We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An East Coast Oceanfront Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Front deck View from upstairs loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Boathouse Cottage - steps from rocky shore
Front deck
View from upstairs loft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eagle Head, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BearsGrl8...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An East Coast Oceanfront Paradise”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Boathouse Cottage is better than I imagined from the online profile. I have so much to say about my stay, but will keep it short and sweet.

Cottage - Perfect, detailed, cozy, comfortable and brilliantly designed and hand built by owner John!

Amenities - Wood-stove, Electric Heat (for cool nights), full kitchen with stove, oven, mini fridge, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave & gas BBQ.

Views - unbelievable....morning, noon and night, you see the Atlantic Ocean from your bedroom, kitchen, living area, or the loft!

Property - well maintained and clearly loved. Its a rustic experience with modern comforts.

Owners - Carol & John are warm, friendly, and extremely helpful.

All you need to enjoy this slice of heaven is some food and beverages, a few good books, and you. Forget the technology at home...no wifi, no TV or DVD. Cellular service is available, but you'll be too busy with the views and relaxing!!

Its a perfect hideaway for 2, max 3 - couples, friends, partners. Not ideal for large groups or kids in my opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was extremely comfortable, and the sounds of the ocean waves crashing on the shore was exquisite!
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J A B
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot to unwind”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We've been here many times. We may go back, but the price has crept up a lot! The setting is incredible, the beaches in the area are some of the best in Canada. Don't forget to see Carter's Beach. My only complaint about the cottage is the bed. You can feel the springs. For $100+ power night, the expectation is higher.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2015
Hi Josh & Alysia

You are absolutely right about the bed, so we upgraded to a new queen pillowtop shortly after your stay and sorry it did not arrive in time for you! The new bed and new heating system and other upgrades we made to the cottage this year resulted in a price increase, but we are still very competitive in price to all other oceanfront rentals in the area. We hope to see you again and thank you for your continued bookings over the years!

Sincerely,
Carol & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The only complaint is that the place is so inviting, we had a hard time to hit the road for our dinner reservation in Tusket, NS! Wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Obviously the view.
Liked least: Nothing. If I could offer a suggestion: two little footstools for the upstairs reading nook would make the space more comfy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great spot to relax. Tips of where to visit left on the desk was great. Beautil view. Fully equipped to cook in and great to sit on the deck and watch the seals playing in the morning.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen1324
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture perfect beach cottage getaway met all my expectations and some”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

i am an avid beach goer and live in a coastal area , this sea side get away was picture perfect!
this vacation was by far the best ever. The view of the water, the location, the rustic details of the cottage were so charming and endearing. I hope to go next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing