We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastes of Modica - 1 star Michelin ”

Accursio Ristorante
Ranked #11 of 264 Restaurants in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The location

The restaurant is located at the heart of the night life and quite easy to find by walk.

The price

The same menu is served for both lunch and dinner. The menu is well priced. I had the 4 course menu which is 65€ (ex wine). If one goes for dishes individually then each costs around 30€.

The food

Dish 1 - Light and mostly vegetarian. Tasty and the drink part is fresh and would be perfect if there was a drop of gin
Dish 2 - fish burger and oyster "martini". Nicely paired combination, melting taste in the mouth with the salty taste of the oyster
Dish 3 - pasta with rabbit. What big pasta covering well seasoned and tender rabbit meat. My best dish!
Dish 4 - minced beef wrapped in beef. Tender, juicy and the accompanying source with strong red wine is superb.
Dish 5 - Tiramisu with ricotta. The restaurant's own twist on tiramisu with a ricotta cream. Simple, not heavy and tasty.

In general the food may seem simple but, the presentation was creative and worth experiencing because it also plays with the mind and hence how we experienced the taste.

The service

Warm and welcoming. The waiters were ready to explain the dish beyond normal and the head chef visited all the tables the two times we were there and was always ready to hear about experiences.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank deeneshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Probably the best place all along the Barocco road. In the heart of beautiful Modica old town, Accursio serves a delicious and elaborate cuisine in a nicely designed environment.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank kvknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My wife, 3 year old daughter and myself dined here a week ago. In my opinion Accursio is one of the top restaurants I have ever eaten in and the quality, coupled with the service received are simply second to none.
First off the Chef, Accursio is one of the nicest persons I have met in this industry and he is very friendly and his grasp of english is also good. His staff are also extremely professional and helpful. I read an earlier review criticising the sommelier - in my experience he was very nice and extremely proficient in his knowledge of wines and his manners were exceptional.
On to the food, both my wife and I opted to have the fish set menu which was delicious. Starting from the cold tomato soup with pieces of bread in it followed by the melon soup with sea urchins, the fish burger with deep fried scales on top and the pasta with Tuna Roe one undertakes a journey of the seas. However i have to mention the stuffed onion which was a truly amazing dish as were the two deserts - the stuffed egg and their take on tiramisu!
All this food was washed down with a fantastic wine called Donna Grazia which paired magnificently with all the dishes. A truly memorable night out.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

If you go to Modica you have to go to Accursio. It's worth every penny. We had the sea menu and it was a terrific journey through the mind of the chef and his childhood memories. the elegance and balance and contrast of flavors, the thought behind them, the incredible service make it a great experience. Good wine selection. The place is minimalist but very cozy. Yes, it's not cheap but if you like fine dining this is the place to go in this region. One worth Michelin star.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Dfa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We had a very nice dinner. The restaurant is very small. There are only about six tables or so. The food was creative and found our server very helpful in selecting all dishes and wine pairings. I was impressed by the win pairings. The server opened a new bottle for each of the paired courses and he would pour each wine twice. The extra courses such as amuse bouche and cookies with bill were great. Definitely worth the price!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Accursio Ristorante also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Accursio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing