We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location, perfect accommodation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Mill 1

Living/dining room with a log-burner for cosy evenings after a day exploring the Dales
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dining room with a log-burner for cosy evenings after a day exploring the Dales
Dining table comfortably seats up to four people Stairs leading to first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Living/dining room with a log-burner for cosy evenings after a day exploring the Dales
Dining table comfortably seats up to four people
Stairs leading to first floor
Newly refurbished kitchen with underfloor heating
Twin bedroom with built-in wardrobes
Adjoining bathroom with bath and overhead shower
Bespoke pine doors add character throughout the cottage
Double bedroom with brand very comfortable pine bed and mattress
Dormer window has fabulous views across Wensleydale towards Addleborough
Dormer window with fabulous views across Wensleydale towards Addleborough
En-suite shower room
Rear door leads to the patio garden
Secluded patio garden where you can breakfast in the morning sun
Front entrance
Off-road parking for one car (too the right)
Beautiful artefacts by local artists
Beautiful Mill Gill waterfall just 30 minutes walk away
Walk along the River Ure
Steppings stones across the River Ure in Winter
View of Askrigg, arguably the prettiest village in Wensleydale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maidmas
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideal location, perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend with other family members staying next door in Old Mill 2. Lovely cottage, equipped with everything you could need - and more! Comfortable, spotlessly clean and in a great location, just a few steps from shop, church and pubs. Small enclosed courtyard with outdoor furniture. Good walks straight from the door and footpath up the lane , great to take the dog out in the morning. Parking can be a bit tight if you have a large car,but always spaces by the Church. Great to hire on its own, or together with Old Mill 2. No hesitation in recommending.

PS: Had to delete my previous review and re-submit as I had mistakenly clicked on the 'wouldn't recommend to friends' button and I was unable to edit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. WE agree there are some lovely walks from the door step and the village amenities are excellent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnos133...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Askrigg is a beautiful Yorkshire village in the Dales. Old Mill 1 was the perfect countryside cottage to stay in as its decore is traditonally British and brilliantly equipped with everything needed for comfortable stay. The beds are comfy and living area really cosy with log burner, tv/dvd plus books and board games. The kitchen had all the utensils and cooking items necessary for cooking our own meals along with plenty of glassware and crockery. The cottage has a lovely courtyard with table setting and a bbq. Bathrooms are modern and fresh. The cottage was absolutely spotless and immaculately clean. It was lovely to be able to take our dog with us on holiday as the cottage is dog friendly. Askrigg has 3 pubs which all serve very good food and there is a lovely bakery/cake shop called Humble Pie serving the best cakes and treats! A small village shop sells the basics and my favourite was the Ramsey's Fish n Chip van that comes into the village every Wednesday at 6pm! Great Cod, Haddock and the usual trimmings.

The Yorkshire Dales are perfect for hiking, stunning scenery, waterfalls, villages and pubs and lots of sheep!

Thank you to the owners of Old Mill 1 for such a lovely place to stay and we would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
So glad that you had a lovely holiday in the stunning Yorkshire Dales. We agree that Old Mill 1 is a home away from home and we endeavour to keep it well equipped and maintained so that guests have everything they need.

Many thanks for such a lovely review and we would love to welcome you back, should you choose to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonf...
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful cosy retreat”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This cottage is absolutely lovely. We had a fabulous 5 days here over the new year and the four of us just loved it. We felt comfy and at home the moment we stepped inside, then once we had lit the log burner it transformed it into a beautiful cosy retreat.

The living room is very spacious, the four of us never felt under each others feet. The kitchen is spotless with new oven and all new pans and crockery and plenty of room for a couple of you to work together to prepare a meal - underfloor heating lovely in the morning with stocking feet!

The bedrooms are great. Very comfy beds with good shower/bathrooms, again very spacious (the beam in the double room is a little low on one side of the bed so you have to be a bit careful if getting up in the night for the loo but hubby managed it fine, even after a few pints of local ale!

The owner pops down to say hello on arrival and lets you know were they are if you have problems (we didnt) which is very nice.

The weather was rubbish over our break but it gave us an excuse to just stay around the village and the cottage - log fire, games, dvds, pub lunches - fantastic.

Askrigg is such a pretty village. We went to the Kings Arms for lunch on our first day and all had fish and chips - it was so good we went back on our last day and had again - just as good the second time. A lovely pub with log fires.

We have stayed in Rural Retreats cottages for the past 4 years but was getting fed up of the high prices and the standards dropping a little. This made me look around for something new and I am so glad I did. All the same standards but a more reasonable price.

Excellent stay, would certainly recommend and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, it is greatly appreciated. We certainly agree that Askrigg is a very pretty village. The fact that it has three good pubs all serving good food and ales is a real bonus. It was a shame that the weather was so awful for you as it is even prettier when the sun shines. Hopefully if you do return the sun will shine for a few days at least!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry P
1 review
“Great Holiday Cottage in Stunning Countryside”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were impressed by the quality, comfort and cleanliness of everything the cottage. The value for money and its handy spot a few moments from the high street and pubs in the middle of Askrigg.

I would recommend everyone to stay here, as it has everything one wants; also as the manager woman, who lives at the end of the same cul-de-sac, was friendly and was willing to help with any issues


Details of the property:-

Easy to find and get into, as a key was in box outside front door and manager had told me the code.

Reliable Wi-Fi connection throughout.


Downstairs:-

The cottage has a kitchen with all necessary kit, inc' big fridge + freezer, elec. hob. It's easily big enough for 2 to cook in at once.

Square, big enough entrance hall is big enough for 2-3 people to remove their shoes at once.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Full WiFi connection
Liked least: Singular lite not working in the bathroom (Quickly Sorted)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed with the cottage. We agree that the cottage is maintained to an excellent standard by the owners and provides a real home from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark--Hun...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific home in middle of Askrigg; only drawback is tricky parking”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed recently at this marvellously comfy, well-appointed and pleasingly surprisingly spacious, old stone cottage - 2x double bedrooms.

I was highly impressed by the quality and comfort of everything, the value for money and its handy spot a few moments from the high street and pubs in the middle of Askrigg.

I would recommend everyone to stay here, as it has everything one wants; also as the manager woman, who lives at the end of the same cul-de-sac, was friendly and called by twice to check whether everything was fine.


Details of the property:-

Easy to find and get into, as a key was in box outside front door and manager had told me the code.

Reliable Wi-Fi connection throughout.


Downstairs:-

The cottage has a kitchen with all necessary kit, inc' big fridge + freezer, elec. hob. It's easily big enough for 2 to cook in at once.

Square, big enough entrance hall is big enough for 2-3 people to remove muddy boots, after walking on hills, and lots of coat hooks, a box for walking sticks and several shelved-cabinet to store boots.

This goes into a very cosy, big, comfy lounge - much bigger than expected from small-ish front of cottage.

The lounge has a really lovely, plush, homely feel - thanks to deep carpets, 2x 2 seater sofas, nice old furniture + pictures, + esp'y thanks to the very effective wood burner, (logs available in back yard 24/7 for only a few quid).

TV on wall is good, although its on-screen channel guide and prog' info' are very small - far too small to read from the sofas, unless you have perfect vision, I'd expect.

That was annoying and I had to move closer to read it often. So, I strongly recommend installing a bigger TV and better on-screen info's.

Lots of natural light thru 2 big windows in each outside corner.

Decent round dining table in corner, big enough for 3 people, maybe 4.

Some interesting books on Dales life + an excellent folder full of local maps + info + stories + guides.


Upstairs:-

Staircase goes up from lounge and the cottage seems to get even much more surprisingly spacious - as there's a decent landing and doors on BOTH sides.

As there is a very cosy, also big double bedroom on left above lounge, with lots of built-in wardrobes + chest of drawers, + 2 bed-side tables. This has big, low windows, looking up the lane and onto other cottages; you can also just about see the hills above Askrigg.

Plus on the right: a big family bathroom - with proper bath and shower + glass shower-screen and sky-light - so you can almost see the stars from the bath!

Next to this, also off the landing to the right, is another double bedroom - big, too, but much more rectangular. So, there's a big space inside the door w/ chest of drawers, tall mirror, + window with beautiful far, wide views of the Wensleydale hills.

The double bed is at the far end of this 2nd bedroom, under the eaves. The best surprise of this Tardis is an en-suite shower + toilet off this 2nd bedroom!

(Well, not a surprise to you readers now, but, still very handy - as its sky-light).

How are these bathrooms and 2nd double bedroom fitted into what was a small cottage originally? As they are built very usefully over the two car-ports for this and next door cottage.


Car port:-

This car-port parking is the only hassle of this cottage, as it is via a right-angle off the narrow and twisting lane.

One can drive into it, but if misjudged even a bit, could scrape car along the stone walls.

It's not impossible and with a lot of adjusting, one can get in and out. So, the parking is only really a minor drawback; esp'y as it's much easier and fine to park in the high street's many spaces around the church and lanes, if one can't manage the car port.


Conclusion:-

Overall this cottage is 9/10, as it's as excellent as any can be and nothing can be perfect.

It also has a decent, small-ish, rear courtyard to sit in the sunshine; but no lawn or garden, if you want that.


Location:-

You can walk to Askrigg's 3 pubs in a minute, and a local fish & chip van served me some terrifically delicious dinner at a very good price on one evening, too.

Askrigg Kitchen - café and make super ready meals to cook at home, is just around the corner and a tremendous place to indulge in huge breakfasts, with friendly women and local artists for sale.

So, if you want to stay in or near Askrigg in your own home, this is the best choice I've found in upper end of Wensleydale - and it's much cosier, better V.F.M. than many local B&Bs and hotels.

Very well done and I hope to stay with you again in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing