We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Basic, friendly = great value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarpidon Apartments
Ranked #5 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, Basic, friendly = great value for money.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at the Sarpidon in summer 2010. On arrival we had a very friendly welcoming, where a enthusiastic member of staff carried all our suitcase’s – believe me they were huge and heavy – as there was 4 of us girls! The room was very basic but pleasantly clean, towels were changed every couple of days, and our room and beds where cleaned everyday. No air conditioning was included in the price, however our air con had broken, which meant it was left on 24/7, lucky for us we stayed nice and cool in the extreme heat. One night the hotel held a bbq and entertainment – this was loads of fun! The entertainment was hilarious – the things people do when they are drunk ey! – Talking about late nights, the hotel food was great for a hangover! The only criticisms I would say is that the hotel was slightly isolated from the main strip – where all the bars and restaurants are held and was a good walk from the beach. If I were to visit Malia again, I would definitely stay on the strip (where all the entertainment is!), as it is a great young peoples holiday for those who like to party and enjoy water sports! Overall I would say this hotel is great value for its money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    25
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
|Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at the Sarpidon and our morning Craig was the best. I went with my mam and we had a fantastic time. I thought it would be full of young kids looking for a good time but it was the opposite, due to the time of year we went. I could see why the younger generation would want to go though. It had lots to do and the pubs on Malia strip were plentiful.

I have to say though that we got great service from Craig at Sarpidon appts, he couldn't do enough. And Craig, you still have the most amazing eyes. Stop hiding them beneath your sunglasses!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Have just returned from a week's stay at Sarpidon Apartments in Malia and can recommend them. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by friendly staff. The Sarpidon is ran by family and it comes across in the relaxed feel which rubs off on the guests as everyone got on well.
The room was big and clean with a kitchen area and small bathroom which had a deceptively powerful shower. Towels and sheets are changed once a week on the Saturday which for us was 2nd day so be prepared for that, room cleaned and bin emptied every day though.
The 24hr bar was reasonably priced (5euros for full breakfast with drink) and food tasty. Music is switched off when everyone heads out between 12 and 1 and although people in bar all the time noise was fine. We were there end of season though so probably loud in peak season.
The hotel is in an ideal location in the old town, the taverna at the back is reasonable and good quality Greek food, lots of tavernas in walking distance and locals all very friendly. There is a small shop behind hotel selling juice, alcohol, crisps, milk, etc.
We enjoyed the best of both worlds by eating in the old town then walking into the new, 5min walk.
The Sunday BBQ and Miss Malia is a great laugh and food good value, don't go if don't enjoy inuendo though, but it's a great way for the guests to have a laugh together.
The Sarpidon was welcoming, comfortable and clean in a perfect location, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Went to the Sarpidon with 14 friends for a two week stay, the place was superb, nice pool, nice staff, nice room, the lot. It's close enough to the strip that you can walk it in about 10 minutes and unlike all other hotels and apartments in Malia you don't get charged if you bring anybody back to your hotel. The only downside to the place is that although it is self catering you are not allowed to consume any drink that is not bought at the bar which makes no sense and necessities like air conditioning and toilet roll are all charged for.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed for one week at the sarpidon with a group of 4 girls! we absolutly loved it! Malia is a great place for a clubbing holiday. The sarpidon had such a great atmosphere everyone spoke to everyone and you make loads of friends and find yourself in everyone elses rooms lol! Make sure you do the barbeque on the thursday its such a laugh and the miss malia competition was hilarious! we werent expecting much of the hotel as it was 18-30 but it was great and from what we were told by other people, its a much better standard than most hotels in malia. rooms were modern and had 4 beds instead of 2 beds 2 sofa beds which made it easier! only downside only got one pillow but that didnt really matter considering we barely slept! 24 hour bar is great especially getting a cheese and ham toastie after the night out. security guards have a laugh with you and allow noise as long as its not excessive! bar staff were all lovely made you feel really welcome!
If you stay with thomas cook, do the trips, they are usually a rip off but we enjoyed them so much we paid 109euros for 3 trips and you get food and free bar on them :)
If you expect to sleep malia is not the place for you, but for people looking for a lively, crazy clubbing holiday its amazing! We didn't want to come home and have spent the last three weeks wishing we were back there!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pricey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
1.2 km away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.6 km away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
1.7 km away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#16 of 90 in Malia
167 reviews
1.2 km away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.2 km away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarpidon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarpidon Apartments

Property: Sarpidon Apartments
Address: 5 Sokratous, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price range (per night): $49 - $192
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarpidon Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sarpidon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarpidon Apartments Hotel Malia
Sarpidon Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing