We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property and owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Belardiere

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Descartes, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Teresa C
1 review
“Fabulous property and owners”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have stayed here the last 2 years with our large family group. The properties are furnished to a high standard in a peaceful rural setting - there is a relaxed informal atmosphere perfect for being able to unwind. The gardens are maintained to a high standard and the swimming pool and the other outside facilities - table football, badminton, table tennis etc enabled us to take part in our own mini games! Kath and Roger are perfect hosts with advice on places to visit, help with restaurant reservations and endless questions from our youngest child! (Not to mention exhausting our eldest on a 70/80/90? mile bike ride!).

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costello...
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts, lovely property”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a week in Le Potager with my parents.
The property is lovely - restored to a very high standard, spacious bedrooms, good en suite facilities and a well equipped kitchen.
The grounds are extensive - a good size pool (very clean), badminton, table tennis, table football and (best of all) hammocks so that you can recover from you exertions. Roaming eccentric chickens add to the rural atmosphere.
The hosts are always available to help with restaurant recommendations/bookings or with advice on local attractions, but are not at all intrusive. They provided us with vegetables freshly picked from their allotment and with bikes and helmets in a range of sizes.
If you're looking for a rural idyll in the Loire, we can definitely recommend a stay at La Belardiere!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy A
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic gite, fantastic hosts, fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second stay at La Belardiere and I'm sure it won't be the last. Roger and Kath have created a wonderfully welcoming place to stay and are so friendly, warm and helpful. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a great time.

Both properties are of a really high standard, comfortable and kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The grounds are beautiful, spacious and equipped with all manner of stuff for relaxing (hammocks, sun loungers, pool etc), or playing ( table tennis, table football, badminton, bikes). We travelled in a group of friends/ teenage children and really had to drag ourselves away to do anything as it is such a lovely place to while away your days.

Great cycling and walking from the gite. Can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lay-out, amenities and welcome.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi S
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at belardiere. The buildings were lovely, with most bedrooms having an ensuite which was great for us as we had so many different families staying. They were clean and spacious and had everything you may have needed. Ideal for children, lots of activities other than the pool eg. table football, swingball and all very secure. Bikes were also available to use which was an added bonus. The owners were very friendly and made us feel most welcome. We would like to return again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaR...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great gite in the Loire Valley countryside”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

La Belardiere is a newly created apartment made from the barns of an old farm house in the country near the town of Descartes in the Loire Valley. There are actually two units; we stayed in the larger of the two which had five bedrooms, a light open floor plan and a very usable kitchen. The price was very reasonable. It also has a gas grill, an outside patio and a swimming pool. The proprietors, Kath and Roger Wilson, are British Francophiles with a great enthusiasm for the area, for helping with locations and activities and for life in the country. They are great folks. La Belardiere was great for us with pair of grandparents, husband and wife and two kids. Everyone came away happy and I would go back in the blink of an eye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entusiastic reception and helpful people
Liked least: A bit tricky to find but no big deal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing