We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, secret house in beautiful Modica...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Modica, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rowbs2701
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secret house in beautiful Modica - can't wait to return”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Hortus in early October and had a fantastic time. We spent 2 weeks in Modica and just loved exploring and getting to know the town and the people, and always delighted to return to Hortus daily and sit in the secret garden relaxing and soaking up the atmosphere. We felt the house was excellent - we loved the big round bed, the bath behind, the spiral staircase, the upper terrace, the orange and pomegranate trees in the garden, the cool spa, and the modern kitchen. The fact that you can't hear cars because you're in the labyrinth of steps and alleys is a blessing - you look up at the cathedral and remind yourself where you are.
We can't wait to return - a fantastic holiday in a fantastic house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING - to have such a large house and lovely garden was brilliant
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deanna H
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in the heart of Modica Alta near San Giorgio”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had two weeks at Hortus, using Modica as a base for exploring the Val de Noto and beyond. This is a beautiful property where we experienced a few problems, but overall a lovely vacation. The garden is a tranquil oasis (but be prepared to be awakened at 8 a.m. by San Giorgio) and that's where we spent most of our time; highly recommend organizing a dinner outside if the weather is good. Beware of many stairs in Modica and the fact that everything has to be carried quite a distance (from where you can park). My sister-in-law arrived on crutches so she really suffered. The interior design is beautiful, but will need to be better maintained to keep it pristine. Aurora the concierge took excellent care of us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, comfortable beds, the upstairs terrace
Liked least: Spa pool had lost its cover so attracted pigeons, electricity went off, leaky shower, dirty cushions
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“out of this world fabulous”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house is truly amazing, the hosts are wonderful, the city is gorgeous - all in all a fantastic experience, no faults whatsoever! Would love to come again and will highly recommend. A magical place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: liked everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeandNa...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning villa in beautiful Modica”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had 2 nights here on our trip around Sicily and this was one of our favourite stays.We could not believe how beautiful the villa was and what a wonderful sanctuary it was.The courtyard was the perfect place to relax and we enjoyed some beautiful meals here using the facilities of the stunning kitchen.Everything you could wish for is available and the service was exceptional.A massage in the courtyard with Salvo is a must.

Modica is a charming,authentic place and Hortus is perfectly located to feel a part of daily life here.

Don't forget to try some chocolate for which Monica is famous- it is out of this world!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scadpole
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at Residence Hortus for three nights was the highlight of our recent trip to Sicily. Luca, Aurora and Salvo went out of the way to make us comfortable and accommodate our three children. I highly recommend a massage with Salvo and also the cooking class. My kids loved learning how to make pasta. Modica is lovely to wander around but the temptation to stay in the beautiful garden of Hortus was too great at times. We were very sad to leave.

Stayed July 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing