We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb holiday location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Potager

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Descartes, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew R
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb holiday location”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly recommend to anyone thinking about renting somewhere in the Loire Valley to book either this property, or the sister one on the same property (Le Verger) . I travelled with my wife and 3 daughters (16, 10 & 3) , we arrived really late at around 11pm on the Saturday, thanks to the delights of the euro tunnel problems, but Kath was there to welcome us at the gate, directing us in the darkness! And we quickly got into the gite and all quickly went to bed after a long day.
We woke up next day to brilliant sunshine and a mini paradise .....Le Potager is very spacious, all immaculately furnished, with large ensuites in all the bedrooms, the standard is very high, but the crowning glory is the whole property "La Belardiere" is a renovated farm and it is absolutely beautiful, the kind of place where you dream of spending time, the grounds have been tastefully landscaped, Le Potager has a little garden out the back with hammocks under the walnut tree, which were constantly in use by all of us, there is a field at the back which has views over the valley and there is the main orchard garden in front of Le Verger, which has plenty of shade, hammocks, a badminton net, croquet and of course a lovely sized outdoor pool, which was also used a lot by us.
Then there are the sports facilities, there's a table tennis table, table football and also fantastically lots of mountain bikes which Roger and Kath were very kind to make available to us, I may not yet make the TDF next year, but my wife and youngest children both took full advantage of them, with a nice swim after.
We visited some lovely local places, Loches and Angles, as well as the Chateau at Chenonceau, but there is so much to do we simply didn't have enough time.
I could go on and on about what a fantastic time we had, the week really wasn't long enough and we are planning on going back if the dates can work for us, which we've never thought of doing anywhere else before, the combination of a wonderful area, beautiful surroundings on the farm and also to be honest the superb hosting which Kath and Roger provide made our time here an absolute joy for all of us, including all the girls.
They both genuinely care that you're having a good time, it doesn't feel to us that this is simply a business to them, they are lovely kind people who it was a pleasure to meet and spend time with, they have created a little oasis of tranquility which we hope to go back to someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrom...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“French countryside at its best”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A friend and I spent a week with Kath and Roger as a quiet part of a bigger trip. Our time at LePotager was amazing. The property is so beautiful, comfortable and in a lovely region, and our hosts really do have the right personalities and skill for this.
We loved the homey feel with the chickens wandering about, the resident cat (Denis) and the beautiful Boadie the friendly old Airdale dog. Our hosts were fantastic with local information provided, and nothing seemed too much to ask. We were spoilt with fresh laid eggs and being able to also have time by the pool was such a bonus. The property is ideal for both a quiet time or something more active with a badminton net, boules, bicycles, and even a canoe for a lovely paddle on the local river.
Would highly recommend this property, and I can't wait to get back again.
Thanks so much Kath and Roger for your warm welcome and for sharing your beautiful home.
Paula (Australia)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome, the beautiful property and the amazing views across the valley
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teechme
Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to recuperate and relax with easy access to what the Loire valley has to offer.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Kath and Roger were excellent hosts. Their property is a true home away from home. Beautiful renovated property with many private areas to relax. Even an outdoor pool. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere.
Liked least: that we had to leave after only 3 days.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoyneBhoy
Drogheda
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incroyable”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just back from a week long visit with wife and children (4 & 3 year old boys).

From pre-visit communications with Kath to leaving hugs everything about Le Potager/Le Belardiere was excellent.

The photographs of the property do scant justice (no fault of the photographer either). The house is spacious, spotless and equipped with everything you could possibly require and the welcome pack of food and drink allows you to concentrate on getting there.

Kath and Roger are perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for either of them.

Table football and table tennis were unexpected hits for our boys while the swimming pool was never going to be underused.

Location is very very quiet yet two towns within 5km means you can get anything you need easily-best of both worlds!

A huge bonus for us was the presence not only of the dog but also the occasional presence of a cat while the fish in their pond and the sheep, goats and chickens all made our stay a rural idyll while not being intrusive if you're not an animal person.

We're already planning a return with extended family hopefully next year which is well nigh unheard of for us as we like to visit new places

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experiencer
Liked least: Faultless
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeanneP58
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous - a holiday we will always remember”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our stay at La Belardiere exceeded all of our expectations. From the spotless accommodation, attention to detail and beautiful surroundings, to the knowledge of the area our hosts shared with us, and things to do, this holiday was one we will never forget. You definitely need a car to get around: we enjoyed visiting chateau, shopping at local markets and exploring gorgeous little villages. We did quite a few walks and some bike riding, all with the advice and guidance of our friendly, welcoming hosts. Whether you do a little, a lot or just enjoy the natural surroundings, this is a fabulous place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing