We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage and great views”
other traveller has booked this property
Gunpowder Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gunpowder Cottage
3 bedroom Waterside Townhouse With uninterrupted harbour views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Gunpowder Cottage
3 bedroom Waterside Townhouse
With uninterrupted harbour views
5ft superior quality kingsize beds
Beds can split to create 2 singles
2 bedrooms with en suites
All linen and towels provided
Tastefully furnished throughout
1st floor lounge with balcony overlooking the water
With large comfortable corner sofa bed
Ground floor cloakroom off the entrance hallway
Large open plan lounge dining area
Leading into modern open plan kitchen
With all essential mod cons
Plenty of outside seating
To sit and watch the boats go by
Peaceful harbourside location
Can be rented with its adjoining property 'Powderkeg Cottage'
Sat right on the harbour foreshore
Formally an old explosives store within the historic Priddy's Yard
Sunrise from the promenade along from the property
Daytime view over to Portsdown Hill
Early evening views towards the Naval Dockyard
Portsmouth and The Spinnaker Tower in the distance
Well behaved 4 legged friends welcome
Close to nearby marinas
3 local family beaches
5 minutes drive from The Alver Valley Country Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gosport, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LindsayMN...
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and great views”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful holiday and the cottage was lovely and the views beautiful. The cottage was very well equipped, we didn't come across anything we required that wasn't there. The downstairs living area was great and very well used. The only thing we found a little difficult was having no bath, that would have been useful as we had children there (that said it didn't stop us booking!) Thank you for all your help. The process was great all the way through. Very prompt responses to emails and very helpful. We would definitely book with you again in the future. Many thanks, Lindsay Aug 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Downstairs living area
Liked least: No bath for children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gunner2
family bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thin walls”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this rental for location. We were going to Spitbank Fort.
We were met in a timely friendly fashion by the housekeeper and all was well.
However, the walls between cottages are paper thin and we have been woken every morning between 6-7 a.m. by the children next door running up and down and screaming.
Not ideal for what was supposed to be a relaxing break ! You can hear every word through the walls.
If I were the owner I would supply bath sheets not small towels.
The bathrooms are wardrobe size. We will manage for the week but not ideal.
On a more positive note the view is lovely and the furnishings OK although the beds are not hugely comfortable.
For your reference they are all singles pushed together.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
On reading this feedback we were a little disappointed at some of the comments raised and feel generally that they are a little harsh. The property was converted in 2004 and had to comply with all the relevant soundproofing tests to meet current regulations and we have never had any other negative comments about noise and can only assume that the guest’s children staying next door must have been exceptionally noisy and something we hope will not happen again. We take all feedback very seriously and have since upgraded all towels and bedding, albeit feedback before and after by other guests has stated the beds were found to be very comfortable so again I feel the comments made were harsh and are subjective. We all know regarding beds that one persons 'too soft' is another person’s 'too hard' but we believe by gauging other feedback that we have it about right but will always try to improve where possible and thank guests for their comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally S
1 review
“Lovely location and lots to do”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Brilliant to be able to look out across the harbour and watch the comings & goings of the various crafts. Historic docks easily accessable and plenty of other places and things to do.
Cottage clean, comfortable and well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fab spot”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The instructions on how to get there were great and we arrived and were met in a timely fashion. The location was a lovely spot and easy access for the water bus and museums. The garden was very safe and secure ideal for a toddler and it meant we could enjoy the weather as well as the view. Bedrooms were very nice with clean sheets and comfy beds. There was a good amount of room although having both bathrooms as en suites meant that we had to be quite tolerant of each other. The kitchen was well equipped although it might have been nice to leave a few dishwasher tablets or warn us to bring some from home. But all in all we had a great time and it was the perfect option for us with a small child for a family wedding. - Stotesbury, May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
(Dishwasher tablets are now provided)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing