We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th Wedding Anniversary Trip”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Il Santo

Villa il santo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views view of villa il santo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Villa il santo
vila ils anto pool with views
view of villa il santo
villa il santo sitting room with fireplace
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo kitchen
villa il santo living room with view
villa il santo tv sitting room
villa il santo masterroom
villa il santo master room
master room bath room
vilal il santo twin/double bedroom ground floor
twin bedroom
living room with views
annex bedroom at swimming pool  level
villa il santo master room fire place
il santo dining room
villa il santo dining room
al fresco dining area
Villa il santo areal view
Contemporary look renovation in a 1000 y old villa, heart of Chianti, stunning views, great location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J G
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“50th Wedding Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

For our 50th Wedding Anniversary trip we were looking for a place that would work for the entire family, 6 adults and 5 children age 13 to 6. In Villa il Santo we found that place.While we did not have all the meals prepared by a Chef,Those that were,welcomming were great from the welcoming dinner to the extra effort they took for our anniversary dinner. What will be remembered by all will be the night the grandchildren were taught how to make pasta which was incorporated into a meal. IlSanto location was perfect for trips to all of the attractions in the area, from cities to small villages. The Villa was large enough for active play and swimming, and at the same time had nooks to quietly read a book.A special mention must be made of our hosts, Enzo e Annagloria who were most welcoming,gracious and a great resource for information. We would go back there in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Joe n Peggy
it has been such a pleasure to meet you and your family and to ad the honor you chose our house for your 50th anniversary"!! you have been delicious guests and hope to host you soon again
congratulation for your beautiful family!
Annagloria and Enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankU551...
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“The Perfect Tuscan Experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Villa Il Santo is everything and more of what we envisioned for this stay. Annagloria & Enzo are true pros and ensure your experience is glorious. The villa is magnificent and proved to be an excellent launching point for daily excursions throughout the region. Local knowledge is huge and these two have it in abundance.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Dear Frank , thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate your nice words and happy to know you keep fond memories of your stay in our house. Hope to host you soon again , annagloria and enzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ginger-c
san francisco, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You Will Love Villa Il Santo!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our group of 9 adults and 2 kids stayed at this beautiful villa for a week in June and every single person in our group loved everything about this villa. We started planning the trip nearly a year in advance, and Annagloria was a huge help. She responded quickly to every email and helped us schedule tours, wine tastings, and drivers for the week. When we arrived, we could not believe how beautiful and spacious the villa and grounds were. As gorgeous as the pictures are, they do not do this property justice. The furnishings and décor are truly spectacular and the views over the valley toward San Gimignano from the pool and all the many outdoor seating areas are unbelievable. The villa is also very conveniently located, as we could make easy day trips to the surrounding hill towns and wineries. There are many beautiful properties in Tuscany, but for us what set this one apart were the owners, Annagloria and Enzo. They were friendly and helpful in every way -- from stocking the wine cooler with their own (delicious) wine available for purchase at an incredibly reasonable price, to recommending and making reservations for us at wonderful, small local restaurants, to arranging a magical concert and dinner in an historic nearby church just for their friends and villa renters, to helping us plan a dinner and birthday celebration on the last night with a chef who cooked and served a multi-course dinner for us at the villa. And speaking of chefs, the price for the villa includes a first-night dinner cooked by a wonderful chef, Rosanna. We enjoyed her, and her cooking, so much that we hired her to give us cooking lessons in the villa a few nights later. If you have a chance to do this, we highly recommend it! This week in Tuscany was the highlight of our 3-week trip to Italy, and we cannot wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
hi
thank you for your nice review n most of all thank you for keeping such fond memories of your stay in our house and of us. we really enjoyed to have your group n it is always a pleasure to succeed in pleasing our guests. Happy to know you are so enthusiastic about your stay
hope to have the chance to host you in the future, have a great summer
annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoppySeat...
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best. Vacation. Ever.”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This villa is beyond lovely - crazy good views, beautifully updated interior, numerous and beautiful gathering spots, including two over-sized dining tables perfect for a large group, yet providing intimate space. The beds are super comfy, and the renovation is very well thought out. Perfect location, centrally located to anywhere you might want to go in Tuscany. You will need a car! The owners are totally on the ball, available for all questions and concerns, and VERY responsive. One thing to know about the pool/"hot" tub - neither is heated. You'll be so busy with everything else you won't notice or miss it, but it would have been nice to sit in a hot tub and look out over the glorious view. I would also suggest that new bed pillows be obtained. But these are minor comments. I would absolutely stay again, and thank Enzo and Annagloria for helping us achieve a trip of a lifetime.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaybird25...
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Villa Il Santo is the quintessential Tuscan getaway. The villa has been beautifully restored yet still maintains much of its old-world charm. There's an instant sense of calm that one feels once you enter the villa. Enzo and his family took care of our every need and we loved the meals cooked by Rosanna - a bonafide Italian nonna! Be sure to try the wines and olive oil produced by Enzo; all are delicious!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
thank you! it has been a pleasure for us n our kids to meet you n your friends! happy you enjoyed your stay, hope to host you soon again
ciao annagloria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing