We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”
Review of A slice of lyme

A slice of lyme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 26 July 2015

One for my favourite restaurants. Always busy, but worth waiting for a table. Great menu with daily specials, some of which are quite unusual (often with a south African twist). Great for a coffee/tea and a cake, or for a meal. Staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. It has a lot of regulars. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bangel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2015

Finding a restaurant that is not a chain and prepares lovely fish ( not deep fried in batter) is not easy. This restaurant fits the bill with its selection of local seafood nicely presented.
Excellent River Exe mussels with fries and a very good sea bream with new potatoes.
The only down side was a side dish with five poorly prepared vegetables. This did no favors to the meal. One or two vegetables made with tender loving care would have been preferable. This by no means would stop us from returning to the restaurant, but we hope the boss will take heed of our remarks on the 'veg front

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 201bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Our first visit and will certainly come again. we choose the fish menu. The local plaice and mussels recommended.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank MikePexRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

A basic cafe but nice homemade food. Friendly - good location. Basic but nicely done and clean and popular with locals. Not fancy.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moomintroll_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We had been booked in to this charming small restaurant by friends we were visiting for the weekend. There's an informal "seaside" ambience, and service is great. I had the magnificent sardines and my wife had a delicious veggie pie, all with salad and fries. What could be nicer than a super lunch in genteel Budleigh Salterton on a glorious summer day?

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A slice of lyme also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to A slice of lyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing