We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel style”
Review of Chalet La Foret

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vallandry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet La Foret
Ranked #1 of 1 Vallandry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Ski Olympic very unresponsive, tried multiple times just before the holiday to contact them and zero response- arrived at chalet and it's very, very basic - almost hostel like. Worst bit was it wasn't clean - windows were disgusting, carpets grubby and stained - couldn't even stay there so booked elsewhere that night. Follow up with Ski Olympic just came back saying my feedback couldn't be true - and they had replaced the carpets 2 years ago so my comments on stains were dismissed. Would never book with them again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SiriusSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiOlympic, Manager at Chalet La Foret, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear SiriusSue,
We're so sorry that your recent holiday did not live up to your expectations. We maintain that our chalet La Foret, is of a very good standard although not a 5 star property. We have seen over 500 guests holiday in the chalet this season, and have only received positive reviews. We hope you did find alternative accommodation to your liking, and you did have an enjoyable holiday.
Kind regards
Ski Olympic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

10 - 14 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

First time booking with Ski Olymplic. We booked a late deal to chalet La Foret and travelled as a family of three. The whole experience was brilliant from the start. Ski in/out even so late in the season. Cooked breakfast every day. 3 course evening meal was excellent with wine included which was free flowing. Afternoon tea hit the spot every time. Charley the chalet manager and his team were the best. The chalet was clean and well cared for. We used the i house ski service and Ross the technician was very knowledgable. Olympic ski will be the first company we use to book our next trip and can't wait to return to chalet la foret.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank joannemcg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This was a ski chalet run by Ski Olympic. There were about 60- 70 guests including about 20 children. There was no child care. The whole place ran like clockwork. The staff were just the most helpful, friendly group. Food was simple, excellently prepared and delivered on time every time. Dinner with wine, breakfast and tea were provided as part of the ski package. The menu choice at dinner was practically zero but the staff could arrange minor adjustments. Breakfast was well cooked and the choice of food was adaquate. The cakes at tea were seriously tasty. Wifi was good in reception and the dining area but its reach was limited. Lunch in the bar area was excellent and there was a fair range of beer and wines available. The boot room was fine and the ski servicing and advice available twice a day. The chalet was on a Blue Run to the nearest lift which was about 300m away. The run also provided direct access from the main ski area. You would be lucky to find a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor had wifi and 12/13& 14 had balconies with a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

My family were part of a group of 25 with varied ages of children. The accommodation, food, staff, location (everything)was fabulous. Everyone's needs were catered for by Charles and his fabulous team, who were professional in a relaxed and caring manner. My daughter is desperate to come again next year which I am sure we will. Thanks for a perfect winter break

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We travelled as a group of 25 with Ski Olympic and have to say this was the best ski holiday we have experienced. The chalet and the service/set-up provided by Ski Olympic was superb and suited all our groups needs and age ranges. The staff were excellent and the food exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chalet La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Foret

Address: ChaletHotel La Foret, Vallandry, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Peisey-Vallandry > Vallandry
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vallandry
Price Range: $38 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb Chalet Hotel enjoys a central location at the heart of a traditional chalet complex just above the village of Vallandry. It is directly on the piste and guests can ski in and out from the hotel terrace. La Foret has been finished to a very high standard to give comfortable communal areas and large bedrooms. The lounge overlooks the large south-west Terrace and circular dining tables of 8 offer enough room for all guests and staff to sit down together to enjoy fabulous evening meals.This chalet features free WiFi, in-house private Ski & Boot hire, and a newly renovated ski room with boot warmers.All guest bedrooms are fully en-suite and the majority have balconies. A lift serves all floors, and two bedrooms have been specifically designed to be wheelchair friendly. There is off-road parking nearby, while indoor parking is available for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing