We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
151
71
19
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
71
19
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station provide ear plugs clean rooms and great food the hot water worked family run hotel nice hiking top deck hospitable place sri lanka sun deck close walk tuk tuk steep climb would highly recommend this hotel great view the busy main street beautiful balcony
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Great location close to the center, walking distance to the train station and the main street with bars/restaurants. Good breakfast and friendly staff. We stayed one night and were very happy. Little balcony with nice view to the train and the hills around. Little noisy in the night as only minus, but that was not a problem for us.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kathinka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

* Like:
-- Rating: A super cheap price from the hotel booking website with good appraisal.
-- Location: Super close to the train station of Ella.
-- Room: Size is OK for two of us. A balcony have a good view of the train station and tea plantation.
-- Staff: OK. Friendly hostess Lakshmis.
-- Hot sower water: Available anytime so no need to worry.
-- Spend a little in exchange for one night stay.
* Don’t complaint following items for you did not pay a lot.
-- Equipment in the room are very simple including table, chairs, and mosquito nets. No mosquito repellent if you asked front desk.
-- Bathroom: Small and sometimes with bad smell. Hair dryer need to be borrowed from the front desk.
-- Bad: Pillows, bed mattress are thin.
-- Breakfast: Limited in choices, quality and quantity.
-- The climbing up from the main road to the hotel is very steep, burning a lot of calories.
-- Nearby dog barking all the night, not the fault of this B&B.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addicted_to_scenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakshmishotel, Inhaber at Lakshmis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Wei,
you have booked a hotel in Ella for a price that made you happy. You are mentioning mostly positive aspects of you stay.
So you don´t complain for what you´ve got: A good price performance ratio.
And we are thinking about your 2 green balls from 5...... Hard to believe it....
All the best to you from
Lakshmi & Kurt & our team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

we stayed there just for one night whilst on our travels. Lakshmi and Kurt were great hosts and our room was clean and comfortable with great views over the town from the balcony. You are 10 minutes walk up from the town and 5 minutes from the station. The last climb to the hotel is very steep but they will come down to collect your bags if necessary. Also was a bit noisy in the evening with the noise of the town travelling up the hill. All very enjoyable though and happy to recommend.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgZ5542XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakshmishotel, Inhaber at Lakshmis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi David ! Thanks for your review. You could have done something against the noise since I provided all our rooms with ear plugs :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Plenty of piping hot water, mosquito nets over beds and all unglazed windows. Lovely sized room, beautiful view. Steep climb up the hill so if you are carrying even moderately heavy luggage get a Tuk-tuk, but fine without luggage. Great location near the station and end of the main restaurant/bar road. Staff v good with arranging short and long distance travel.
Laundry service also recommended.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scitrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this small hotel set on a hillside just above Ella. From the moment we arrived to when we left the service was excellent. Lakshimi, her husband Kurt and 'the boys' made us feel very welcome. It was more like staying in a friends home than in a commercial hotel. The food was cooked to order - hot and tasty. They were happy to cook less highly spiced food for us which was delicious and nourishing. The view from our balcony was superb. No air conditioning but there was a room fan.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews