We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a lovely part of the country”
other travellers have booked this property
Montgomery's Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Montgomery's Coach House
Welcome Party
Welcome
Dogs love the flagstone floor with under floor heating!
Somewhere to hang your coat after a nice, long walk
Oak and brickwork give character
Lobby leads through to the open plan living area
Living room with underfloor heating and cosy wood burner
Wood Burner for Cosy Days or Nights in. A fire guard is provided
Dining table and chairs for 4 if you choose to eat in. TV has internet connection and BlueRay DVD
Fully Fitted Integrated Kitchen appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer and microwave
Cook in, or eat out pub and cafe less than 5 minutes away, it's your choice!
View to the deck from the kitchen. Guests tell us the window makes a handy serving hatch for BBQs!
Upstairs Downstairs View
Galleried landing with night light
Quality oak doors and furniture compliment original beams
Quality, hypo-allergenic bedding. Choice of super king double beds, or ....
Full-size twins, just ask.
Rooms are styled with care and equipped with TV/DVD players, hair dryers, hot water bottles, etc.
Plenty of storage in both bedrooms for all your things
Kids love the infinity mirror!
Heated towel rail and soft, fluffy towels
Powerful shower and loads of hot water. Toiletries provided.
Outside, original Coach House doors are retained and incorporated into the new design
A gated and fenced driveway with ample parking
Private deck area with seating for four, parasol and BBQ
Deck leads to gated and fenced grass area ideal for dogs
We've had loads of dogs to stay of all breeds. We try to make sure they love their holiday too
A gated, fenced grass area for those essential doggy ablutions. A poo bin is provided
Beautiful Herefordshire countryside
On a good day, you can see 4 counties when out walking nearby
Whitney toll bridge - canoe or kayak under it and stop off at the pub a minute from your front door
Rural relaxation
Hay Bluff, the Black Mountains, Brecon Beacons - all close by and so much more too
The Coach House is an ideal base for visiting the annual Hay Festival
Markets and festivals happen in Hay all year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitney-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan T
Llandegfan, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a lovely part of the country”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage has recently been renovated to a high standard,even though it was cold outside,inside the cottage was warm thanks to underfloor heating and logburner.Comfortable beds and friendly owners.Hope to return soon to this interesting part of the country.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Very many thanks Alan T & Gang! We are obviously glad you enjoyed your time with us, this is indeed a great part of the country and there is plenty to see and do at any time of the year. We look forward to welcoming you all back and also hearing how your son is getting on. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdbonner
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and Cosy”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Spent a Lovely Weekend all Warm and Cosy hiding from all the Rain and Wind.
Loved the Underfloor Heating, Log Burner and Big Comfy Beds.
Amazing Food Goodie Pack when we arrived.
Farm Shop at the end of the Road with a lovely selection.
Would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Burning Fire
Liked least: Nooooooo Mobile Phone Signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
The weather during your visit was indeed a little lively I seem to remember, thankfully the combination of the various forms of heat and comfort you mention above seems to have seen that off!
Now you know where we are and what to expect please do come back when you can - you would all be welcome anytime.
Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen O
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lovely cottage for "getting away from it all". Dog friendly, toddler friendly and adult friendly! Everything just looked brand new, owners have done a fabulous job in the renovations and are also very welcoming. The welcome pack was most welcome! The night skies were mesmerising through the skylights, I don't think I've ever seen so many stars!
A perfect base for exploring. With a good local dog friendly pub at the end of the road.
I've already recommended this cottage to several family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in front of the fire.
Liked least: Being nervous about a muddy dog :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Hello Helen O! That was quick off the mark, you have only just left and your review popped up!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and grateful that you thought enough of our Coach House to recommend us to your family and friends - thank you. Please let them know that the friendly welcome we can do and the friendly pub is an added bonus, but don't forget the disclaimer: 'Mesmerising stars' may or may not be available during your visit! Joking aside, we hope to see you, and your family and friends, at some time in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_01...
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Coach House was extremely comfortable, and Steve and Alison were very welcoming - I couldn't fault anything about my visit. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower was a delight.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Short and sweet Alison, if I can respond in kind; very many thanks and we would love to see you again! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevan M
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Impeccable hospitality and delightful cottage.”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Coach House has been painstakingly restored and converted into a contemporary and cosy cottage that provided a delightful four-night stay for me and my family. The accommodation is very well appointed, and presented in as-new condition (you could easily assume you were the first to stay there). Steve is a warm and generous host, and everything one could want was anticipated and provided, including unexpected touches like a Christmas tree and decorations (even though we were not staying for Christmas). Nothing to fault. Very highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Very many thanks Kevan M for your kind review and good to see that you all made it back to California safe and sound! We are of course more than pleased that you were happy with things and that in Montgomery's Coach House you found everything to your liking and everything that you needed. The least we could do was put up a Christmas Tree even if, unfortunately, you left just before the big day - glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again the next time you are on this side of the 'Pond". Very best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing