We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful flat”
other travellers have booked this property
Night view over Modica from the rooftop terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night view over Modica from the rooftop terrace
On the secluded rooftop terrace at sunset Sunbathing on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Night view over Modica from the rooftop terrace
On the secluded rooftop terrace at sunset
Sunbathing on the terrace
Ground floor bedroom with ancient sicilian majolica
Ground floor bedroom with ancient sicilian majolica
Ground floor bedroom with ancient sicilian majolica
Quiet afternoon in the bedroom upstairs
Special welcome for your honeymoon
Special welcome for your honeymoon
Special welcome for your honeymoon
bedroom upstairs
Ancient features in the bedroom
Waiting for the evening upstairs
The ancient door is displayed as a memory of the past life of the home
Art & design at the entrance of the house
A romantic appetizer with view over the Cathedral of S. Giorgio
Quiet breakfast with local sweets, chocolate of Modica and fruit
Living-kitchen area with artworks by Luca Gianninu
The wine cellar with selected wines from top sicilian producers
Combination of past and present emotions in the kitchen
The view from the dining table
The children's corner close to the bedroom upstairs
the children's corner with art & ecology books and toys
Bathroom ground floor
bathroom first floor
Modica
Modica
Modica
beaches near Modica
beaches near Modica
the Riviera dei Ciclopi Sea Reserve, East Sicily
Cassibile Necropolis, South East Sicily
The old fishing village of Marzamemi
The old kiln of Pisciotto.JPG
beaches near Modica
Ancient history of East Sicily
Cassibile Natural Reserve, South-East Sicily
Modica, S. Pietro
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Modica, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
groucho00...
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“beautiful flat”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This is a beautiful flat in the heart of old Modica, just five minutes walk from the cathedral. The flat itself is very comfortable and interesting with many of the owner's art works and collected art on the walls. There are two bedrooms with lovely beds and two terraces, one of them very small, but both with stunning views of this lovely city. The location is ideal, in a residential area down a small cobbled street, with local neighbours, which felt very authentic. The cooking and washing facilities are modern. Luca, the manager is helpful via email when sorting out the booking and payment, and Amalia who manages the flat onsite is extremely helpful and nothing is too much bother. We were very warmly welcomed and taken care of.
I have only a couple of small niggles. One is that although the location is generally quiet, we had loud (but pleasant) live music from somewhere nearby on 4 out of the 11 nights we stayed. This started mid evening and went into the small hours. We went with our baby daughter so were in all evening, which made this annoying, although if you are the kind of person who stays out late or isn't overly committed to total peace and quiet, this wouldn't be a major problem. I also don't know if this was just a seasonal feature during August or whether it happens every weekend.
The second niggle was the 5 minute walk from where you park to the flat. If you have a lot of luggage and regular heavy shopping, this is a mild annoyance.
I would overall strongly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and views
Liked least: the local live music during a few of the nights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2012
Thank you very much for your great feedback, Robert!
We are very happy you had a delightful stay...
As regards live music, even if August is usually a month of fiestas and concerts in Sicily, it's the first time that it is heard from the house since it is located in a very secluded and quiet alley..
It's a pity you did not alert us, as we would have immediately got any useful information in order to understand if it was a public event (but in this case it has to stop in the early night by law) or it was coming from a neighbor (and in this case we could have asked him to stop and respect the quietness of our guests).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolly_sau...
Kirdford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thoroughly reccomend this stunning appartment”
Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

When we arrived, after being met by Amalia, as we walked in my friend Said "Oh my God, i'ts amazing, thank you so much for inviting us!"
No criticisms at all, the place was perfect with everything you could need provided, from clothes pegs , to olive oil , to the stunning view, and extremely comfortable beds! everything had been thought of. We had a perfect holiday here, there were no tourists, everyone was friendly, all Italian, really felt like we were in proper Italy, not some naff Brits abroad place.
I reccomend the amazing ice cream. and you will earn it , as there are a lot of steep steps to walk back up to the appartment. Had great suppers in Pizza Smile, a short walk uphill (at least it's downhill on the way back!) and we really enjoyed the wine tasting with Lunch at Planeta, organised for us by Amalia.Also Marzamemi a fishing town 40 mins drive away is worth visiting, lovely fresh lunch at the spaghetteria with prossecco sitting on a deck looking out at bobbing boats!
Amalia was brilliant when we had some holiday mishaps (left Glasses , hat and money behind at vineyard, and locked keys in car on last day!) She went out of her way to help us, and didn't even roll her eyes!! I would definitely go back here except there is too much more of the world to see! Dolly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stylish Decor,amazing view,Location, Everything!
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haugesund
Reviewed 8 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing