We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location and gite for a relaxing holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Martin R
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location and gite for a relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just wonderful from start to finish.

The hosts: Johnny and Terry made our stay truly memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and their hospitality was marvelous. From arrival to departure we were looked after and made to feel like VIPs. Not forgetting Brandon and Pineau, a pair of proper characters who reside at Lemonie.

The gite: Comfortable, warm and spacious. No cramped in feeling here. La Grange has 3 bedrooms all with en suite facilities. The large living area is great for families and is a welcome home from home to return to after a day out in the countryside. The kitchen is kitted out with every appliance you could need and had all the equipment needed for our stay, even a dishwasher to prevent those squabbles about whose turn it is do the washing up. When we arrived there was a starter pack of food and drink to keep us going until we could get to the supermarket. And of course the 'Lemonie Cake' mentioned by other reviewers. Satellite TV and WIFI are provided although we only switched the TV on a couple of times and it almost seemed sacrilegious to do so.

The grounds: Peaceful and tranquil and so pretty. Lots of hidden corners to explore and a swimming pool to cool off in when the temperature gets too much. You'll never be bored here, Terry and John have provided enough board games, DVDs and books to keep. The games room has a bar, darts board and table football. Even a telescope if you fancy a spot of stargazing! We never did get round to a game of boules, one for next visit.

The location: The countryside is beautiful, mile after mile of trees and farmland to admire and explore. There are several local walks to enjoy along the River Dronne. A little further afield are many picturesque villages and towns worthy of a visit. Brantome is recommended. A visit to La Calitom is essential (the hosts will explain) as are the brocantes that seem to be taking place almost every day.

All in all a week to remember for so many reasons. We've already booked to return later this year and I'm sure we'll be back in years to come as well. We cannot recommend La Grange or its next door neighbour La Vieille highly enough, every aspect of our stay was exemplary.

Thank you once more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you very much Martin. It was a pleasure to welcome you and Sharon here. Looking forward very much to your return visit later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stibars
New Ross, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet at its best”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lemonie gites are located about 50Km from Angouleme. There are lots of small and interesting villages and towns in the locality. But the gites are in the countryside with numerous walks of varying length in the vicinity. It's within easy driving distance from St. Emilion - famous for lovely red wines of the region!
The welcome we received was so much appreciated after our long drive (but because of motorway, not too taxing) from Cherbourg. There was a lovely homemade light supper, bottle of wine, homemade 'lemony' cake and the essentials to keep us going until we had a chance to do a grocery shopping!
The owners, Terry and John were like personal concierges who were a wealth of information and guided us on what we could do or gave us information about things we wanted to do. Thanks for the handy tips and hints about parking, etc.
The gite was immaculately clean and very spacious. There are three double bedrooms, all en-suite, a large living room/kitchen/dining area. Wifi and English TV are both great assets. The gite is well-kitted out with every convenience you could think of. And if you need something that's not there, the owners live next door and will have it for you asap!
This gite and the other one beside it, La Vieille Maison are both dog friendly and there is a resident dog called Brandon who's the quietest dog I've ever encountered (I'm a bit nervous around dogs) and a lovely cat called Pineau!
The garden is well worth exploring but unfortunately it was out of season to enjoy the fruits that grow here. But I'd imagine the freshest of fruits would be delightful!
The garden also has a bbq area for each gite, a 12m swimming pool and plenty of seating.
We had the MOST relaxing holiday we've had in a long time and we'll definitely be back here. Thanks John and Terry for helping to make it stress-free!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you Pauline and Feargal - it was a pleasure to welcome you here. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkphil
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Following recommendations from friends, we booked a very long weekend at Lemonie Gites (La Grange) for early April. It is in a beautiful location on a hillside overlooking the Dronne valley. The gite itself has been tastefully decorated with modern facilities, a lovely kitchen diner and a small garden to the rear leading to the pool.
Upon arrival we found a delicious cake that had been baked by Terry, one of the owners, and a handy local guide was available in English and French.
The bathrooms were modern, all rooms had heating and the beds were very comfortable. Above all, it was amazingly peaceful and relaxing. We wandered down to the river one day for a picnic and spent a couple of days travelling to local towns to stroll around. Aubeterre (about 8km away) was a lovely village with good restaurants and set atop a hillside. Bergerac (about 1hr away) was a lovely day trip.
All in all it was just lovely. Lemonie gites feels like home - and we look forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you Phil. We enjoyed having you both stay. Come back for longer next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mixty
Whitstable
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in lovely countryside....”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a lovely surprise to walk into this striking brand new barn conversion with its stylish fixtures and fittings and tasteful decor. It was comfortable and immaculate throughout and the hosts, John and Terry, went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. An ideal spot to get away from it all without being more than five minutes drive from amenities. An ancient, functioning, bread oven- ideal for home made pizzas - and bar in the garden made it unnecessary to go out at all. The garden is a delight particularly the charming little individual area overlooking the pool. The situation would be ideal at any time of year for exploring the countryside or just relaxing in lovely surroundings. With wifi available what else do you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private garden
Liked least: Booked too short a stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you. It was a pleasure having you both stay. Hope to see you again before long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobblin
Salisbury
1 review
“Perfect rural stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautifully furnished and equipped gite in a peaceful, rural , idyllic setting. The warmest welcome from owners who live next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you Bob & Anna for your review. It was lovely having you stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing