We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stonecrop

Front view from roadside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view from roadside
Patio and back garden area with access to kitchen View towards river from garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Front view from roadside
Patio and back garden area with access to kitchen
View towards river from garden
Rear elevation of Stonecrop
Lambley viaduct and the disused Alston - Haltwhistle railway line
Featherstone bridge
The view from Eals bridge
Rear garden area
The South Tyne at the Eals
Heading down the lane to the river
Stonecrop garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Haltwhistle, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KirstyR80...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven. ”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was or second stay at Stonecrop. Such a lovely and tranquil place to stay. The cottage has everything you could possible need and the setting is stunning. Its a great place if you enjoy walking. We took our 2 dogs with us and by the time we go back home they are shattered.
We have already booked to go back in the summer. Can't wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary M
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A genuine warm and tranquil place to be in the North Pennines.”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Love this cottage and have stayed many times. Each season has something new to offer. In winter it is a warm and snug home from home which is important in the icy North Pennines. There are lovely walks from the doorstep and you return to a draught free,comfortable place to relax. The village is friendly and authentic and in nearby Alston you can stock up on provisions. The Moody Bakers is a favourite for bread and treats. We have recommended the cottage to many of our friends previously and some like us have become regulars. If you enjoy solitude and getting away from it all this is perfect for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Homely feeling
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne R
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, very comfortable, excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a one week holiday at Stonecrop and it is the best place we have stayed at. The cottage is wonderfully furnished and felt very homely. We loved the many history books dotted around the shelves and the classical music CD's in the kitchen. The bedrooms were very comfortable and I did not want to leave! We saw owls, rabbits, partridges (we think), pheasants and bats around the cottage. It was lovely to sit and read in the garden.

The cottage is around 6 miles from Haltwhistle and is ideally situated to explore Hadrian's Wall and Vindolanda. We also went to Alston, Carlisle and Hexham. We have had a super holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful and peaceful surroundings
Liked least: The distance to the nearest shop, but was not really an issue
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandjs7
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved Stonecrop!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Stonecrop for 4 people as a special birthday treat for 2 friends. We wanted something in a beautiful area but within Hadrians Wall country and it certainly covered both wishes. The cottage is about 4 miles from the A69 and the road we took dropped down steeply to the lovely hamlet of Eals. When we arrived and walked round to the back garden we were delighted with the size and perfect view across the field to a lovely tree line and river. Such a perfect spot! Everything within the cottage was comfy, a good sized lounge in keeping with the character of the place, a perfectly equipped kitchen with all mod cons, a good sized bathroom, 2 decent sized double bedrooms and a 'neat' but functional bunk bed room. Although we didn't need the wood burning stove as the weather was very warm, we lit it on the Saturday night when we got back from an early meal and it just added to the character of the place. We walked part of the wall which was magnificent and went to Vindalanda (a must), Haltwhistle, Hexham and Alston. A nice walk from the cottage to the pub is just over a mile (we think, we weren't really taking any notice as it was so lovely) We would love to visit Stonecrop again sometime and perhaps just laze in the garden, rising only to eat and drink al fresco beside the chimenea. Thank you Richard and family for lending us your little piece of heaven for a short time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The back garden
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best times i've had, anywhere in the world !!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were planning a family holiday for the New Year 2013 and started trawling the internet trying to find a cottage in the North, where we could stay with our kids and a couple of their friends.
The owner was very very good at communicating from day one and ultimately, this ownership of the whole booking situation made us want to stay at Stonecrop in the first place.
Stonecrop really is idyllic, miles from anywhere ( which makes it sooo wonderful ) .
Kids were 7 to 16 years old, they absolutely loved staying at Stonecrop... They loved it !! The 16 year olds weren't so happy about not getting any mobile phone signal, but, i was..

As you can read in the other review's, the cottage is spacious and very well equipped.. More logs available than you could burn in 6 winters :)

We walked, talked , got to know each other again, away from everyday life and I even lay in a couple of times.. That's how relaxed this place gets you.

The wonderful news is... the pub is only 1 mile away .. Happy Days if that's what you want. We spent most of the nights in, popped to the pub a couple of times. The food was good there..

Get yourself to this place once in your life, it puts a massive smile on your face.. But, dont forget your milk.. as its a long way back to the shop if you've forgotten anything.

Will be going back again myself , that's for sure..

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing