We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute town, non existant front desk staff”
Review of Hotel Alceste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alceste
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute town, non existant front desk staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This hotel was only for a few nights and we weren't there much as we had family in the area and were with them from morning until late at night. Upon arrival a woman at the front desk barely said hello when we checked in. She mentioned nothing about the breakfast included or where it was. We were delighted to see that our room had a nice balcony which overlooked the ocean across 2 streets. The hotel wasn't that quiet. The chairs being dragged across the tile floor in the breakfast room on the floor above us made sure that we were awake early each morning (which was fine-we had to be up and out early anyway). The bathroom was sufficient. I really liked this little town and enjoyed staying there but the front desk staff were really hard to come by! When we checked out (at 8am) there was no one to be found-anywhere! We waited for 10 minutes, my husband looked around the rooms surroundign the lobby and even went up to the restaurant-but no luck. We ended up leaving the room key on the front desk along iwth TV remove and AC remote. I hoped they'd figure it out.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    28
    29
    16
See reviews for
15
72
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We booked this hotel with some misgiving in the light of some reviews on your website but I think any adverse judgment of this hotel is unfounded. The hotel was clean and, for its class, well-apponted with good quality decoration and fittings. The retaurant is pleasant and the food good. There is adequate free parking opposite the hotel and more parking in the adjoining streets. One of our nights was disturbed by dogs fightiing over rubbish dumped on the edge of the street opposite by a neighbouring hotel . Although it is a good five minutes walk down to the seafront, the Alceste is well-situated in relation to access to the Archaeological Park which was the purpose of our visit. You can easily return to the Alceste for lunch and a rest after a morning's visit and explore the remainder of the Park in the afternoon. If you are staying longer than a couple of days, you need a car to get around.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuartSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

This hotel offers dirty rooms (hairs on the bathroom floor) for the expansive price of 80 € for a double room. It's shabby and non-refurbished since a lot of years (30 ?) With the new constructions you can't see the sea anymore. A lot of rooms have a wall-view !
The breakfast is poor and the staff is unpolite and not sympathetic.
You can avoid this hotel and rent a B&B near the sea and the archeological site !

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marinella di Selinunte hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

I selected this primarily for the price and can't really complain too much as it just about delivers a reasonable experience for the price. [I paid €55 for a double room].

Their own descriptions of "recently constructed" and "modern amenities" are somewhat far fetched in my opinion.


The room was fine - tidy, clean but only furnished with a minimum of tired & old stuff. Bed was comfortable.

The bathroom was less than satisfactory - extremely small with signs of rust and aging on the fittings. The towels were extremely small, old and as stiff as cardboard!

Front desk staff certainly weren't "mulitlingual" and barely bothered to greet us.

Breakfast was just awful: - warm watery juice, warm yogurt & small selection of old croissants and the most terrible coffee imaginable. I'm glad we didn't opt to have dinner there.

If you're on a tight budget then this will be OK, otherwise spend an extra €20-€30 and get some place better.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boring Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Struggled to find a hotel in Selinunte (none on here) so ended up with this. It is a little way back from the sea (lots of steps) and the restaurants/bars on the beach front but convenient for the archeological park.
Front desk seemed a little haphazard and you had to ask for everything (safe key, TV remote, aircon remote...). Room itself was good with a balcony with a slightly distant view of the sea.
There is a big, free, public car park 200m earlier on the road and this is the best bet and about 3 parking spaces opposite.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Badgery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marinella di Selinunte
0.1 km away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#5 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
447 reviews
9.5 km away
Althea Palace Hotel
Althea Palace Hotel
#6 of 20 in Castelvetrano
186 reviews
2.1 km away
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Grand Hotel Selinunte
#3 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#7 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Eracle
Hotel Eracle
#10 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
162 reviews
45.6 km away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#1 of 3 in Alcamo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alceste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alceste

Property: Hotel Alceste
Address: Via Alceste 21, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
Price range (per night): $89 - $285
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alceste 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alceste is an elegant hotel situated 300 metres from the Selinunte Archaeological Park, 450 metres from the nature reserve at the mouth of the River Belice, and only 300 metres from the sea. It is the ideal location for a relaxing seaside holiday in the splendid region of Sicily, and boasts an excellent restaurant which will delight your palate with typical local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alceste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alceste Hotel Marinella Di Selinunte
Hotel Alceste Marinella Di Selinunte, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing