We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect choice for our budget holiday!”
other traveller has booked this property
beach of zanzibar dream lodge,this room it called umand.the bigst  room in zanzibar dream lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
beach of zanzibar dream lodge,this room it called umand.the bigst  room in zanzibar dream lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
beach of zanzibar dream lodge,this room it called umand.the bigst  room in zanzibar dream lodge
beach 1 minute walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paje, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
emehangye
Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for our budget holiday!”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Really loved the location, very close to the beach.. It was homely, the stuff were exceedingly nice! got a ride from stone town, and back! Kassim did his best to ensure we comfortable and even offered to take us around the island! thanks for that! i just hated that we only had 3 days here! Have to come back for longer! Not forgeting the scrumptious surprise breakfasts!
If you looking for somewhere budget and still enjoy the Zanzibar beauty, id recommend this place.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
thanks Ester. was nice for us to host you girls. we had really lovely time.
would like to say hopeful will see each other again.
kindly regard
kassim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poorly managed property and stressful trip”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We do not recommend this place. Not good value for money and very poorly managed. We were 4 adults and 3 children and since we live in Tanzania and have travelled quite a bit around the country including in Zanzibar (and around the world), we are able to compare.
Renting a property is more than just a quick fix to make easy money. It's a profession which requires skills, dedication, professionalism and organization. This was by far, our worst experience in Tanzania (and of all our trips). Here are some examples of what we had to deal with in hope to spare you the hassle.
The house, although well located near the beach, had no air circulation whatsoever. Hence, sleeping was very uncomfortable. Although, the house appeared to be clean, there was a foul smell in the water, bedsheets were stained, there was lots of mosquitoes in the house and other insect "friends" as well. A four-month old dog living there had ticks and the last thing we needed on our holiday was to manage other people's dog.
One day, we ran out of water due to a problem with the water pump. The next day, we ran out of electricity due to the negligence of the manager who forgot to recharge the credit for the electricity company. So, no air, no ventilator, no toilet, no shower in an excruciating heat and the seven of us... on New Year's eve!
Furthermore, we had a bad experience with the organization (or rather lack thereof) of our one-day snorkelling trip. It's hard to go snorkelling when no snorkelling equipment is provided and yet the other tourists on our boat had equipment!
It's a shame really because the house staff (2 cooks and 2 cleaning ladies) were really nice and friendly.
In conclusion, we had the impression that the property manager was more interested in partying and kitesurfing than doing his job. It was also our first experience booking through TripAdvisor. We wonder how it is possible that this house had received only positive reviews when we booked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you for you spend time and written down clear understand review:
i could be easy to apology and be feeling sorry for you my dear guests ,would you correct and submit as you was not complete in holiday half of your brain was work some where else and half in holiday.
a) you could'n sleep confortable :
condition of our beds it is new mattress, our beds is big king size combination mosquito net. i got nothing to do with your brain if it work on night.
b) about mosquito:
i try all my best to protect my guest with mosquito that why i supply mosquito net in each room, i supply mosquito spray even for you guys but not much can i help even to come in night when you sleep to put mosquito net.
c) summer time.
in dec,jan and febr.it is summer time in our sweet Zanzibar island if you are really cleaver try to do long research about where conditional and temperature rang, not to complain about house no air circulation, i didn't offer house with air condition just with sling fan and standing fan if you need more essential please book some other property which can be corresponding with your quality of your life.
d) dog:
my dog he is in side i have never ask you for looking after my dog cause i have one guy he take care with that dog and every evening he come and bring food for hem.i dont't want to control your mental think but still i can insist your head pick up some thing not wright.
e)water
since i build this house it is 3years now,i have ever never had problem with water cause of the good job and good system of water.
we have automatic system which it switch on it self and switch off it self.we have pressure pup. the reason why we ran out of water and electric.
we are not stupid we calculate the whatt and unit are you using every day,
the day you ran out of water one of your kid who let the the water tape open and water ran out until finish in water tank while the water go out the pump for pressure was run and water pump from the well was run. ideal if you are intelligence can you find out you was west a no of water and the electric unity. with out think the other problem was solve cause every thing was in system than in middle night receive your phone call we run out of electric,quick i stop all my things in new year eve and bring generator just to supply power when i came you was not there than i fix it .
NOTE
you was not easy going guests when it come about to pay, for my money i pay your safari blue trip because of one stupid reason you didn't take snorkling equipment, you were with othe quest in boat you din't even think where the get snorkling equipment. every bod chose equipment on the beach b4 take a boat except you intelligence guests from gold region.
your were 7paxs you use car two way go and back, you use boat two way go and back, you eat our nice food see food plat. end of your trip you come with alot of reasons just you don't want to pay, i paid your bill.
second thing you pretend you forget to pay jjozan forest until i ask you to pay also you pay short money.
the last, 2kg of rice it cost 2usd for three days your cheif whent to the shop to buy for you, when we come in payment also you refuse you didn't use 6kg with rice, it is ok you didn't use it but the cheif have been taken from the shop need to pay.
i found out we cant be same that why we have right side and left side.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMS994
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful hotel that is safe, comfortable, and private. The terrace was a great spot to relax or work. It is a very short walk away to one of the most amazing, white sand beach in the world and to kite surfing. The helpful staff are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They are incredibly knowledgeable about the community, and activities in the area. Breakfast was included, and they offered pickups from Stonetown, or from the bus stop. The one room had a private bathroom, and the bed had a mosquito net. I highly recommend this location!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Thanks Kiristin for your nice review.hopefull will see you back again.regard Fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madsyrae
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super!”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cool place, cool staff. They'll feed you in the morning, and the wifi really works! Say hi to the dog Peanut for me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
thank you Madsyrae.
was nice stay with you and really we enjoy, we wish all the best and will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billiemar...
Muscat Governorate, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Paje!”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Staying at Zanzibar Dream Lodge was like a dream come true. I did a lot of research before choosing this place and they exceeded my expectations! The lodge is located in Paje, a small village an hour away from Stone Town. The rooms are simple yet very cozy, clean and well-maintained. The place is only a 3-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes away to the nearest supermarket. I have never met such hospitable and caring people before. The manager, Kassim, went out of his way to make my stay comfortable. I was treated like family! I will never forget this place! I have recommended it to friends and family. I will definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
Thank Billiemarin for your nice review.we are glad for you came and join some experience with use ,hopeful will see you again.
kassim manager zanzibar dream lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing