We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
176
35
13
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
35
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club ski school all inclusive package buffet lunch great holiday family hotel ski holiday young children a la carte home away from home ski lift great food beautiful setting just returned from a week relaxing experience childcare staff spoke english
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2016

If you're looking to hand over your kids to child care while you enjoy skiing on your own, this is the place. Child care team is outstanding, the kids club facilities are superb, they have their own theatre, climbing wall, it suits all ages. The spa facilities are also quite good.

But it stops right there, the rest is overall very poor quality. We paid well over €450 a night all inclusive, which is the same rate as their sister hotel Das Kronthaler, but they are world apart. There is a fridge in the room, but it is empty (for "safety reasons"). Bottles of water can be bought at the restaurant. Just the tap water is for free. There is no toiletry for the adults in the bathroom: we had to use our own soap and lotions. The entire offering for kids, aside from the Kids Club, is cheap if not unhealthy. Let's start with breakfast: they offer no fresh juices, instead over-sugared artificial read-made juices. Poor quality white bread, the type you buy at the supermarket and heat yourself in the oven. This is all buffet style, you cannot order an omelette so we had to make do with overheated dry scrambled eggs and fatty bacon instead every morning. Fast-forward to dinner: same story, buffet-style, all utensils are sticky and dirty from everyone's use, it really is not hygienic at all. Just 1 choice of dessert, all the kids rush for ready-made Hallo Kitty ice-cream sticks with smarties or cola. Of course, the kids love it. More sugar, please! There are 2 pauses during the day (they call it "Jause") at the so-called the "Seealm" where you can eat, buffet-style again. Get ready for your share of fries, schnitzel, ketchup, white bread, cuts of meat. Now for the best part: GUESTS ARE ALLOWED TO SMOKE! I assume it is an Austrian thing, but still this is supposed to be a place for Kids, or what did I miss? We stayed 1 week-end, and were told to check out on Sunday at 10am or to pay 33% overcharge! The list goes on: they have no parking place on-site at-all, so you have to park in front of the Hotel, hurry to offload your bags at check-out and park your car 150m away from the Hotel! The staff could see that we struggled with the luggage, yet none offered to help! The only smiling staff is those at the Kids club, the rest is as friendly and genuine as in a Mc Donald.

If your thing is to find a place close to a great ski domain and have some private time for yourself, that you are so exhausted but relieved and thankful that your kids are well cared (but not well catered) for, that you don't notice that food and service are not what you paid for, this is the place to go. Also, bring your earplugs, the wall are paper thin, so if it is not your kids waking you up at 7am, it will be those of your neighbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and be wary that those facing the mountains have the noise from the snow cannons all night.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Hlebaina, Inhaber at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear Family123London,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the perfect location and great child care, we are disappointed to hear that especially service and food (for adults not only buffet style!) were not up to your expectations. Though we are very sorry to disagree with you on some issues - non-alcoholic drinks from the drink dispenser are for free and can be taken to the room; healthy food (e.g. fresh fruits, salads, rye bread, etc.) is always available to choose from. It is also not true that you cannot order an omelette - of course we serve eggs (any style) and omlettes on request and free of charge for breakfast.

We regret that you were not satisfied with your overall stay and appreciate your feedback.

Regards, Family Hlebaina & the hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Great summer vacation for small kids. Horse (pony) riding, garden with great playground, indoor swimming pool when the weather worsens, nice area around Achensee. Great food for kids and great food for adults. This was a second visit already and we will come back again:-)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Karel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear Karel S,

thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you spent a great time in our hotel. It has been a pleasure being your Hosts. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards, Family Hlebaina & the Sporthotel Achensee-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

We just returned from a week at the Sporthotel Achensee. We are an ex-pat family from the US and living in Germany and chose this place based on the reviews, without having an actual recommendation. It could really not have been better! It was the first time skiing for our 2 kids, ages 6 and 9. The ski school was great and by the end of the week we were able to all ski together, which is something I wouldn't have thought possible in such a short time. The kids race at the end was a ton of fun and really gave the kids a sense of accomplishment. The adults race was fun too and so professionally done. Most everyone was able to speak English very well although be aware that much will be in German. This was completely fine with us even though our German is limited.

Everything was just so easy, from the lockers in the tunnel right underneath the slopes, to the meals in the restaurant and the See Alm, to the kids club activities. The food was great for all three meals and the dinners felt like a real dining experience even with all the kids! The staff were so attentive and by the second day already brought without asking ice cubes for my daughter's milk because she likes it really cold! We did a wine tasting at the hotel bar and also went on the nighttime tubing experience, which was a lot of fun. We met many other families, many of whom have been coming to this hotel for many years. The kids enjoyed the kids club and the pool (not the biggest pool but it served the purpose) and the spa was also great for a relaxing facial. The scenery was absolutely beautiful.

The rooms were basic but large enough to be comfortable for our family of 4 (we had a Mickey suite on the 2nd floor). Wifi was spotty but it didn't really matter.

All in all I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and this experience, especially if you are looking to have your kids learn to ski in a beautiful setting and relaxing no-stress way. If you are thinking of going, I would say to book it!!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2015

Dear FamilyTraveler15,

thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are glad to read that you spent a great time in our hotel. It has been a pleasure being your hosts and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards, Family Hlebaina & the Sporthotel Achensee-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The nicest family and staff ever running a great hotel. Every meal was a treat, service was personal and caring. It was home away from home! Me and my family had a blass, we come surtennlly again ;)Our experience couldn't have been better.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ringwear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Front Office at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Ringwear B, we thank you for your feedback and are glad to read that you spent a great time in our hotel. It has been a pleasure being your hosts and we are already looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards, Family Hlebaina and the Sporthotel Achensee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently stayed a week at this kinderhotel with our two kids, aged 3 and 5. The entire experience from beginning to end was top notich.

FIrst of all the ski school was awesome. Both kids learned to ski for the first time within a few days. The instructors were very helpful in speaking English to them as they were the only kids that didn't speak German. The professional ski race for kids and adults at the end of the week was well done and fun for everyone. One day my daughter's ski class took a surprise horse drawn carriage ride during their break.

In the evenings, the kids enjoyed Kids Club activities (magic show, dances, pirate stories, etc) and couldn't wait to finish their dinner so they could participate.

Our room was beautiful - a spacious Bambini suite on the top floor of the main building with exposed wood beams, modern lighting, high ceilngs and nice furniture. I read other review beforehand about rooms and was nervous, but we had more space than we needed for a family of 4.

Breakfast and dinner was generally very good with large buffet for breakfast and table service for dinner plus a buffet. Alcoholic beverages unfortunately not included. The Buffet lunch at the Seealm Restaurant was ok, although the atmosphere was great - bar deck or table patio seating surrounded by mountains, or upstairs with a large birdcage, or any number of seating arrangements inside the restaurant - private rooms or nooks, bar stools and tables. We liked trying them all out.

In addition to skiing, we also enjoyed hiking in the area to a nearby waterfall, pony rides, massages (which were just ok), awesome kids playground, indoor swimming pools, and aqua jogging class with instructor. In short, there was plenty to do, although skiing and the Kids Club were the highlights for our kids.

Overall, it was a wonderful hotel and experience, with friendly staff and ski instructors, great rooms, and surrounded by gorgeous scenery. We are hoping to return again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_Hlebaina, Leiter Front Office at Familienparadies Sporthotel Achensee, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Sherry S,

we would like to thank you for your feedback and are glad to read that you spent such a great time in our hotel. It has been a pleasure being your hosts and we are already looking forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards,
Family Hlebaina and the Sporthotel Achensee Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews