We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the culture vultures”
Review of Taverna Kalyva

Taverna Kalyva
Ranked #10 of 89 Restaurants in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This small, very popular with the locals, beautiful beachside taverna is wonderful value and so refreshing to rest after a cultural visit to the Malia ruins

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 777SarahB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

One of our favorite restaurants in Crete not just in Malia, each trip wet go there, the food, service, the scenery everything is almost amazing! #Kalyvaholic

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Seinfeld9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

What a find. Went to Malia Palace archaeological site, then walked down the very quiet road to check out the beach and found this place. Service was great - food (and drink) was even better: really fresh, really tasty, and really reasonable. Full of locals (at least I presume they were locals) as well as visitors. And (I know this isn't what you normally find in a restaurant review but hey!), the bathroom/toilets/loos (delete as appropriate) were just about the cleanest I have ever seen, which is always a sign that the owners care about their customers!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We were tipped off about this place by a Dutch couple who own a restaurant in Malia Old Town -what a find.
Real traditional fayre- and you can ask for half portions of anything - so it gives you a chance to sample loads of different foods.
Very cheap too - and very welcoming.

Despite being near 2 tourist spots- Potamas beach and Malia Palace- a consistent number of local Greek people eat here daily - which is something you don't see in most tourist tavernas- and a great sign.
The owner even showed my wife the kitchen-to give us an idea of what delights to order, and we tasted dishes we'd never normally have contemplated. If you want the whole authentic Greek experience, for less than most places, head here!
We ate here for lunch every day for four days and loved every second of it.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank malcolmm578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Situated about mid way down the quiet beach road between the archaeological site of the Palace of Malia and Potamos beach Taverna Kalyva is like finding an oasis in the wilderness. There we received a warm welcome and enjoyed nice fresh food and Cretan wine. It was pretty busy and the atmosphere of the place was bustling. The diners looked to be a mix of locals, tourist and beach goers and must say that this taverna was a very pleasant and welcome break in our day.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank DougW907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Kalyva also viewed

Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Malia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kalyva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing