreat, we couldn't of wished for more. The Hosts Chris and Jill were such lovely people, that by the end of the weekend they felt like friends. They helped us plan our day and gave excellent advise on where to dine and places of interest. The breakfast each morning was delicious, with a great choice on offer, washed down with a fresh cafetiere of coffee. The cottage had so much charm and character and after a long day exploring the beautiful countryside it was lovely to come home to a roaring fire and perfectly cleaned room everyday. A fresh jug of milk was supplied to our room each morning to make our early morning tea and homemade biscuits were replenished each day. We will be highly recommending Rookery Nook to all our friends and family and If you are planning a trip to Shere and you want a perfect cottage retreat, this is definitely where you should stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGolder1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c, Owner at Rookery Nook B&B Shere, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear J&L
You were our first guests for 2018, and thank you for choosing Rookery Nook. You were the perfect guests to kick off our new B&B year and we hope you come back soon. You certainly made the most of what the village had to offer and gave us some valuable feedback on all the local eating places in the village. Next time I'm in your neck of the woods I'll definitely pop in for that haircut!
See you again and best wishes from Me and Her

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

What a wonderful place, immaculate inside throughout, full of character. The hosts, Chris and Jill were such lovely people and so attentive. They were genuinely interested in talking to us and hearing about our plans etc whilst down in Shere. Location wise the B&B is in the middle of Shere right next to the two wonderful pubs, The Whitehorse (Where some of the Holiday was filmed), and The William Bray. The rooms were stunning and the food for breakfast was fantastic. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. We plan to return next year once again. We love Shere and we adored Rookery Nook B&B.

Room Tip: The room with the view of the Square and the Church is fantastic
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joannahand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris c, Owner at Rookery Nook B&B Shere, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Wow, Jo and Sheila, what a wonderful review. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully in Spring or Summer when you'll experience a different feel to Shere. You were brilliant guests.
Chris and Jillie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews