We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
6
24
22
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
24
22
12
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We visited the hotel for 3 nights outside of the ski season in September and were unfortunately left disappointed, mostly due to the service.

The rooms themselves are basic, but that's in line with what we expected. As 2 couples we specifically requested a double room each but we had two twins, the hotel seemed very far from full so we were quite surprised there wasn't one available. We found the beds particularly uncomfortable and very hard, and the TV provided was very old with poor reception on most channels - however for a budget hotel, it's what I expected. The shower room was actually the highlight, very high pressure and refreshing.

Where we felt particularly let down was on the service. We were there for a Saturday night, so having been out all day we returned to the hotel at around 7pm for our included dinner, only to find a Romanian wedding was being held there. This caused us massive inconvenience. We couldn't park our car in the car park because it was full - then our dinner service was a complete shambles.

Firstly though I must mention that this complaint is not aimed at the particular member of staff that was looking after us - on the contrary, he was brilliant, running around on his own looking after us and numerous other annoyed couples all night. It was probably the worst experience I've ever left a tip for!

To begin we were told that because the wedding was in the dining room, we would have to eat in the terrace outside. I actually didn't mind this - until we got out there and it was very cold and windy. We were then offered an "inside room" which I didn't mind either - until we found out we had to walk through the wedding to get to the room, which was adjacent to the party, with a door that didn't properly close. Again though, we humoured this - the novelty Romanian music and "whoopas" coming from the room made for an interesting setting. Despite the hotel having an a la carte menu, we were offered a choice of two set meals - unable to really understand or hear what they were, as a four we ordered two of each. When the dinner eventually arrived it was simply terrible. My starter was clearly a fresh from the freezer deep fried battered processed cheese - which was just grey and rubbery. The main was a battered 'schnitzel', dripping with grease, served with frozen vegetables which had been boiled so much that they turned to mush as soon as I put my fork near them. Prior to this, we had seen beautiful looking food plated up in the wedding party room - even some local Romanian guests joined us in the room and they were given full choice of the menu, and seemed to be enjoying a much tastier meal. We weren't even offered this at extra cost.

To make it worse, the logistics of the room meant that the service was very sparse, even though the one person that seemed to be serving everyone was rushing and coping as best as he could.

So to set the scene, we were there with plates of horrible food, sat waiting 20 minutes for drinks, having to walk through a wedding party every time we wanted to use the bathroom.

I would genuinely not have minded if we had been told about this - we checked in the night before and no one even mentioned this was happening.

To add to the poor service, the next evening we decided to go out for dinner but have a few drinks in the very well priced hotel bar before. We were left waiting 45 minutes without any service at the bar. I went into the restaurant (which wasn't full) and asked staff if they could come and serve us at the bar twice - eventually I gave up and we went out.

It's a shame, because the hotel is in a beautiful location, and for the most part it has the foundations of a great budget hotel. It's clean, and offers a good (although repetitive) breakfast, and good, free WiFi in the lobby.

I would definitely visit the area again, but unfortunately not this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChopperPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinaVista P, Manager at Hotel Rina Vista, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for this review and for your appreciation of the hotel.
We also thank you for your remarks and will look into them to overcome your expectations the next time you are here.
The meals included in your trip package were SET MENU – appetizer, main course and dessert, and this kind of package could have been upgraded, upon request, with an extra charge.
We feel sorry for the inconvenience with the bar service. We would have appreciated if we had known in time about the aspects you mentioned and had been able to see where and if there was a problem with the staff as you stated in your review.There are always managers available at all times that can answer your every request by contacting the Reception.
We thank you for your advices to the other guests and we state that this review is your point of view , not of most of our guests as we do our best to provide flexibility and adaptability to our guest's needs and requests.
We are looking forward into welcoming you again in our hotel and to make sure you have the best experience during your holiday with us.

Kind regards,

Andreea Meres
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

we went to poiana with tow girls 7 and 9 years old. the hotel is very decent, clean and the staff was welcoming. we arrived at 8:00am and got an early checkin and late checkout at the end of our stay free of charge. we enjoyed our stay from breakfest to night. great value for money.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
Thank yoavk40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Was here on a skiing trip. Well, it's an average 3*. The rooms are OK, clean and fine for resting after a day skiing, and I wanted nothing more. TVs in the cheapest rooms are kind of old. The breakfasts are pretty nice, the selection is good. The staff is fine, much depends on the shift. Some were more friendly and helpful tahn the others.
Now the main drawback is that the hotel is in a 15-20 minutes walk from the mountain and the center of the town that has all of the restaurants and activities. Not too nice, especially when you have to carry the ski equipment. They have a bust that can take you to the mountain, but it's not free and the cost is comparable to a taxi if not more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Artemiev_Ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed at RINA VISTA for one night, on a business trip .The place is a basic 3* .I had a single room with a king size bed . The bed was very comfortable and the room, very quite, i was able to really rest . The breakfast : basic , a little of everything , but nothing exceptional .The coffee was particularly bad , but the rest was acceptable . The bath was small but clean .the front desk was ok , but the wireless did not function . same with the tv : it did not function .....
overall, the hole experience was not memorable , the place is clean and the employees were polite , but in my opinion , the price /night of accommodation was too big compared with what the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bebeluku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The rooms are terrible, I have stayed in better travel lodges in the UK. Not worth any stars in my opinion. The bathroom was o.k but the bed linen smelt of smoke and didn't feel clean, nor did the carpet. The TV was a mid 90's throw back massive throw back CRT model. The lights flickered when we turned it on. So we moved to another hotel in Poiana Brasov that we walked to. It was a bit better but not by much. at least the sheets smelt clean. Also who ever decorated the reception area of a hotel apparently built in 2008 in the style of a dust 70's ski lodge should be shot.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Don't waste your money here!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_James89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews