We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a quiet village”
other travellers have booked this property
Courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard
View from the road Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Courtyard
View from the road
Sitting room
outside dining area
Courtyard and entrance to studio
View from top floor bedroom
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cavanac, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Graham H
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a quiet village”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely place to stay in the center of a small French village. A very good restoration that has maintained the charm of the house. Plenty of room for 4-8. Outdoor dining under the sun or in good shade. The villlage is quiet but has a bar, a chatemau, a small store, a regular breadvan and weekly fish and meat deliveries from a van. Plenty to visit in the area with Sete, Narbonne,market, canal du midi, Carcassone all close by.
A very relaxed place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2018
thanks Graham!
You highlighted that the village has regular bread/meat/fish vans...they all have loud announcements and park nearby
so glad you liked the authenticity of my house..I try to keep the character without sacrificing comfort!! Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C
1 review
“Great stay in a lovely house”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely house in a rustic little village. Easy access to Carcassonne and the nearby Lac de la Cavayere which the kids thoroughly enjoyed. Minor hiccup at the start as the bath was blocked but remedied within a couple of days. The house itself was just lovely and it was a joy to eat outside in the warm evenings under the awning in the yard. All in all would recommend and the kids are keen to get back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Delighted you and your kids enjoyed my rustic retreat!
I do try to keep the place in a good condition but if something should go wrong i can usually remedy pretty quickly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizD1030B...
Uxbridge, Canada
2 reviews
“A perfect base from which to explore, close to train, plane and highways yet tranquil, comfortably appointed and private”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a quieter part of France, with Cathar castles, caves, mountains and sweeping views within a short drive in any direction. Our house was very well equipped - we particularly appreciated this compared to other rental experiences we have had over the years. We were a range of ages, from 20's to 80's and the house was comfortable and suitable for all. We enjoyed lots of great walking daily, and loved visiting the little shop around the corner first thing each morning for fresh baguettes. Our 20-something kids thought the house was a "great place to hang out", and my 86 year old dad loved relaxing with a glass of wine in the courtyard each day after the exciting driving. Our host Chloe responded promptly to any questions we had prior to and during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Very delighted you enjoyed your stay and found it suited all age groups! I try to keep the house rustic but comfortable . so it's good to have this feedback...thankyou and come again! Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTT62
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming quaint old house in charming quaint village”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First impressions are not a real guide. This house suited our group. 6 friends( aged 65 to 78) travelling from Australia. Stayed 4 nights. We stayed in the studio and the other 4 in the main house. The studio is great, very roomy and comfortable.Good appointed kitchen and charming downstairs entertaining area. The location to the nearby Carcassonne town and historic site is great. It is not a crowded village by any means, very quiet. Charming WWI memorial in the village. Short drive to other attractions and supermarket.It was a great location to dine at the nearby Chateau, walking distance. Quite a few steps to manage suitcases up to all the bedrooms.Therefore older travellers need to be reasonable fit or have small suitcases. However older travellers would definitely appreciate the old charm ambience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Studio bedroom
Liked least: Staircases
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you for your comments. Am glad you found the house spacious and charming
Good point made about the stairs...I will mention in my notes that small cases advisable as the top floor involves negotiating two flights of stairs and a couple of bends!
Many thanks! Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful few nights in a very authentic French Cottage, in a typical French Village”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this stay was great. We were three couples and all enjoyed the atmosphere and relaxed feeling. The owners directions and helpful hints were spot on and the village was so peaceful and yet close to the sights of Carcassonne. It is highly recommended.
Agree with other comments. Sitting in the courtyard sipping a glass of wine is an experience we will not forget and also the gourmet meal we had at Chateau de Cavanac wil be long remembered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village atmosphere
Liked least: Had a big van so had to park a little distance away but not really a problem
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Having come all the way from Australia I am so glad you were not disappointed!! Thankyou for your very nice comments...I try hard to keep the house authentic but comfortable! Chloe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing