We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely escape!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cringley Cottage

Cringley Cottage - Cosy Dales Character Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cringley Cottage - Cosy Dales Character Cottage
Open Plan Living Room with traditional Stone Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cringley Cottage - Cosy Dales Character Cottage
Open Plan Living Room with traditional Stone Floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebeca L
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely escape!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We visited Cringley cottage for a long weekend in November...and what a fab weekend it was! The cottage is so homely and has everything you need to escape the world for a few days. It is very comfortable, lots of space, cosy fire and lovely bedroom. There is the added touch of books, dvds and lots of suggested local walks....and some local produce waiting for you on arrival. We felt completely relaxed here and have already booked to go again this year for a similar escape weekend. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeleine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing home from home cottage”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Great location a short walk from the local amenities yet set in a quiet country street just off the main village centre. The owners have put all you need for a great country break from slippers to a welcome pack and fuel to get the log fire roaring in winter. The cottage was spotless inside and you can tell they have restored it lovingly thinking of future guests every step of the way. The information on walks and the area in the cottage were a great help too to help us navigate and get the best from the area. It had loads of books, DVD's and games for all ages. The pubs are filled with friendly locals ready to give you help and advice. The best place to eat we found was the White Rose Hotel the food was Amazing!! we would recommend trying the chicken stuffed with haggis and the pheasant with a raspberry mousse. The prices are really reasonable and well having eaten there once we ended up eating there each night it was just so good. The village is a quaint typical Dales village perfect as a base for walking or exploring or as we wanted to having a relax and chill out in front of the roaring log fire. We would highly recommend this cottage if you are looking for a Dales cottage you would be mad to over look this one!!. Thank you Deborah for everything and we are already planning dates for a return visit we loved it so much!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyVer...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute cottage in Askrigg delivers authentic Yorkshire Dales experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Staying at Cringley Cottage delivers more than independent accommodation in the Dales. It gives the visitor a real sense of connection with the village and surrounding Yorkshire countryside. The little lane off the main street has its own history, Silver Street after the mining, and leads into the fields with a footpath to another hamlet and then the beautiful Ayrsgarth Falls which J W Turner sketched and later painted. The helpful host Deborah can recommend a highly recommended catering service for guests like us who prefer to eat dinner at home but not self cater.
This is an authentic Wensleydale experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, I'm so pleased you both enjoyed your stay. It was great to meet you and I hope to see you again when you next visit the UK. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMC1960
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, the cottage has everything anyone could want to enhance a short break from home, I can't think of a single thing that was not provided and we were very comfortable. There walks in every directions from the front door resulted in us driving around the area less than anticipated and saw some stunning countryside. Askrigg village has 3 good pubs and a terrific bakery / tea rooms providing lovely fresh products. Another shop a few doors down stocks every other item including milk, papers and fruit and veg etc meaning we had no need to go shopping for our food requirements for our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the cottage and its many amenities
Liked least: No negative experiences
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philcope
preston
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage in a lovely village.”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Very nicely renovated cottage in the lovely village of Askrigg,
Spacious & comfortable cottage with all modern appliances.
The village is very friendly with three great pubs all with open fires, good food & excellent Real Ale,
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in the heart of the village
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing