We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“BEAUTIFUL PLACE, poor service for the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
edimbourgh
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL PLACE, poor service for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Hotel has a great location , charming and elegant
But to me was too fey.. snide
the staff a bit pedant and longwinded
Restaurant overoverpriced, poriont undersized..you need to go to eat after dinner
The spa very poor, no music, poor availability
Beautiful garden and pool

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griffon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmedeoEsposito, General Manager at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry to read we haven't been able to succeed with you in making your stay at the Castello di Spaltenna a truly memorable one.

I hope you will give us a further occasion to show you our ability in servicing our Guests.

Best regards.

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    78
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
109
385
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at Castello di Spaltenna overnight on our way to visit friends in Umbria. What a wonderful night! We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a terrace and views overlooking the hills of Gaiole in Chianti. Dinner was served in a spectacularly romantic 12th Century cloister, and, happily, the cuisine matched the ambiance. Overall, it was a magical night in Tuscany!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmedeoEsposito, General Manager at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear LoriRNYC,

We are thrilled to read such a wonderful review about our Castle.

I am very glad you have chosen Spaltenna and i will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my team. Grazie!

Thank you again for your visit and we are looking forward to see you again in Tuscany.

Sincerely.
Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
amedeoesposito@spaltenna.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We've just returned for a trip to Tuscany which began in Gaiole in Chianti. The Castello di Spaltenna was a fantastic way to start. A really beautiful setting and an excellent hotel. The room was incredibly large with amazing views over the hiils. The furniture, paintings and decor were delightful with lots of interesting touches to make it unique. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic with a great deal of choice and gorgeous cakes ( even if you don't think you'll eat cake for breakfast - you probably will.) Evening meal in the courtyard was out of this world but it was expensive even though it was worth it. The only downside was the fact that the staff were too attentive and tended to 'hover' which became a bit much, but obviously some people may like that. The location of the hotel was ideal for visiting the surrounding area and the staff on the desk were very helpful with suggestions which turned out to be ideal. A great place to stay for a relaxing break but be prepared to walk up hills!

Room Tip: The views at the back overlooking the pool area and the countryside were breath-taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Anna,

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here.

I appreciate your comments regarding your satisfaction and i will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my team. Grazie Grazie

All of us at the Castello di Spaltenna look forward to welcoming you back here. If ever I can be of personal assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards.

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

It was perfect for us. Very romantic and peaceful. Ideal for honeymooners, who prefer serenity of Tuscany. Our room was a great size had a little loft more like a reading area and was spotless. The views were just spectacular on local vineyards and little church...Amazing! In general the staff was very helpful. Although later in the evening we decided to extend our stay for one more day and enjoy that beautiful Castello. Unfortunately the night receptionist could not help us with that. Maybe he was not authorized to such actions or maybe he just did not know how to do it... In the end I ended up exctending it with the help of one of the online booking companies. The breakfast variety was wonderful. It had fruits and meets and cheeses...etc. It was served out on the terrace looking over the pool and grapes. We also had dinner there at the restaurant. Everything we ordered was delicious including the local Spaltenna Vine. The service during our meal was impeccable. They offer free bikes you can ride around Gaiole. We also ordered some things from a ceramic shop, which is located on the same grounds. And I got my dog fix by petting a lovely labrador pooch called Terra, who apparently "works"a lot of hours in the shop:). It was also perfect for us location wise. But be aware of lots of serpentine roads.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Helen,

I have no words to thank you for your generous and genuine comments. Our priority has always been exceeding our customers expectations and it makes us feel so good over and over again when we receive such positive feedback.

I appreciate your comments regarding your satisfaction and i will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my team.

We'll see you soon and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Castello di Spaltenna.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit.

PS: The lovely labrador Tara says "ciao". :-)

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just returned from a two week vacation in Italy, where we stayed in Rome, Florence, Gaiole in Chianti and Amalfi Coast. The Castello di Spaltenna was our favorite of all accommodations - hands down - from the moment we pulled up among the grape vines, got out of the car to the serenity of the Tuscan countryside, and entered the Castello.

Our travel itinerary changed just a few weeks prior to our trip, and we were very fortunate to have secured the ideal rooms at Spaltenna to accomodate my husband and me, and two teenage sons. Our rooms were side by side, but connected by a door that brought my husband and I up a flight of stone stairs to our private room (perfect set up for a family with younger children, as well). I felt like a princess in our four poster bed, with beautiful stone and wood beams exposed throughout the room. The view from the bedroom window was exactly what I envisioned of the Tuscan countryside and the view from our bathroom window of the castle's bell tower was also breathtaking.

The interior of our room was consistent with the rest of this medieval castle, and meticulously cared for by the staff. The pool and terrace seating area were perfect for an afternoon of relaxation after our busy sightseeing of the cities. We dined one evening, al fresco by candlelight, in the courtyard which provided an amazing atmosphere for a wonderful, albeit expensive, dinner. There was a room with a pool table which provided extra entertainment for our sons, and a gym which they found to be very impressive.

The service at Castello di Spaltenna was a perfect combination of friendly, but reserved attentiveness, which I found to be just right. Everyone was extremely professional and accommodating.

We stayed at Castello di Spaltenna for three nights, but wish it could have been longer. I would recommend this special hotel to anyone that is looking for a hamlet of relaxation and peacefulness in a setting that is indicative of visions of Tuscany!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for taking to time to leave a review of our hotel!

Your generous feedback will definitely urge us to maintain higher levels of service excellence.

It is wonderful when guests write to say how much they liked our hotel, especially when they felt like a princess :-)

Thanks again and please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to visit Chianti again so I may make the necessary arrangements for your stay at the Castello di Spaltenna.

Grazie Grazie!!

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
9.1 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.1 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
17.7 km away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
19.9 km away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Property: Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price range (per night): $275 - $654
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Gaiole In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing