We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place - beautifully appointed, great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clivel_98
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,002 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - beautifully appointed, great owner”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for a week, with our daughter joining us for the weekend.

Two identical, well fitted bedrooms with very comfy beds. A bathroom with a powerful, hot shower. A good kitchen (with welcome basket of bread, crisps, biscuits and cider and milk and spread in the fridge) and a comfortable sitting area made for an excellent stay.

Steve, the owner, made us very welcome.

Although just off the main road, the house is very quiet, even when sitting out on the deck in the sunshine.

The Boat Inn down the road serves good (large) meals.

If you are there and the skies are clear, do stare up through the velux windows in the bedrooms - you get to see a lot of stars here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Hi Clivel_98, thank for going to the trouble and effort of putting a review on our Coach House TA page, it is much appreciated.

What is more important of course is that you all enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcome - both by me and the basket of goodies!

I have to say that as much as I enjoy eating in our local I have yet to manage both a starter and a pudding; we recommend the pub to our guests but we also recommend they go there hungry....

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissiTa...
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, incredibly comfortable beds.”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My parents invited my fiance and I to join them on a trip to Herefordshire. My mum booked this property and wow, what a place.

Firstly, there's enough room for 3 cars to park in the drive way, which meant our 2 cars had plenty of space. The building itself is really pretty but looks small - how wrong was I!

There's a lovely large foyer with a bench and coat hooks, then the open plan living/kitchen/dining space. The dining table is incredible, it collapses down to a tiny box WITH the chairs inside. The sofa is really comfy and was more than enough space for the 4 of us. The kitchen is also great. The use of the space in this property has been thought out so well.

And then upstairs, you have 2 stunning bedrooms with a shared bathroom between. You can't hear anything from either room once the doors are shut. It was bliss. The mattresses are incredibly comfortable too.

There is a busy 50mph road right behind the property though which you can hear when in the garden, but not in the bedrooms, or at least not enough to bother me and I'm an incredibly light sleeper.

All in all, we had an absolutely fantastic stay and my expectations were blown away.

The pub at the end of the road serves great food too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
What a great review Chrissi, especially as you were only here for the weekend staying with your parents and we never even got the chance to meet you! At the time of writing your parents are still here, I hope they are enjoying their stay as much as you seemed to.

As you alluded to, the building is a bit of a 'tardis', compact on the outside but plenty of room within. When we converted it from its original use as a Coach House we did give a lot of thought to maximising the available space to the full - from what you say it would appear that we did a reasonable job.

Obviously we are delighted you enjoyed your brief stay with us and we hope that you will consider coming back again, we may even get the chance to meet you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
1 review
“Everything you could possibly need in a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Myself, my partner, our teenage son and our two dogs spent 3 nights at Montgomerys Coach house and couldn't have wished for a better weekend. The coach house is very cosy and has been very thoughtfully equipped. The garden is fully enclosed so the dogs could roam as they pleased. The owners Steve and Alison were very welcoming and helpful with advice about the local area. The village has a petrol station with a small shop and a pub (The Boat) 50 yards away. We ate in the garden of The Boat overlooking the beautiful River Wye. The food was great with ample portions (32oz steak!). The local walks were lovely with breathtaking views. We would highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Very many thanks Sally B for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with, found everything to your liking, and made the very most your short holiday. What's not to like about sitting in the pub overlooking the River Wye! We look forward to welcoming you all back before too long. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingerm55
UK
1 review
“Perfect for family and dog!”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a wonderful time at Montgomery’s Coach House - beautiful conversion with everything you need for your stay provided. The house was perfect for my 2-year old nephew with a travel cot and high chair available and extremely dog friendly including a secure area of garden for him to snuffle around in and a jar of dog treats in our welcome pack!

Everything was of a very high standard with plenty of room for our parents (staying in Josie’s Annex) to come and have dinner with us. The broadband was fast and reliable and everyone loved the underfloor heating.

There’s a lot to do in the area – and we enjoyed a couple of excellent meals from the Yakmobile Thai takeaway just over the main road from the cottage.

Alison and Steve were very friendly and helpful – providing a thorough introduction to the cottage and lots of tips on where to visit with a toddler and dog.

We’d barely started our journey home before my nephew started asking when we’re going back to our holiday home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
How kind of you gingerm55 to post such a great review on how you found us. We are really happy that everything was to your satisfaction and that you all, two legged and four, young and perhaps not so young, made the most of your time with us.

I have to say we are lucky to be able to provide 'overflow' accommodation for our Coach House guests, in our self contained B&B annexes, for those times when parents or additional friends just don't want to be left behind at home!

Do come and see us again sometime now you know where you are, we may even bump into you at one of those dog events that we all support. Best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulz58
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home, Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Whitney on Wye is a small village between Leominster and Hay on Wye with views to the Black Mountains and the River Wye. The local pub, farm shop and garage provide most necessities. The property has been superbly renovated and has everything that you could want. The friendly owners made us welcome and provided a lovely welcome pack of local food and cider. Dog friendly but spotlessly clean Stephen and Alison have a property they should be proud of. One of the best, if not the best we have stayed at.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Home from Home, thats what we like to hear Paulz58.

We are flattered you think we are right up there among the best of holiday lets in which you have stayed - thank you. We are of course helped in our quest to be a great place to stay by having access to a good cross section of local 'amenities' and are hardly hindered by the Black Mountains and River Wye virtually on our doorstep!.

Do come back and see us again when you fancy another break away from your own home. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing