We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner”

Sugarri Restaurante
Ranked #9 of 106 Restaurants in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional food, local produce and innovative techniques. This is what defines the Sugarri Restaurant at the Rio Bidasoa Hotel. A welcoming and tranquil place where we achieve the perfect combination of exceptional and innovative food. Sugarri has become the favourite restaurant of visitors and residents of Hondarribia, and for good reason. If you like good seasonal cuisine with the implementation of innovative and state-of-the-art techniques, this is the place to eat. And what can you expect from Sugarri? Close your eyes and imagine yourself enjoying a delicious Manchego ratatouille, a steaming wok of prawns or an octopus millefeuille. Traditional dishes with minimalist touches that will make your mouth water. All this in a place where no detail is lacking, where design and architecture have been specially conceived to complement the gastronomic experience. Large windows, warm natural light, a terrace and access to the beautiful garden area. eeekly menu 18€, weekend 28,50€.
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We ate here after perusing Trip Advisor for recommendations and were glad we did. We had the 5 course set menu which was only 35 euro each with wine included (that is a bottle of white and a bottle of red between 2 of us!!) Now that is value, people. Food was great and service very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank KylieWSfrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We booked in advance & we had a really good wellcome. The menu was very varied with every dish well-cooked and presented. The service was excellent as well!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Nuriaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

What a best kept secret has Hondarriba!!! This is what I call perfection! The service was excellent, very welcoming and friendly, the place itself has a nice design and decoration, and the food... Pffff, it brought me somewhere else! If you come to Hondarriba, this is a must! They surly master the seafood, with a good selection of wine, and as if that was all close with a marvelous chocolate dessert... I will definitely come back here!!!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Matina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

The decor did to some extent remind of something out of seventies, but it was obviously only recently appointed. Food was typically Basque, with quality ingredients used. Inspiration of the cooking was average, and we had expected better. However, overall it was pleasant with attentive service.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ManzanaBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Located downstairs at The Hotel Bidasoa, we had pleasure of dining here for lunch. The attentive wait staff were extremely helpful in finding the English translation of the menu of the day (24 Euros). Started with cheese starter with pardons. Next came Crispy artichokes, octopus and shrimp with creamy mashed potatoes Galician. Main dish was Bacalao (cod) asado con txangurro y su pil pil. Finished with Catalan Cream with ice cream. Meal was delicious! Good value for those who don't want to fight the pintxoes crowd.

Date of visit: July 2014
Thank D Ford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monica s, Director Comercial at Sugarri Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Thanks for your kind comment,
We will keep doing our best .
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarri Restaurante also viewed

Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
Hondarribia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Sugarri Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing