We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This house was a great place to stay because it...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Gosport, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Garrine S
The Villages, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“This house was a great place to stay because it so convenient to get to Portsmouth.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We thought Cambrian House was a lovely, comfortable and well stocked home. So nice for you to have thought of everything (Toilet roll, Serviettes and ketchup). The property was very nice and clean, so fun for the kids, they loved loved the trampoline. We love Gosport and Portsmouth, so easy to get to the ferry (had such great service from Hardway Cabs, Lovely people!). We walked to the Explosion Museum and took the Waterbus to the historic dockyards, The Jolly Rodger was a very friendly yummy pub with a lovely walk and views. The Submarine Museum was excellent, we also went to Lee On The Solent and had a love walk and breakfast at The Penguin Café. Completes Staff were prompt and very helpful, had a friendly chat with Laura before checking in, the housekeeper that met us there on the day was very lovely and helpful, Ken was great and it was nice to chat with Laura the day before we left. Many thanks, Sydow - August 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auty62
Fermoy, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, well equipped house - with very helpful housekeeper”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was overall really good and gave a wonderful place for our daughter to celebrate her hen weekend and for her and her bridesmaids to prepare from and leave for her wedding. Laura our house keeper was very friendly and went out of her way to be helpful, which was very much appreciated. The house was very well and thoughtfully equipped, with plenty of room. We really loved the layout and decoration of the house which added to our enjoyment. The driveways meant that parking was never a problem, although we always found parking available on the road (except for the last week when the road was closed for repairs - good job that wasn't on the day of the wedding or that would have been a real problem!!) Overall, we had a lovely stay, thank you !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House had character and was well presented, Lots of space
Liked least: one of the showers tended to go hot and cold
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I agree with Margaret, that Cambrian House was lovely and we all really enjoyed our stay. However, I feel I should add that as a previous guest had noted, there were quite a few bulbs not working as well as the outdoor light. This meant that we were unable to sit outside in the evening, the main lights in the conservatory were also not working so we had to used the main hall light and the 2 small table lamps in the conservatory making it very difficult to read at night. The garden needed attention as brambles had started growing up through the gravel on the patio and the shrubbery was becoming overgrown. Nothing major but as this property is expensive and listed as 4* a little more attention to detail would have been appreciated.
My only other point would be that I feel the £250 for the hire of the hot tub was excessive, when queried we were told it was to cover the cost of cleaning and maintenance. Also £25 for the hire of the gas bbq plus £25 for cleaning is again rather expensive given the price of the accommodation.
Apart from these small points I have to say our stay was lovely, the accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and space
Liked least: The untidy garden and expensive charges for extras
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind feedback and being summer we were not aware that the outside lamp within the garden was not working as this is on a 'dusk to dawn' sensor, so would only come on late into the evening once it got dark, when we were not there. Thank you again for pointing this out and this has now been corrected. That said we should have noticed if other bulbs were out and we now check these during the day to make sure. We would obviously notice this easily in winter but we are now making more of an effort in summer. The garden is an ongoing project and our gardener is trying to make the outside areas more 'letting friendly' because in summer he can only get in for short periods between guests, so this winter he has cut back more severely in a bid to keep on top of it more easily. With regards to the hot tubs we have now negotiated a discounted rate with a local hot tub hire company at £195 which we feel is better for those whom do wish to hire a hot tub in for the their stay and the BBQ charge is only if guests do not wish to clean the BBQ after their use. We do understand this is a messy job that no one wants to do and if quests wish to leave this to us then our cleaners are prepared to do it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret7...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Holiday House.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have returned from a fantastic few days at Cambrian House. It was so thoughtful of you to leave us a welcome pack.
It is a beautiful house, extremely clean and well equipped.
We found the area very quiet and friendly and the drivers were very courteous.
All together a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and able to find a quiet corner if you need to study or just read your favourite book. Lovely.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevemca2...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely well appointed house, but could use another bathroom”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We did appreciate being welcomed and shown around the house, also the welcome tray of goodies was very nice, the house was spotlessly clean, and everything worked, apart from a few bulbs. heating and hot water supplies were fine, we never had to change the controls. There was plenty of parking for 4 (narrow) cars and plenty of towels and bed linen for everyone. the snooker/table tennis table was much used and appreciated by our younger family members, as was the Wii. Only downside was having only two bathrooms, but then we were a very large party. - McArragher - May 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing